6/29 Chuck 419 PMPS; 282 +2; 133 +4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
I caught a 134 +8 last night. Dropped the dose to 1U this morning based on the lower (yellow) preshot. Curve today, I want to see where he's going...
 
Re: 6/29 Chuck 277 AMPS; 156 +2 -- curve day

156 +2 -- I gave 1/4 can FF to hopefully gentle the drop. I can do that on the weekends, but have to leave out frozen during the week...
 
Re: 6/29 Chuck 277 AMPS; 156 +2 -- curve day

I'm glad you fed him to slow the drop, that's almost a 50% drop in 2 hours. Good that you are doing a curve today. It looks like he's going to have a good day today.
 
Re: 6/29 Chuck 277 AMPS; 156 +2; 115 +4 -- curve day

Another 1/4 can to slow the drop. If I'm figuring right, this is about a 25% drop from +2. The drop from preshot to +2 was about 43% (preshot minus +2 divided by preshot times 100, correct?)
 
Re: 6/29 Chuck 277 AMPS; 156 +2; 115 +4 -- curve day

The food is slowing the drop nicely, your next test will probably be green.

Yes your math is correct.

I have to leave but will stay tuned on my phone so responses will be short, it's so hard to type on that tiny keyboard.
 
Re: 6/29 Chuck 277 AMPS; 156 +2; 115 +4 -- curve day

Greens still scare me. I know that's the goal, but I've always been more comfortable with Chuck in the low 100's. <deep breath> Green is good, green is good, green is good...
 
Re: 6/29 Chuck 203 +6; 360 +8; 448 +10

Is this because I shot a reduced dose this morning on the 277 preshot? Should I have stayed with the 1.2U and hoped he didn't crash?
 
Re: 6/29 Chuck 203 +6; 360 +8; 448 +10

No it wasn't because you shot a reduced dose, if anything the 1 unit looks like it was a little too much because of the steap drop. If you had shot a 1.2u the effects might have been even more dramatic.

The 1.2u gave you a green nadir yesterday on a PS of 335 and a blue nadir on a PMPS of 380, that looks like a good dose on those PS's so lowering the dose on a yellow PS makes perfect sense. Maybe next time go with a little lower dose like .8u and see how that works.
 
Re: 6/29 Chuck 203 +6; 360 +8; 448 +10; 419 PMPS

He went down at preshot from +10??? I did a full 1.2U tonight. Go with a skinny 1U when he drops below 300 preshot, right?
 
Re: 6/29 Chuck 203 +6; 360 +8; 448 +10; 419 PMPS

Interesting he came down some. Maybe the food wore off and there is the 20% meter variance to take into consideration.

Yes, I think I would try a skinny 1u under 300 PS to see if you get better results.
 
Is there any benefit or is it even "allowed" to give him a smaller shot at AM/PM PS, then at +4 or so, give him another smaller shot? Or maybe a full shot at AM/PM PS and then a small shot at +8 or so?
 
It is possible to use a TID dose schedule where you give a shot every eight hours. A couple people here have done that in the 2 years I have been around. Lisa (with Cass) is one of them, maybe she can explain how/why you might do that.

Any closer than 8 hours however is not recommended. It can cause dose overlap and really mess up the timing of nadir for instance.

Prozinc usually takes about 2-3 hours before you start to see an effect on the BGs. And usually gives you a nadir around 5-7 hours after a shot. So, if you were to give a normal dose at the normal time, and then another shot 3 or 4 hours later, what could happen is that the 2nd shot starts to kick in right when the first dose is reaching peak effect. That could give you a pretty radical low number 6 or more hours into the cycle.

Tonight's cycle is very impressive actually. From 419 to 133 in 4 hours is a pretty big drop. Now if that is the low point, and you keep seeing a nadir at +4 and it looks like the insulin is worn off by +8 (if you see this in most of Chuck's cycles), then he might be a good candidate for a TID dose schedule.

If you were to do that, you wouldn't give the same dose you are giving him now. You'd take his total daily insulin dose and divide it by 3 to determine your three times a day dose.

Does that make sense?
 
Carl, yes, that makes sense. We're really struggling here, trying to get some semblance of stable numbers from Chuck this time around. He seems to drop like a rock (when he drops) in that first couple of hours. I've tried everything I can think of, from 1/2 can FF at shot; 1/4 can at shot and 1/4 can about 30 minutes later; leaving out frozen for between meal snacks. Nothing seems to stabilize him. I suppose it's entirely possible that his pancreas is just worn out -- he is 18 now. But if that's the case, shouldn't I be able to stabilize him? If his pancreas isn't producing any insulin, and I'm giving him insulin, shouldn't his numbers "even out"?
 
First, Chuck has the face of an angel..he is so darn cute! Second, if anything about this sugar dance made sense, I would be able to handle it better, but none of it does. Just when you think you have the right dose or they have a great day, the next is terrible. :roll: Ugh. Anyway, just wanted to tell you I empathize and how cute your sugar boy is! :smile:
 
You are making progress just not quickly, the black PS's are gone and the yellows are showing up more and more.

Bounces are tough because they can sometimes last 3 to 5 days. But usually Chuck still see's nice nadirs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top