6/29 Blackie +9 59 +11 65 +12 76 +13 77 pmps 86 +1 89 +2 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Blackie is feeling much better today. He has been eating small amounts on his own since last night so we have not been syringe feeding since +4. This morning after his shot he wanted to go outside, so I let him. I fed him out there and he ate some FF Medley and then went for a walk all the way out to the garden. I think this was a good sign. He has been eating several different kinds of food, but mostly likes any gravy, so I have been adding a little hot water to the food of the moment. He's been eating FF Chicken, FF Chicken & Tuna, Friskies SD Ocean Whitefish, FF SD Beef & Chicken and he ate 3/4 of a can so far of FF Medley (15% carb) since +7 last night. I still don't have the phosphorus :evil: But I do have an appt for followup bloodwork with our regular vet tomorrow. And we have been giving fluids BID which Blackie does not like. I'm going to get a smaller needle today and see if that helps.

Thank you for all your prayers, vines and support.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18411
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie amps 138

It is so nice to read that Blackie seems to be feeling better today! YAY! We are so relieved. I hope all goes well with your regular vet tomorrow!

nice amps Blackie - lookin' good!
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie amps 138

I'm so glad Blackie is feeling better. I hope he'll have a slice of Tray's cinnamon b-day cake that Stu is baking. Tray would love to see you and Blackie at the party.
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie amps 138 +4 92

Blackie ate small amounts at +2, +2.5 and +3. I asked DH to give him a tsp of 26% gravy at +4. Not knowing if he'll eat at any one time makes me very cautious.
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie amps 138 +4 92

Hi Ele, So glad to hear that Blackie is feeling better and that he's coming to Tray's party. Stu hopes he likes the cinnamon cake and that it will stimulate his appetite! It's good that you will see your regular vet tomorrow. Check in with you later.

Ella
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie amps 138 +4 92

I'm glad to hear he's feeling better. It sounds like Blackie knows he needs fluids so keep adding them -- unsalted chicken broth, tuna water, whatever works!!
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie amps 138 +4 92 +5 79

Nice numbers for Blackie...so glad he is eating on his own again. I hope that was just a passing blip. Hope you all have a great day! :-D
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie amps 138 +4 92 +5 79 +6 72 +8 64

Forgot to say that Phosphorus was 5.9, just .2 higher than 3 months ago.

DH says that Blackie is still eating okay today. I hope he doesn't go any lower. We've had him at 3 units for 2 cycles and with the fluids and eating issues I don't know if I should lower again.
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie amps 138 +4 92 +5 79 +6 72 +8 64 +9 59

So happy to hear he is feeling better but I know you will be glad to see your regular vet tomorrow as well keep us posted Ele as to how he is doing cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie +4 92 +5 79 +6 72 +8 64 +9 59 +11 65 +12 76

I haven't shot yet. If Blackie was healthier and not on fluids, I would have. I am just so unsure of what to shoot now. So I decided to wait a little bit and see where he goes. If anyone has any advice, please let me know.
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie +4 92 +5 79 +6 72 +8 64 +9 59 +11 65 +12 76

I think you know the choices: you can delay to see if numbers are rising, which is looks like they are from +9 onward, or you can shoot a BCS dose.

When are you giving squids?
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie +4 92 +5 79 +6 72 +8 64 +9 59 +11 65 +12 76

So so so Happy to hear Blackie is better!! And look at these numbers
It is looking so so good--Hope He gets better & better!! Hugs from us & Healing Vines!! XOXOXO!!
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie +5 79 +6 72 +8 64 +9 59 +11 65 +12 76 +13 77 ??

He got fluids at +1 last night, and +.5 this morning. Should I give fluids now or wait? Do I shoot? Holy Cow! This is so complicated.
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie +5 79 +6 72 +8 64 +9 59 +11 65 +12 76 +13 77 ??

I'd rather see you shoot than give squids. The fluids can lower BG all on their own. You've got a surf happening. I'd shoot. Maybe get a +0.5 or +1 and decide whether to give squids them.
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie +5 79 +6 72 +8 64 +9 59 +11 65 +12 76 +13 77 ??

I shot at +13.3 and I shot a reduced dose of 2.5 units. I think I'm not supposed to shoot late and lower the dose, but looking at Blackie's numbers, I didn't want to risk him going low. Even though he is eating better now, we are still having to feed him almost every hour because he eats such small quantities.

Thank you Sienne for being here. It really helped me.
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie +5 79 +6 72 +8 64 +9 59 +11 65 +12 76 +13 77 ??

Hi Ele,
If it was thought blackie should get iv fluids and you comprimised with fluids at home, you really need to be doing them. You can get back on track with the insulin a lot easier than you can a rising creatinine, The tx for Possible worsening Kidneys trump diabetes any day in my book.
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie +8 64 +9 59 +11 65 +12 76 +13 77 pmps 86

I see you shot. Im glad you got something in. Try to find a time to get fluids in...not around nadir.
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie +8 64 +9 59 +11 65 +12 76 +13 77 pmps 86

Doing good Blackie keep it up more prayers and Angels coming to your house tonight for you and Ele :mrgreen: :YMHUG: o:-) :thumbup Hope the vet as answers tomorrow Hugsssssss LOL Kath
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie +8 64 +9 59 +11 65 +12 76 +13 77 pmps 86

Hi Carolyn, We have been getting the fluids in. He got them twice yesterday and this morning and we'll give them this evening. Are you saying I shouldn't have shot or shot an even more reduced dose? I've never had to combine fluids with insulin before and I would welcome your input.
 
Re: 6/29 Blackie +8 64 +9 59 +11 65 +12 76 +13 77 pmps 86 +1 89

Hi Ele,
I was under the impression you were thinking you needed to choose between insulin or fluids tonight. In that case, and under your current circumstances, I would have considered a drastically reduced or no shot. This would be based on the low numbers all day, low ps, not much food (and possibly not much to come), along with fluids. You did a reduced shot, and late. So that goes along the line I was thinking. You did fine! :mrgreen:

I have skipped latte's fluids from time to time, or given them MUCH later. When Im having to skip them too much, I have to re evaluate her dose...because she needs the fluids. With her, I know that giving fluids when she has big momentum going downward, only adds to the drop. However, when she is high/flat, it does nada. Blackie is not necessarily in a critical state...BUT, until you know what is going on...Is the kidney stuff a blip/slight setback, or a bigger problem...I would consider the needs of the kidney issues first.

I know its a lot to think about. More variables than just..is the insulin too much or too little. Its hard. You are doing a fantastic job. I can almost hear your voice in these posts. Tomorrow you will see your regular vet. One who knows Blackie. You can get FULL labs, and TRUST them. He is doing a little better today, so something must be going right. This could just be a slight setback and things will improve, or he will find a new 'normal'.

Big BIG hugs to you (and Blackie of course).
We are sending so much love your way...I hope you can feel it.
 
Carolyn, Thank you so much. You brought tears to my eyes. You've been through so much yourself, I know you understand.

That +2 was half hour after the fluids. And giving the fluids this time was easier. And, Blackie ate some Wellness! I've still got lots of other foods he can have and I restocked HC today.

BTW - Today when I said that DH was using 26% grave, I was wrong. It was only 7%. So Blackie's surf today was just on lc food.
 
I went back and read my post. I wasn't clear -- sorry. I was suggesting you shoot and then figure out when to give the fluids. Despite my lack of clarity, you did an admirable job of mind reading!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top