6/29/18; Miss LunaMae; 243

Status
Not open for further replies.

MissLuna

Member Since 2018
Thank you all so much in helping me to help Luna! I spoke with her Dr. this morning, and he agrees that
0.25 of a dose is wise. I've been struggling to ensure that her dose is not too high.
Last Night PMPS was at 222, and because her numbers were so low earlier yesterday, decided to not dose her.
I'm testing her hourly today. The spreadsheet is linked. In case it helps, here are her numbers so far:
(I am using an AlphaTrak meter, which was given to me - I know that I will need to buy the Walmart meter down the road, but for now I have enough strips, and I want to be as exact as possible, as it has been so challenging to get Luna's numbers in a safe "zone" let alone figure out what a correct dose should be - and after last week, when she was at the vet's every day, I am spending a LOT less monitoring at home - that's what I keep telling myself!):

222 Last night PMPS (NO dose)
243 AMPS dose with 0.25 Lantus
192 (+1)
88 (+2)
53 (+3)
55 (+4)
64 (+5)
86 (+6)
100 (+7)
115 (+8)
139 (+9.5) (half an hour late)
191 (+11.5)
183 at 9:45. edit: I have decided to skip her dose tonight.

No ketones.
Doesn't this seem like a "fast" drop for Lantus?
If her BG gets up to around 222 PMPS, should I dose her tonight? I know that 53 is still too low. However there is no physical way I could give less than 0.25 of a dose. She ate before I gave her her dose.

She is still receiving antibiotics for her kidney infection. The doctor wonders if after the kidney infection is resolved she will no longer be diabetic. She is on wet food now. High protein, low carb.

She has allergies which I've just researched some more and learned that it may actually be uticaria pigmentosa and may be helped with adding more essential fatty acids to her diet (Devon Rex are prone to this.) Since uticaria pigmentosa is from mast cells, and mast cells are in the kidneys, I have to believe that they are related. Hopefully the essential fatty acids will help her kidneys as well. I'm going with Omega 3's. (She HAD been on Royal Canine Hydrolyzed Protein (for her "allergies") -

I will follow up this afternoon with an email to her vet with her numbers from today.
During her next vet visit, which will be next week as a follow up, are there specific questions that I should be asking?

What should I do about dosing? I'm leaning towards once a day in the morning, until I see if her numbers stay controlled at less than 250. I've also read that she is more apt to go into remission if I stay on a tight 2x a day Lantus regimen, but I don't want to give her too much, and going less than 0.25 is nigh impossible. Her doctor said that normal BG numbers are considered between 75 and 175. He also thought it prudent to see what her numbers do throughout the day.

Any and all advice welcome!
 
Last edited:
Previous

Linking your previous thread for everyone. I believe Karen responded on your last condo about not giving insulin for the next couple of days. She also tagged a couple more people to review.

Maybe with clearing up that kidney infection and change of diet has her in remission already.
 
Previous

Linking your previous thread for everyone. I believe Karen responded on your last condo about not giving insulin for the next couple of days. She also tagged a couple more people to review.

Maybe with clearing up that kidney infection and change of diet has her in remission already.
Thank you for the link! I added this new post per the advice of Sandy & Black Kitty. For future reference, should I add a new post per each day and link to the previous post? Or should I have kept it all in one post? Thanks!
 
Do you have any neosporin around? The gel kind that has pain relief in it? That will help her ears heal and helps with all that poking!
I'm actually allergic to Neosporin - since I'm the one poking her ears, I don't want to expose myself to it. I know that there are many medications that cats can be poisoned by, and I don't want to do the wrong thing here - do you have any other suggestions?
 
I see Miss Luna was in the 50's today. On an AT, that indicates too much insulin. What dose did you give last night? Could you put skip or NS or no shot if that's what you did? That way we know it was a deliberate skip. Think that's what you said in your previous post.

As for dose, she has earned a reduction down to 0.1 units, but I might skip tonight to reduce the depot first.
 
As for dose, she has earned a reduction down to 0.1 units, but I might skip tonight to reduce the depot first.
I agree.
Let's see how this cycle plays out. What time is the PM dose due and what time zone are you in?
I'm actually allergic to Neosporin - since I'm the one poking her ears, I don't want to expose myself to it. I know that there are many medications that cats can be poisoned by, and I don't want to do the wrong thing here - do you have any other suggestions?
Halo Cloud Nine Herbal Healing Salve for Dogs and Cats. It's the best. It's safe. If you have other cats you don't have to worry about them ingesting the Neosporin if they groom each other. I've used it on both two and four legged creatures for years. :)

Ingredients:
vegetable oils [almond, castor, coconut, avocado], beeswax, squalene, carnuba wax, vitamin A, vitamin E, calendula, aloe vera gel concentrate, comfrey, tea tree oil, myrrh gum oil, Lavender Oil
 
I agree.
Let's see how this cycle plays out. What time is the PM dose due and what time zone are you in?

Eastern Time Zone, 7:45 P.M.


Halo Cloud Nine Herbal Healing Salve for Dogs and Cats
. It's the best. It's safe. If you have other cats you don't have to worry about them ingesting the Neosporin if they groom each other. I've used it on both two and four legged creatures for years. :)
Ingredients:
vegetable oils [almond, castor, coconut, avocado], beeswax, squalene, carnuba wax, vitamin A, vitamin E, calendula, aloe vera gel concentrate, comfrey, tea tree oil, myrrh gum oil, Lavender Oil

Thank you for listing the ingredients! I have unfortunately been developing allergies as I get older, and need to be very careful - one of the reasons we sought out Devon Rex's to adopt was that I developed an allergy to cats! THAT wasn't going to deter me!
 
Eastern Time Zone, 7:45 P.M.
Unfortunately, I won't be available to check in at that time, but others will chime in with their thoughts.

There's currently some depot action at play. Some of the higher numbers you're seeing are most likely a result of the drops to low numbers. As long as she's not throwing ketones, I'd be inclined to skip her shot tonight. I don't think it would hurt and it'll probably help to drain the depot.
 
Hi there :cool:

What was the PMPS?
Hi! I just returned from picking up my "other daughter" and tested Luna again, and her numbers went down a little; 183. I'm going to skip Luna's dose tonight and check her in the morning. Not quite sure what to do if she is still at around 183, with the "depot" and all. Should I plan on giving her the smallest dose I can possibly manage, or see what happens if I don't give her a dose?
 
This is a cycle by cycle, one shot at a time situation.
Does miss Luna eat overnights?

I feel like you may be caught in a bit of a self perpetuating loop - give insulin, BG ends up in the 30s, then comes a bounce up to pink, shooting resumes and when the bounce clears Miss Luna ends up back in the 30s... in spite of dose reductions and skipped shots.

In the absence of ketones, skipping tomorrow mornings shot as well may break the loop and provide a clearer picture of what is going on with Miss Lunas BG. I would grab a few tests and then when PMPS rolls around you can decide if trying the 0.1u dose is in order.

Here is an example so you can practice 0.1u with tea or water with food coloring
0.1u.JPG

That's my $0.02 , see what other folks have to say.
 
This is a cycle by cycle, one shot at a time situation.
Does miss Luna eat overnights?

I feel like you may be caught in a bit of a self perpetuating loop - give insulin, BG ends up in the 30s, then comes a bounce up to pink, shooting resumes and when the bounce clears Miss Luna ends up back in the 30s... in spite of dose reductions and skipped shots.

In the absence of ketones, skipping tomorrow mornings shot as well may break the loop and provide a clearer picture of what is going on with Miss Lunas BG. I would grab a few tests and then when PMPS rolls around you can decide if trying the 0.1u dose is in order.

Here is an example so you can practice 0.1u with tea or water with food coloring
View attachment 37165

That's my $0.02 , see what other folks have to say.

Miss Luna does not eat overnight.

I agree that the bounce back is/was clouding things. Today she didn't get under 53, which is still in the hypoglycemia range. I'll wait until tomorrow PMPS to see what her numbers are.

Thank you!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top