MissLuna
Member Since 2018
Thank you all so much in helping me to help Luna! I spoke with her Dr. this morning, and he agrees that
0.25 of a dose is wise. I've been struggling to ensure that her dose is not too high.
Last Night PMPS was at 222, and because her numbers were so low earlier yesterday, decided to not dose her.
I'm testing her hourly today. The spreadsheet is linked. In case it helps, here are her numbers so far:
222 Last night PMPS (NO dose)
243 AMPS dose with 0.25 Lantus
192 (+1)
88 (+2)
53 (+3)
55 (+4)
64 (+5)
86 (+6)
100 (+7)
115 (+8)
139 (+9.5) (half an hour late)
191 (+11.5)
183 at 9:45. edit: I have decided to skip her dose tonight.
No ketones.
Doesn't this seem like a "fast" drop for Lantus?
If her BG gets up to around 222 PMPS, should I dose her tonight? I know that 53 is still too low. However there is no physical way I could give less than 0.25 of a dose. She ate before I gave her her dose.
She is still receiving antibiotics for her kidney infection. The doctor wonders if after the kidney infection is resolved she will no longer be diabetic. She is on wet food now. High protein, low carb.
She has allergies which I've just researched some more and learned that it may actually be uticaria pigmentosa and may be helped with adding more essential fatty acids to her diet (Devon Rex are prone to this.) Since uticaria pigmentosa is from mast cells, and mast cells are in the kidneys, I have to believe that they are related. Hopefully the essential fatty acids will help her kidneys as well. I'm going with Omega 3's. (She HAD been on Royal Canine Hydrolyzed Protein (for her "allergies") -
I will follow up this afternoon with an email to her vet with her numbers from today.
During her next vet visit, which will be next week as a follow up, are there specific questions that I should be asking?
What should I do about dosing? I'm leaning towards once a day in the morning, until I see if her numbers stay controlled at less than 250. I've also read that she is more apt to go into remission if I stay on a tight 2x a day Lantus regimen, but I don't want to give her too much, and going less than 0.25 is nigh impossible. Her doctor said that normal BG numbers are considered between 75 and 175. He also thought it prudent to see what her numbers do throughout the day.
Any and all advice welcome!
0.25 of a dose is wise. I've been struggling to ensure that her dose is not too high.
Last Night PMPS was at 222, and because her numbers were so low earlier yesterday, decided to not dose her.
I'm testing her hourly today. The spreadsheet is linked. In case it helps, here are her numbers so far:
(I am using an AlphaTrak meter, which was given to me - I know that I will need to buy the Walmart meter down the road, but for now I have enough strips, and I want to be as exact as possible, as it has been so challenging to get Luna's numbers in a safe "zone" let alone figure out what a correct dose should be - and after last week, when she was at the vet's every day, I am spending a LOT less monitoring at home - that's what I keep telling myself!):
222 Last night PMPS (NO dose)
243 AMPS dose with 0.25 Lantus
192 (+1)
88 (+2)
53 (+3)
55 (+4)
64 (+5)
86 (+6)
100 (+7)
115 (+8)
139 (+9.5) (half an hour late)
191 (+11.5)
183 at 9:45. edit: I have decided to skip her dose tonight.
No ketones.
Doesn't this seem like a "fast" drop for Lantus?
If her BG gets up to around 222 PMPS, should I dose her tonight? I know that 53 is still too low. However there is no physical way I could give less than 0.25 of a dose. She ate before I gave her her dose.
She is still receiving antibiotics for her kidney infection. The doctor wonders if after the kidney infection is resolved she will no longer be diabetic. She is on wet food now. High protein, low carb.
She has allergies which I've just researched some more and learned that it may actually be uticaria pigmentosa and may be helped with adding more essential fatty acids to her diet (Devon Rex are prone to this.) Since uticaria pigmentosa is from mast cells, and mast cells are in the kidneys, I have to believe that they are related. Hopefully the essential fatty acids will help her kidneys as well. I'm going with Omega 3's. (She HAD been on Royal Canine Hydrolyzed Protein (for her "allergies") -
I will follow up this afternoon with an email to her vet with her numbers from today.
During her next vet visit, which will be next week as a follow up, are there specific questions that I should be asking?
What should I do about dosing? I'm leaning towards once a day in the morning, until I see if her numbers stay controlled at less than 250. I've also read that she is more apt to go into remission if I stay on a tight 2x a day Lantus regimen, but I don't want to give her too much, and going less than 0.25 is nigh impossible. Her doctor said that normal BG numbers are considered between 75 and 175. He also thought it prudent to see what her numbers do throughout the day.
Any and all advice welcome!
Last edited:
