6/28 Zeke AMPS 343; +5.5 108 - Doing well but.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
... this has been a most unusual cycle so, I don't know what to expect next.

Good morning LL,

Sending good BG vines to all and healing vines to our two Rockys and any other kitties that are in need of them.

Zeke's yesterday

Well last night when I tested Zeke before bed and he was at 272, I braced myself for a high PS this morning. Unfortunately, that's exactly what we got. Last night I also left a note for my DH (as he handles the AM shots) recommending that he fatten the dose if Zeke is above 200. Fatten he DID! Not really sure what to call the dose given but it was much more than what I had in mind. We could say it was possibly as much as 0.25u. Zeke's been getting 0.1u!!!

Well, so far Zeke has dropped 235 points in 5.5 hours - Now I'm bracing myself for a bounce. I'm not necessarily worried that Zeke's gonna go too low but I do have to leave in another hour so I'm hoping he's gonna stop dropping. The last drop was nearly 80 points and it occurred after +3. A huge drop like this after +3 hasn't occurred in over 6 months. I went ahead and fed him a 0.5t of LC, hoping that will put the brakes on another huge drop. I will test again before heading out a feed and/or leave food if necessary.

Well, I'm happy to report that despite the high PS, Zeke's doing great. He is much more his old self. He's more purry, talkative, playful and energetic. He played in the pile of plastic bags (supervised of course) with his favorite mouse (this is by far his favorite game). He's been jumping up on his favorite chairs and he's purring more at his usual intensity when I pet and talk to him. Mia hissed at him this morning and much to our delight (sorry, Mia) he put her in her place by chasing her into the laundry room. This kitty WILL NOT be scolded by anyone, not even us and much less HER. The only thing I've noticed is that he has been scratching under his chin, something I hadn't witnessed him doing since we brought him home.

Well, I'm running late and need to start getting ready for my appointment. I'll check back later for updates on my fellow Lantus Landers.

You all have a great Caturday.
 
i can appreciate that it would be hard to figure out how to fatten a 0.1u without getting to 0.25u! Zeke is on such a tiny dose no matter how you look at it. Seeing his +6.5/103 it looks like it was a good choice. Sometimes when increasing you have to do more than fatten. In any case, he's looking better and his numbers are coming pretty close to greens.

Fingers crossed that it holds for him! Don't ya love Caturday!?
 
If you are using calipers, I could easily see how you could dose from 0.1u to 0.2u or 0.25u.

I'm glad he's feeling better. I'd just hold the dose until he earns the reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top