6/28 Snuggie: PMPS 156; +6 190; +9 95 (AMPS 218; +6 90; +7 69; +7.5 64; +8 63; +9 71; +10 77

Jay Dee

Member Since 2021
Hm, back in the low yellows. Guess we will see how the next day or so goes! All those blues were probably hard work for him; at least we know he can do it. I just learned how to post pics so here is one of his majesty posing for me a few weeks ago.

yesterday’s post:https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...amps-151-2-5-199-9-5-143.249128/#post-2810845

upload_2021-6-28_10-3-25.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-28_10-3-25.jpeg
    upload_2021-6-28_10-3-25.jpeg
    62.3 KB · Views: 235
I wouldn’t be surprised by a little bounce. He had a lot of hard work surfing that blue yesterday.
That’s what I was thinking too; thanks for confirming! This is probably the most normal he’s been in a year, honestly, except maybe that week or so in mid March.
 
Hi Jill. I saw that you were asking about UTIs. CKD cats are more prone to getting UTIs because of having more dilute urine.

I see you have Cabergoline coming. I'm so glad your vet was on board with that. We had the fish-flavored for Darcy from Wedgewood, and he never complained. We only had to give him .4 mL at the strengh that they compounded it -- so it was a small amount. Cabergoline really got us to the point where we had to reduce his insulin a lot (sometimes quickly). It was amazing. I do think he felt a lot better on it, too. So, in addition to helping my Acro Boy, I saved a LOT of money by starting Cabergoline -- used WAY less Levemir. When will you start? How do you post photos via your phone, by the way? I have never figured that one out. I've always had to drag them to my desktop on my big computer or my laptop and then drag them into my thread. It's a nuisance. I don't know if it's allowed (as it wouldn't let me) but I tried to post a short video once and it didn't work.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy thank you! Sometimes we call him the Snugmaster General!

The vet ordered the cab to be delivered to them - he said they’ll get a little savings that way that they’ll pass on to us. They ordered Friday so it’ll hopefully be here soon. I think they said 1 mL every other day. Less insulin will be great! I’ll keep an eye on his tests so thank you for the heads up.

Chris gave me some instructions but I think they were for desktop - so for my phone i went to my photos and finally just did “copy” and came here into where I usually type, and just did “paste” and it worked! I’m on iPhone -
I was shocked. So of course when I upgrade my iOS it won’t anymore - LOL!!!
 
What a handsome boy! Looks like he's about to pounce on something just out of shot. Nice blues the last couple of days!! Good luck with the cabergoline.
 
Y’all: intuition told me to take a +6. This is his first green ever! Gonna grab a +7 to see where we are going …
 
Not an SOS (yet) but don't know what to do - his +6 was 90, +7 was 69. Hypo kit onhand, he's acting fine - how often do i test? when do i feed him LC? MC?

I'm keeping a close eye on him and will find the sticky and will monitor here - thanks!
 
+7.5: fed him his usual
LC dinner. He’s still acting fine - will continue to monitor and post.
 
Hi Jill, 69 is still a really safe number. Feed a teaspoon of LC and test again at +8. Test every 30 mins if he drops below 59 and feed a little MC. You got this!

Easy "feeding the curve" cheat sheet:
>59 : Feed LC (<10%)
<59 : Feed MC (10-15%)
<49 : Feed HC (= or >16%)
 
(Ha, Katherine beat me to it and now I'm going to update my notes)

First, don't panic! (OK, I just said that for humor-value). Congrats on the green, you can do this! How considerate of Snuggie to do this in the AM cycle, too. Seems like you have this under control.

Here are a couple of handy posts (memory is the first thing to fail in low number 'not panicking', I find)

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990

Here are the notes I keep in my s/s which I pulled from a sticky or other posts
  • <50, test every 20m.
  • 50-60, every 30m
  • [I have nothing after that, I'd go with every hour]
  • feed LC when drops quickly to 60 from a high number
  • higher MC food when hits the 50s
  • HC when in the 40s.
  • >50, you can switch to LC. No need to feed higher carbs
You're in the 2nd half of the cycle so I'm guessing HC won't be needed but you're in prime position to feed the curve. There's a post about that somewhere but can't find the link right now.
 
Hi Jill, 69 is still a really safe number. Feed a teaspoon of LC and test again at +8. Test every 30 mins if he drops below 59 and feed a little MC. You got this!

Easy "feeding the curve" cheat sheet:
>59 : Feed LC (<10%)
<59 : Feed MC (10-15%)
<49 : Feed HC (= or >16%)
THANK YOU!!! This is SUPER helpful!!!
 
(Ha, Katherine beat me to it and now I'm going to update my notes)

First, don't panic! (OK, I just said that for humor-value). Congrats on the green, you can do this! How considerate of Snuggie to do this in the AM cycle, too. Seems like you have this under control.

Here are a couple of handy posts (memory is the first thing to fail in low number 'not panicking', I find)

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990

Here are the notes I keep in my s/s which I pulled from a sticky or other posts
  • <50, test every 20m.
  • 50-60, every 30m
  • [I have nothing after that, I'd go with every hour]
  • feed LC when drops quickly to 60 from a high number
  • higher MC food when hits the 50s
  • HC when in the 40s.
  • >50, you can switch to LC. No need to feed higher carbs
You're in the 2nd half of the cycle so I'm guessing HC won't be needed but you're in prime position to feed the curve. There's a post about that somewhere but can't find the link right now.
And thank you too! More handy quick info!!
 
Awesome surf Snuggie has going. :D If you feed a tsp of LC when they first it green, it can often encourage a surf. Of course, there is ECID and acros even more so on how sensitive they are to carbs. Neko was carb sensitive and could surf on freeze dried salmon treats. I fed her those even if below 60 but above 50. You have to find out what works for Snuggie.

So, what does Snuggie think about being green?
 
Awesome surf Snuggie has going. :D If you feed a tsp of LC when they first it green, it can often encourage a surf. Of course, there is ECID and acros even more so on how sensitive they are to carbs. Neko was carb sensitive and could surf on freeze dried salmon treats. I fed her those even if below 60 but above 50. You have to find out what works for Snuggie.

So, what does Snuggie think about being green?
Hahahaha Snuggie likes it, but it scared the crap out of mom! Hahah! :D

so far he surfed on his usual LC food, but we can try other things in the future.

what should I do for dose tonight? And testing overnight? I don’t mind setting alarms as needed tonight, considering!!
 
Last edited:
He hasn't earn a reduction under TR yet. Normally I'd say hold the dose. Still waiting to see if his liver will respond to these lower numbers. And you have a while to PMPS yet.

Keep track of any extra food you fed, and when on the spreadsheet. I used the Remarks column. That'll help you in future to see what worked or didn't.
 
He hasn't earn a reduction under TR yet. Normally I'd say hold the dose. Still waiting to see if his liver will respond to these lower numbers. And you have a while to PMPS yet.

Keep track of any extra food you fed, and when on the spreadsheet. I used the Remarks column. That'll help you in future to see what worked or didn't.
Ok! Great advice! Thank youuuuu!!!
 
Thanks everyone for getting me thru this cycle! I’m setting an alarm for +6 just to be on the safe side.
 
Back
Top