6/28 Murka AMPS 146 +3 142 +6 122 NEED HELP

Julia MURKA

Member Since 2026
6/28 Murka AMPS 146 +3 142 +6 122

Hello everyone!
I'm new here.
Please help me decide what dose of PMPS to inject?
I posted Murka's story in another thread (but no one is responding there).
Perhaps this information will be useful for determining the dose:
MURKA'S STORY

I'm also attaching a link to Murka's spreadsheet:
MURKA
 
Last edited:
Hi Julia, I responded on your other thread. It is all volunteers here so I appreciate your patience. What does your vet say for dosing for tonight? Take a look at the dosing methods I linked on your other thread. I think people might be hesitant to advise until you've got that narrowed down.

1U and some skips had her seeing greens a few days ago. Then you went to 1.5U, now down to 0.75U. Consistency would be good whatever dose you decide on. Hopefully some of the others will weigh in later.
 
Hi Julia, I responded on your other thread. It is all volunteers here so I appreciate your patience. What does your vet say for dosing for tonight? Take a look at the dosing methods I linked on your other thread. I think people might be hesitant to advise until you've got that narrowed down.

1U and some skips had her seeing greens a few days ago. Then you went to 1.5U, now down to 0.75U. Consistency would be good whatever dose you decide on. Hopefully some of the others will weigh in later.
Tim, thank you so much for your reply!

The vet said to increase the dose to 1.5 units because he thinks 1 unit isn't enough to get good results.

And today we gave her a 0.75 unit injection because the vet said to give her half the dose if her pre-injection readings are between 5.8-11.1 mmol/L (104-200).
 
Hi Julia - the other thing that might help is to put “?” tag on your title so that moderators can prioritize your thread for a response.

I will second Tim in that you should think about which dosing method you’d like to follow (SLGS or TR) since experienced people who advise on dosing will ask, because their answer will be different based on which method you choose. TR has a better track record of getting cats into remission faster as you can change doses more quickly, but as it’s a more aggressive approach, you will need to test a minimum of 4x a day and have your cat on an all LC wet food diet. (You might want to confirm what food Murka is on in your signature as well, so people can use that to advise you)

And since Lantus is a depot insulin, they will also advise you that a consistent dose will be helpful. Otherwise the numbers become really messy and difficult to interpret. I say that from experience as someone who’d react to AMPS and PMPS numbers and change dosing around. All it did was make my cat’s blood glucose numbers worse and more unpredictable. Following a method (SLGS or TR) will give you structure so that you can make changes in a systematic fact supported way.

Hope this helps until someone more experienced can chime in. Welcome to the forum!
 
Hello and welcome over here. Our dosing methods have us change the dose based on the nadirs, or how low the dose takes the cat. We don't lower the dose based on preshot values, unless the value is too low to shoot. Which for people following SLGS is 90 and for those following Tight Regulation is 50 when using a human meter.

When people are following TR and posting to this forum, and get a number under 150, that they post for help before shooting. There are several strategies you can use when shooting lower numbers for the first time. Lantus is great at keeping lower preshot numbers low and flat. I encourage you to look at some of the posts and spreadsheets of other members as examples.

I would stay with 1.5 units until you get a better idea of how this dose is working with a full depot. That means a minimum of 3 days/6 cycles with, though with the numbers you have seen, we would suggest up to 5 days if using Tight Regulation for dosing. If you follow SLGS for dosing, you stay with that same dose for 7 days. Murka has been seeing low 100's on this dose, which is a good response.

You will note that people here speak in terms of mg/dL instead of mmol/L, as the largest number of members are American and the server is in the US. However, many of user are from elsewhere in the world and can understand mmol/L, but we chose to speak mg/dL for blood sugars, so we are all speaking consistently. Thankfully the World spreadsheet does convert for us.

If there are terms you don't understand, please read the yellow Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. And I recommend reading them all anyway. At this point, the Depot and ones on Shooting Lower Numbers will be helpful.
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome over here. Our dosing methods have us change the dose based on the nadirs, or how low the dose takes the cat. We don't lower the dose based on preshot values, unless the value is too low to shoot. Which for people following SLGS is 90 and for those following Tight Regulation is 90.

@Wendy&Neko has a typo there. The TR level for a dose decrease is 50 (for newbies) not 90.

Both protocols are explained here: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

What country are you in? We have members from all over the world. There may be a member in your country or even local area who can provide more specific help on food, good vets to use, etc.
 
Thanks @squeem3 - fixed above

Julia - I do have a question for you on the IBD or SCL diagnosis. I see your intro said it wasn't clear. Where was the biopsy taken from and how? What diagnostics were done? Further diagnostics like an IHC or PARR test can help if the original pathology was not clear. Unfortunately, I have too much experience with SCL and IBD. It'd be really good to know what you are dealing with. If SCL, then the prednisolone may not be needed for long. Budesonide might also be an option. It's a locally acting steroid that doesn't impact blood sugars in some cats, like my Neko.
 
@squeem3
I'm from Russia (St. Petersburg), so I don't think there are many people here who could recommend a vet or food.

@Wendy&Neko
In January, when vomiting became more frequent, we had a diagnostic gastrotomy (an abdominal surgery during which the vet biopsied all layers of the stomach wall).
But when we received the cytology and histology results from the lab, they said they couldn't be 100% sure it was SCL (they were sure it was lymphocytic-plasmacytic gastritis (LPG), but weren't sure about SCL).

I read about IHC or PARP, but our veterinarians (a general practitioner and a gastroenterologist) didn't tell us anything about it. Perhaps this test isn't performed in Russia.

Now Murka is eating a large dose of prednisolone (5+5 mg, because when trying to reduce the dose, she starts vomiting again) + a diet protein hydrolysate of ALLEVA Care Allergocontrol Hydrolized + monoprotein wet food of Monge Cat Monoprotein Tacchino

She categorically refuses to eat any protein other than chicken/turkey/tuna. We've tried every type of protein available at our market (beef, lamb, rabbit, duck, pork).
 
Last edited:
the vet biopsied all layers of the stomach wall
But not the intestines? That's typically where you'll see SCL. Good to hear all layers were sampled though. Was Murka losing weight as well as vomiting? All three of my SCL or SCL and IBD kitties were vomiters, so I sympathize.

A number of the foods on this list are also available online in Europe, including eastern Europe: UK Cat Food List

If she is eating any dry food, then the Start Low Go Slow Method is the dosing method to use.
 
But not the intestines? That's typically where you'll see SCL. Good to hear all layers were sampled though. Was Murka losing weight as well as vomiting? All three of my SCL or SCL and IBD kitties were vomiters, so I sympathize.

A number of the foods on this list are also available online in Europe, including eastern Europe: UK Cat Food List

If she is eating any dry food, then the Start Low Go Slow Method is the dosing method to use.
@Wendy&Neko
No, they didn't examine her intestines (the vets said the ultrasound showed no thickening of the walls or inflammation in the intestines + Murka didn't have diarrhea, only constant vomiting 24/7).

And yes, she lost 1 kg back then and refused food (we fed her with a syringe). But thankfully, after starting prednisolone, her weight quickly returned to normal.
But now we have diabetes ((((((. You treat one thing, but you damage another.

Thank you for your help!
 
the ultrasound showed no thickening of the walls or inflammation in the intestines
Excellent news. My cats with SCL did have inflammation and all were just vomiters. Having had a cat with both diabetes and SCL, diabetes was much easier to manage as you can see what is happening with home testing.
 
Back
Top