6/28 Lucy PMPS=205;+2.5=187;+5.75=203;+9=274 // SICK

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Sunday!

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=180 (0.5u); +2=175; +8=185
PMPS=207 (0.5u); +2=182; +4=171; +6=139; +9=139

Today
AMPS=137 (0.5u); +2=185; +4=232; +8=191
PMPS=205 (0.5u); +2.5=187; +4.5=215; +5.75=203; +9=274

Lucy had a nice low blue surf from late last night through this morning's AMPS, but unfortunately she's gone up to yellow. :-|
She's doing good this morning, though! :smile:
She meowed really loudly to wake me up, and ate her breakfast well.

I am going to pick up her new drug, chlorumbucil, later today, and she'll have her first dose this evening.
I haven't decided exactly what time I am going to give it to her.... with 1st dinner? at +2? before bed?
I'll decide with I see the pill.
I am really really hoping that it will not make her nauseated.
I want to see how she'd react without help from anti-nausea drug, so I'll try without cerenia/ondansetron first.

I am now really glad that I squeezed out a prescription for ondansetron to keep at hand when I saw a different vet last month.
I had been asking for it every time I had a chance to see a different vet (within the same clinic), and the 4th one finally agreed.

:?: :?: The ondansetron dose he prescribed is "1/2 to 1 table every 12 to 24 hours."
And one table is 4mg. He wasn't familiar with ondansetron use himself - he said this drug is not so commonly used for veterinary use in Canada like it is in US, but I saw him checking the dose on the website (probably some vet only web) before handing me the script.
Does this dose look right?
I know a lot of people here use this med, so I want to check what dose everyone else is giving.
:?: :?:

I hope I will not need it, and I am going to keep positive thoughts, but I'd like to be prepared.
Thank you for your input!!!
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=185;+4=232 // Ondansetron dose

Hi Mariko. Most people start with 1/4 a 4mg tablet BID. It didn't work for Max and I had to increase to 1/2. It took some time to realize that he needed more. The clue was that when I got him on the right dose he didn't need cyproheptadine any longer. It can take a few doses to see what she will need. It might make her a little sleepy but other than that Max has been fine with it.

It is STRONGLY recommended that you treat her with odansetron in advance of the chemo drug to PREVENT nausea rather than having to treat it after getting the drug. It won't make her sick to have it and very well will make her more comfortable. Most give it the day of and one or two days after. It did make Tiffany nauseous and most owners report the same thing. You don't want to have to chase the nausea.
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=185;+4=232 // Ondansetron dose

Oh, I forgot to mention.

The chlorambucil dose the vet prescribed is "2mg every 3 days".
If the 2mg every 3 days schedule doesn't work, I will then discuss the pulse dosing....
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=185;+4=232 // Ondansetron dose

When Trix was at the peak of her pancreatitis, I had requested ondansetron. Likewise, they dont se it in their practice but the prescribed it for me since I wanted it. My vet also did a fair amount of research and came up with the same conclusion: 2mg BD. Her philosophy is that if you're going to use a dug, then USE it, so this was the dose she strongly recommended, and the dose we used. Trix's circumstances are different, of course, but we ultimately did find that cerenia worked better for her.

Sending tons of prayers that the new med helps Lucy's IBD!
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=185;+4=232 // Ondansetron dose

That's great Lucy was doing good this morning and eating for you. I hope she continues to eat today. Good luck with the new med.
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=185;+4=232 // Ondansetron dose

Looks like you have some latitude. I've only given 1 mg bid and it's worked fine for my cats but ECID.

I'm very glad she's doing so well today!
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=185;+4=232 // Ondansetron dose

I've always given J.D. 1/4 pill BID with cypro. I didn't know it was okay to give 1/2 pill of onda and that once the dose was right that cypro could be discontinued.
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=185;+4=232 // Ondansetron dose

The goal is to get rid of the nausea. If it is gone the cat will eat. Before I raised the dose Max got, every time I quit cypro his appetite would tank. One of the vets told me to increase the ondansetron and when I did I was able to stop cypro. Ondansetron can also be given safely every 8 hours and even in conjunction with cerenia. Many cats being treated for large cell lymphoma do that as well as those with pancreatitis. If a cat is too sick, no matter how much you give it may not work. Like all drugs the goal is the least amount that gets the job done. Like Amy said though, if you are going to try it you need the therapeutic dose to know if it works since as always, ECID.
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=185;+4=232 // Ondansetron dose

We use 1mg Ondansetron for Zener about 15 minutes before his AM and PM meals. We cut the 4mg tablet into 1/4s.

Anne
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=185;+4=232 // Ondansetron dose

I'm glad Lucy is doing well today. Yay for eating well!!!

I've only used the ondansetron a couple of times, but like most here, I use 1 mg. It's good to know you can give more if needed, though.

Sending vines and prayers that the new drug helps Lucy and has no side effects.
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=185;+4=232 // Ondansetron dose

Thank you very much for your tips.

I just picked up the drug, Leukeran.
Unfortunately, the pills are larger than I had hoped.... :?
My plan is to give it right before dinner, when she's most hungry in hopes that she'd just swallow without chewing.
I have changed my mind and I am going to give it together with ondansetron.
It's a coincidence that I finally got my hands on ondansetron which is used to prevent nausea and vomiting caused by chemotherapy just one month before the vet actually prescribed a chemo drug for her IBD, so maybe it's meant to be.
Maybe it's a sign that I should use it.
I think I'm going to start from 1mg, and see if that's enough or if she needs more.

I am still really freaked out about it.
When I told the nurses and techs about it yesterday upon picking up the prescription, everyone made the "oh I'm so sorry" face.
One nurse hugged me which was nice, but almost made me cry.
Today, I asked the pharmacist about the side effects, and he said even if it make the cat sick, the survival chance without it will become slim blahblahblahblahblah, and I wanted to spit at his face.
The perception everyone else seems to get about this is very different from how I thought it was going to be like.
I always told my vet that I plan for Lucy to live at least to be 20 despite all the issues, and when we discussed this drug with the vet, she was more like in the attitude of "let's make it happen".
I want to keep that positive attitude, but it's hard with people acting as if she's leaving.
So, I'm going to just stop talking about it except here on this board and with the vet.
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=185;+4=232 // Ondansetron dose

The reason you are getting that reaction is because it is mostly used for small cell lymphoma. You aren't using it for that. Even if you were people don't understand that cats can live many years with small cell and that part has nothing to do with age.
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy PMPS=205

YYYyyaaaaaayyyyyy!
We did it!!
I was so worried that I might not be able to pill Leukeran since I can't cut it to fit it in a gelcap, but it was a success!
I just wrapped it with raw meat food like I do with other pills, and gave it to her right before dinner, and Lucy just ate it.
I prepared 4 small raw meat balls, one with Leukeran, another with ondansetron, and two dummy balls (empty), and gave quickly one after another in order of: dummy --> Leukeran --> ondansetron --> dummy.
And she happily ate all of them, and didn't seem to notice there was a pill in them.

Phew!!!
I think half of my stress about this is gone.

Special thanks to Elise.
I think I took most of your suggestions.
I gave her ondansetron.
I didn't really feel the need for a glove since the pill is sugar-coated (hope it won't affect her BG), but wore it like a good girl.
I'm not doing the pulse dosing, but I did take a mental note that it is the most recommended dosing.
I didn't want to argue the dosing the vet prescribed without even trying.
 
Re: 6/28 Lucy PMPS=205

If the ondansetron works and she doesn't get nauseous, the dosing schedule will be fine. If you have appetite problems more than usual, then consider the pulse dosing as it is supposed to be the easiest on them. Lucy may do fine this way. I hope so!! If she spits out the pills ever, then that would be the time for gloves. I think you have that part figured out and won't need them. :-D
 
It's 3:30am now, and Lucy vomited big time between 1am and 3am.
This drug is making her feel too sick, even with ondansetron.
She was a happy girl, and now she's miserable.
It's not worth it.
I'm considering discontinuing this drug, after only one dose.
I'll call the clinic as soon as they open and probably bring her in for a shot of Cerenia.
She's good with pilling as long as she is willing to take a little treat with the pill inside, but I can tell she's not going to take it.
I don't want to wrestle to pill her and end up with her vomiting it, so I'd rather she gets a cerenia shot.
I know she will NOT eat in the morning. I don't know what I'm going to do about the insulin... depends on the morning number.
I knew this might happen, but still I'm really upset!
This drug may make her live longer, but this isn't life!!!!
 
((((Hugs)))) Mariko. I hope she WILL eat in the morning, and keep it down.
I hope you can find a way to give her the drug she needs, without her getting sick from it.
 
I'm so sorry you are going through this. Some cats need cerenia and ondansetron, together on the days before and after this drug. I would get some injectable cerenia to give yourself. She might need it. I'd think about giving up on it after just one try but of course understand if you do. It IS an aggressive approach to IBD but many go that route successfully. I knew this might happen and that is why I wanted you to give her some medication before. Cerenia might very well control the vomiting and ondansetron the nausea. They are often combined with chemo drugs. Usually cerenia once a day and ondansetron twice a day. I hope she feels better and you were able to get in to see your vet. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top