6/28 Jubalee AMPS 318, 409/+4...maybe a fur shot?? (So confusing)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kadie (Juba's Mom)

Member Since 2015
Juba's condo from 6/26:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...7-325-10-pmps-343-advice.179837/#post-1989794

Good morning/afternoon everyone,

So it appears Juba "may" have bounced from the 26th when she got down to 166 at +5 after her pm shot, so that could be why she was 350 the next morning?
I know it's not under 100, but she hasn't seen a blue or let alone anything under 200 in a while.
Should I increase to 1.25 units tonight or wait to see if this is a bounce? This dosage is actually doing small changes with her insulin, so that's a good thing!

Also, I decided to take away the Friskies pates last night and gradually replace with Fancy Feast roasted turkey feast for a slightly higher carb in take, as per what @Wendy&Neko suggested I try while I try to increase her doses so Juba doesn't go too low and try to get her smooth sailing into the green lagoon.

Let me know if I should wait or increase, and I'll fill in her chart as the hours after her am insulin progress!

Also: update on her warm ears-
She didn't have warm ears this morning, they seem to come and go. I decided to make an appointment with the vet set for this Friday and I requested a full senior chem panel, and to test for her thyroid. I'm also going to request they test her blood pressure too!

Happy Wednesday,
Kadie (Juba's mom)
:)
 
Hi. I didn't want to misspeak so I went and found this part in the TR sticky:
INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
That 166 you saw was only 3 cycles ago. You should hold it a little longer to see if you get better numbers. You should wait and let the bounce clear as well.

I hope pros will weigh in as well. :)
 
So now Juba is 409/+4...what the heck??!?!

I let her outside (on leash and harness, supervised) about 20 minutes prior to her +4 test, and then fed her #2 meal after I tested her (her lunch.)

I'm so confused/frustrated...I don't know why she decided to climb up to the 400's instead of going lower??

I don't recall giving a fur shot this morning...and I don't know how this could have been from a bounce?

Last night was the first night giving a slightly higher carb food to see if that would flatten out her numbers with a higher dose of insulin.
I hope it's not the higher are food, maybe it was the outside that made her numbers higher?
 
Is there anyway you can sniff the injection site to see if it was a fur shot? Lev has a pretty distinctive smell. I don't want to comment on dose until you have confirmed whether it's a fur shot. She could also still be bouncing. Whether it's the blues or maybe she did a fast drop a couple of nights ago. Lev also has a later onset than Lantus. Sometimes Neko's numbers wouldn't start to go down until +5. The extra couple percent on the food should not make a difference.
 
Is there anyway you can sniff the injection site to see if it was a fur shot? Lev has a pretty distinctive smell. I don't want to comment on dose until you have confirmed whether it's a fur shot. She could also still be bouncing. Whether it's the blues or maybe she did a fast drop a couple of nights ago. Lev also has a later onset than Lantus. Sometimes Neko's numbers wouldn't start to go down until +5. The extra couple percent on the food should not make a difference.

No fur shot that I can detect, but it looks like it might be a bounce?

She went down about 50 ish numbers
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top