6/28 Jinx PMPS 263, +2.5 407

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe and Jinx

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73960

Jinx is eating and appears to be doing really well. When I go to bed, I always lay on my back at first and he gets on top and buries his nose in between my neck and shoulder and starts nuzzling. Last night was an extended session so I wonder if that's his way of saying thanks for the meds. :-D Hope you all have a great day!
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393

I'm so glad you all got some rest and things are settling down and Jinx is doing better.

FAF is feline assisted feeding. You might have to look it up under that in yahoo.

Have a great day...hope Jinx continues to eat. How do you think he did with the bupe and did you give him (and the sofa) more today?
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393

Hi, Marje - I gave him 2.5mL this morning and it went better than last night although he still puts up a fuss. He got lucky last night with swatting it out of my hand but that's not going to happen again. :lol: He seems to be doing really well with it although I think it does make him a little tired. I'll keep an eye on his behavior and will make adjustments if necessary. Was nice to see him come down at +2.5 although I was hoping it would be more gradual. Just gave him the rest of his morning meal so maybe that will slow things down a bit. Hope you have a great day as well!

Hi, Angela - Thanks for visiting and for the well wishes. Hope you have a great day also! :-D
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393

Marje, forgot to ask... Based on Karrie's comments this morning on yesterday's condo, do you see any harm in bumping up his zofran dose to 1mg BID?
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393, +2.5 269

You probably mean you gave him .25 ml right? Not 2.5 ml?

I think it was in your condo yesterday that I put 1mg bid ondansetron for a cat his size would be fine. That's what Anne and Liz give zener and he's a big guy.

Glad the dosing went better today and you and your buddy are pals again :-D
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393, +2.5 269

When J.D. was first diagnosed with pancreatitis, we were giving him 1/2 of a 4MG Ondansetron twice a day. Sometimes, when he seems to be doing better for an extended time, I will start to give him 1/4 of a 4MG Ondansetron twice a day.
And then when he seems off again, I go back to the 1/2 of a pill BID. Just for your information.
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393, +2.5 269

Marje - yes, I gave him 0.25mL. That was a typo, but would have definitely explained why he was tired. :lol:

Dyana - do you gauge how J.D. is doing wrt the zofran dosing based solely on his appetite?

Karrie - yes, he's eating really well right now and getting plenty of calories. I've been giving him NV canned chicken but started giving him their duck formula yesterday due to the lower fat content and he loves it. I also just gave him some NV raw chicken for the first time and he ate it right up. If his stomach tolerates it, I plan on gradually weaning him off the canned and getting him on a raw diet.
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393, +2.5 269, +4.75 118

I'm glad Jinx is eating well. i hope he goes for the raw diet, Tess loves it. You've got me studying, the Pancreatitis group link yesterday had a very good article on IBD too.
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393, +2.5 269, +4.75 118

A change in diet can often drop calories and should be done closely monitored with a baby scale/pet scale/shipping scale that weighs to the ounce and an error rating. If you are in the US you can find good deals online and often with free shipping on amazon and ebay. I had to pay $100 for my babyscale up here and it was worth every penny. The only way you know if he's getting enough calories to maintain weight (to prevent liver damage) is to weigh him.

Again I don't know how the calorie content of raw compares to commercial diets. Maybe others can chime in here.

Healthy weight loss is no more than 1-2% a week. Its slow and closely monitored. After a few weeks of loss you want a week of maintenance to give the liver a break.
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393, +2.5 269, +4.75 118

Great story on the nuzzling Joe. Sounds like Jinx has forgiven for all you had to do for him lately. His numbers are coming down nice and gradually too.

I looked at some of the labels of the raw food I give to provide some examples of calories. Neko gets 1/4 lb or about 113 grams per day. The As Fed numbers for 100g (slightly less than what she is getting) of the Red Dog/Blue Cat product are:
- chicken 192 kcal/100g
- venison 203 kcal/100g
- buffalo 188 kcal/100g
Then you add in the dried chicken or whatever treats to get a total amount of kcal/day. Can you get the NV As Fed calorie figures? Here is a website that has a formula for quantity to feed of raw http://www.reddogdeli.com/learn_about_the_raw.php?id=52&page=Things to know

When I first switched Neko to raw, I was weighing her every week, now it's every couple of weeks.
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393, +2.5 269

Joe and Jinx said:
Dyana - do you gauge how J.D. is doing wrt the zofran dosing based solely on his appetite?
No, more on how he seems to be feeling. It's really a guessing game to know if he's in pain or not. But if his appetite is off and he's acting slower, and especially when he starts to act like he doesn't hear me, then I give him more meds.
I really don't know if he's acting slower and less energenic because of having a bounce or not, though.

The people on the Feline Pancreatitis Support Group really urged me not to stop his meds, too soon, and to do all changes slowly, and one at a time. And for every change, to wait for a week and see how he does with that change.

:roll:
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393, +2.5 269, +4.75 118, +6.25 111

Ann - I'm going to get on the pancreatitis board after I send this and will look for that article on IBD.

Karrie - I'm going to start researching scales right now and will order one tonight. If any of you have a favorite, please let me know. Also, my regular vet told me that Jinx's ideal weight is probably around 14 lbs. It very well could be but I am not confident with his assessment so I will start looking into a more accurate way in determining Jinx's ideal weight. I'm pretty sure I read something on www.catinfo.org about how to judge ideal weight based on feeling your cat's ribs but I need to look it over again.

Wendy - I just called Nature's Variety to see if I can get the "as fed" values but they're closed. I'm going to send them an email tonight and will follow up with a phone call tomorrow.

**I know a few people on this board feed NV raw. Has anyone tried to obtain "as fed" values from Nature's Variety?

Dyana - He seems awfully tired today so I'm going to decrease his bupe dose to 0.15mL and will see if that helps. I plan on sticking with 1mg zofran for now. Going to get on the Feline Panreatitis Support Group tonight.
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393... +6.25 111, NV "as fed" values

Joe..I have a gtreat digital scale for cats and it isn't too prcey but I'm out now. I'll google it and get you the link tonight.
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393, +2.5 269, +4.75 118, +6.25 111

Joe and Jinx said:
Wendy - I just called Nature's Variety to see if I can get the "as fed" values but they're closed. I'm going to send them an email tonight and will follow up with a phone call tomorrow.

**I know a few people on this board feed NV raw. Has anyone tried to obtain "as fed" values from Nature's Variety?

The NV raw values are on the Pet Food Nutritional Values Comparision chart It is 65 calories per ounce. The nuggets/medallions are 1 ounce each. The patties are 8 ounces each. The carb content is listed on the NV raw product info pages http://www.naturesvariety.com/InstinctRaw/cat/all The numbers match what is on the Pet Food Nutritional Values chart.
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx AMPS 393... +6.25 111, NV "as fed" values

squeem3 - I apologize for not knowing your name. I really appreciate you providing the as fed values for NV.

Dyana - Thanks for the info on the scale.

Marje - Looking forward to seeing which scale you use as well.

Sienne - Thank-you. His appetite is back but he seemed really tired today so I hope he's ok. Also seems like he has a runny nose and has been doing what sounds like mini-sneezes today. He's on my lap now purring so I think he's ok. :-D

Also joined the Feline Pancreatitis Support Group and am waiting on approval for my first message.
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx PMPS 263

So glad Jinx is eatin' for ya, and hopefully on the mend! Keeping paws crossed for you guys for a speedy recovery and pretty numbers!
 
Re: 6/28 Jinx PMPS 263

Marje - Thanks for the link to the scale!

Caitlin - Thanks, I appreciate it! Really glad to see Mr. Kink doing so well during the OTJ trial!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top