6/28 Flick +10~92, +12 ~123 newbie, need feedback!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danelle and Flick

Member Since 2010
Flicks numbers have been all over the place and I'm having a hard time finding any sort of pattern. Today was the first time I got a green so that was a suprise. I followed the advice on the sticky and skipped his PM shot so we'll see what happens with that. I would appreciate some feedback on what to do from here. Should I stick with the same dose or lower it a bit now that he got a 93? I work tomorrow so won't be here to monitor him.
 
Welcome to LL Danelle. 92 usually isn't considered low enough for a reduction, less than 50 is usually when we feel they can use less. Since it was so late in the cycle you may have been lower earlier, but without the tests we cannot tell. The preshot tests are really important in order to know it is safe to give insulin.

Since you skipped the shot tonight, Flick's numbers will probably go up tomorrow and the shed will get depleted and need to get refilled. Test a little early (maybe 30 minutes before shot time) and post the numbers right away so someone can get back to you with advice.

Hang in there, it takes a while to get things regulated and with Lantus you need to be consistent with the doses. Patience is one of the main things we have to learn. Don't despair you are on the right track. :thumbup
 
Thanks for the info and the support! I tested him a few minutes ago (at +15) and he was up to 220 so I decided to give him a .5u token dose to get him through the night. If he's around 120 again PS would you suggest just shooting his normal dose? I just wish I could get a better read on how the insulin is working on him. I know I have to get more mid cycle #'s.
 
Hi Danielle,

Welcome to Lantus Land. This place is The Place to be when you have a diabetic kitty.

That was a horrible story in your profile about that scam-artist vet. It goes to show you can find selfish, venal people in all walks of life. So sad.

I was looking at Flick's ss and the thing that popped out to me was that you really need more data. I know you said you work full time, but maybe you can do it on weekends or (horrors! gasp!) during the night. It would be nice to know when Flick's nadir is and what is happening then. That knowledge is what is needed to be able to shoot low numbers with confidence and keep the momentum going.

I'm not someone with experience with a lot of FD kitties, but I didn't see anything that said "reduced dose" to me in FLick's numbers. If you get a chance, take a look at Basil's spreadsheet (and those of some other kitties) and see the patterns that led to reductions. Hope that helps!
 
What others have noted is good counsel -- it's very hard to see a pattern without more data. I can't tell if you work days or nights, not that it matters. Many of us work full time, are students, or both. You do the best you can to get whatever data you can. If the logistics of work make it such that you have to give a shot and then are out the door, try to get a +11 (i.e., test as soon as you wake up) and then your pre-shot test. If you are home before your next shot, test when you walk in the door. And get a few tests in before you go to sleep. Use weekends/days off to try to get a curve or fill in some of the gaps on your SS.

For the record, please do not skip a pre-shot test. There is no other way to know if it's safe to give a shot. Last night is a good example. You will get to the point where you can shoot a 92 but until you have more data, follow the instructions in the "Data Ready" sticky.

I'm not entirely clear what went on last night. Was 92 your +10? Or was it your PMPS and then you delayed? If the latter, please make a note of what you actually did and what you finally shot on your SS in the comments section. If the 92 was your +10 and your PMPS was 123, you would have been fine to shoot. You had a rising number and as long as you could get at least a +1 and a +2, had strips and high carb food in the house, you'd would have been fine to shoot.

What I would also suggest is that you join us and post more often. Looking at other members condos and reading what they do in the same situation really does help you to be more confident and have a better feel for how this all works. It is truly overwhelming in the beginning. If you get a pre-shot number below 150, post -- we'll help.

Just one other note. You shot a "token dose" at +15. If you are on a schedule, I don't know if I would have suggested you do this. Whatever time you give a shot, whether it's a full dose or what we refer to as a BCS ("big chicken sh*t") or token dose, that's when the clock starts. Your AMPS is now 12 hours from when you shot. If you refer to the dosing protocol sticky, a late shot is like a dose reduction, an early shot is like a dose increase. In some cases, if you have an inflexible schedule, skipping a shot is your only alternative.
 
Thanks again for all the feedback. Really helps. I freaked a little when I saw the first ever 2 digit reading on my meter especially at +10. Then when I tested again and saw his PMPS value was still so much lower than he had ever tested I consulted the Data Ready to Shoot Low #'s sticky and thought i was supposed to skip his PM shot. Guess I wasn't data ready to shoot low numbers now was I :) ...oops still learning. Then I tested at midnight and saw his numbers were going up (I know that is expected but hes been know to dip at +12, +1) so I did that .5U BCS dose (3 hours after his scheduled PM shot) just to get him through until his next dose in the morning. I know I should have waited a full 12 hours for his AM shot but I couldnt stay home til noon so I reduced his am dose to 1.25 to compensate for it being earlier and shot it at 9:45. By tonight we''ll hopefully be back on our schedule and I will not do anymore dose skipping/hopping.

Working from home Friday and kids will be at daycare so it will be the perfect day for a full curve. He's going to hate me.
 
Welcome to LL: You will do fine here. Sorry about the bad vet. Horror tale. Lantus is a 12 hour insulin. Shots should be 12 hours apart. If you have the numbers you can sometimes shoot 15 min. early. What type of meter are you using? Post daily, ask questions and you will do fine. Good Luck, and again, Welcome to LL.
 
He won't hate you, just have plenty of treats handy - here's a link to low carb treats:

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=9172

In addition to all this. Deli meat or cheese, chicken - baked, boiled, rotisserie, canned, tuna, etc.

the idea is anything that is protein (meat) and doesn't have seasonings and such. With rotisserie, I eat the yummy part and give them the inside part.

welcome to the group
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top