6/28 FCC general dosing question

Acadaca

Member Since 2021
Hi,

FCC has been on 1.25 units for what is now his sixth day. I skipped a shot because his numbers dropped to 137 one AMPS (6/25) and I wasn't comfortable giving him insulin when I couldn't watch over him. Should I hold his cycle for longer as a result? I was thinking of bumping him up to 1.5 tomorrow. I am currently trying to move him to TR, but might be going a little slower until I understand his numbers better. I don't know if that's a bad idea. I am planning to continue to test him every two hours today to make sure nothing weird happens (and hope to get a PMPS +2 as well).

In case it is relevant he is not moving at all at the moment because we are experiencing a heat wave. I am not sure how energy expenditure affects cycles. I do wipe him down to keep him as cool as possible.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/number-way-below-normal.249050/
 
With slgs after a week on a dose you do. Curve and then decide whether to increase. It looks like tomorrow will be the 7th day. You need to get a minimum of two tests per cycle. I think on 6/26 the nadir might have been lower.
 
With slgs after a week on a dose you do. Curve and then decide whether to increase. It looks like tomorrow will be the 7th day. You need to get a minimum of two tests per cycle. I think on 6/26 the nadir might have been lower.

If I do the curve tomorrow and it looks like the dose should be upped, do you have a suggestion as to when an appropriate time to flip him to TR would be?
 
With TR you can increase every 6 cycles or 3 days until you start to see blue nadirs. So you can increase tomorrow morning. Since you will have 6 cycles after the skipped shot. You are testing enough but I would occasionally set an alarm for +4-6 at night as many cats drop lower at night. Do it if possible when your +2 is more than 50 points lower than your pmps as it might be a active cycle.
 
Thank you. I will get some of those PMPS tests in. I will increase tomorrow and keep reading the TR guidelines. I've done so several times, but will keep doing so until I feel I have a better grasp on things. I appreciate your help. It's invaluable.
 
There’s a lot to learn. So keep asking questions and if not sure what to do ask for help. Post daily if possible.
 
Back
Top