6/28 Doogle PMPS 405 +2 349+3 293+5 268+8 430+10 542 +11 543

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
PMPS 328.....now lets hope we can get into the blues and greens and not scare off the hubby if we are green tonight. Hope everyone has a fantabulous day and stays cool......I am staying inside.

Donna
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328

He got his name from a British Comedy TV show we loved....Father Ted. He was a goofy, silly priest on there that was just sweet. So when we got Doogle from the vet as a kitten he was the same way and it just fit. Having 12 cats (and had total of 20 in my married lifetime of 21 years) its becoming harder and harder to come up with names. If you like British Comedies, Father Ted is so worth watching...its on Netflix if you have it.
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266

+2 266.....stupid internet went out just as I was going to post his numbers...sad we rely on the internet so much now but grateful we have it because if not we couldnt have the support like we do here. :smile:
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34

Time to feed HC, or add a drop or two of karo to his food, test again in 15-20 minutes, lather rinse repeat. Follow the suggestions in the handling low numbers sticky, the board may not be very busy until evening. A number below 50 is an automatic reduction to 1.75u tonight. You want to get him in safe numbers, nothing left to prove! If he will not eat you can always put a little karo on his gums. If you are in trouble put the 911 icon in your subject line. Liz and I are online now, you will do fine.
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34

Ok, didnt know about the icon. Already feeding him a HC (knew from reading the info) and going to test him again. Calling to see if we can get a new prescription of syringes because ours dont have the .5 marks
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34

Is Doogle showing any hypo symptoms? From the sticky:
The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma

For measuring the 1.75U dose, I would measure the 2.0U dose like you have been, then squeeze out 3 drops. It depends how big your drops are, but we figure 3 drops per 0.25U. Anne is looking up the American Diabetes Warehouse info for ordering the 0.5U marked syringes. You don't need a prescription.

If you want to talk on the phone, send us a PM and we'll send our number. You are doing great!
Liz
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34

Here is the information on American Diabetes Wholesale:
www.americandiabeteswholesale.com

I'm not sure which syringes you are using but there are several brands that have the 0.5u markings. The prices here are very good and the service is also decent. Shipping is quite prompt. Another option is WalMart relion syringes. I'm not sure if you need a prescription for the syringes but you will have to ask for them in the pharmacy.

If you notice the list of icons at the top of the message screen - you see the 911, if you click that it will show up in your subject line and is for emergencies. If you have a question, you can click the question icon and write help or put a ? mark in the subject line to get people's attention. Here is the url for explanation on what all the icons mean.
Icon Use

Also, the main health forum has tons of information, including what all the jargon means here, it's a lot to take in at once, but very good info on almost every imaginable topic.
Feline Health: The Main FDMB Forum
And it's a good place to post an emergency or question if the lantus board is quiet.

Liz or I will be online and watch for you. I'm sure more experienced folks will be around soon.
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34+8 175

Yes, he is ok. I had to go out and pick up the syringes that the vet called in and my husband doesnt know how to come on here and post. He came up to 70 then 96 then 132 and now +8 175. I think we did pretty good for our first time. We got the 30units syringes with the half marks. We didnt panic but we are thinking 2u may be to much for him already. So how do we do this later with 1.75u? The syrings only have 1/2 marks?
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34+8 175

You did great! Doogle has earned a reduction to 1.75u tonight. For measuring the 1.75U dose, I would measure the 2.0U dose like you have been, then squeeze out 3 drops. It depends how big your drops are, but we figure 3 drops per 0.25U. You can practice with either insulin or water. Maybe see how big the drops are to get 0.5U because you tell that easier on the syringe. Others are much more expect than I am. You might want to use the question icon and put "question" in the subject line to get others to weigh in.
Liz
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34+8 175

Ok, my husband says he knew about the drops (he was a vet tech for 3 years). This was a little scary but I am quite proud of us for handling it so well. Told my husbnad I want to at least teach him to do Doogle's SS. I will update with a +9
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34+8 175+ 9 271

+9 271....so its all good for now. I am thinking maybe going down to 1.75 from here out may be the better choice.
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34+8 175+ 9 271

Yes, absolutely. Earned reduction with a number under 50, and he was 34. What you are seeing now is a bounce, showing you that Mr Liver is working as he should and got a little freaked by the low numbers. This too shall pass. It would be too aggressive and dangerous to not take a reduction with a number in the 30s. You are doing great and Doogle is amazing!
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34+8 175+ 9 271+11 341

+11 341....he got a little wigged out and ran downstairs into the basement when my grandson walked in...so took a few to convince his the small child wasn't going to grab him.....lol
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34+8 175+ 9 271+11 341

Those little aliens can be scary! Looks like a nice bounce in progress.
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34+8 175+ 9 271+11 341

Donna

You can (and probably should) shoot through the bounce tonight with the 2u and then take his dose down in the morning. That extra insulin might help with minimizing the bounce even though it's going to be high. Most caregivers will shoot through the bounce once and take the reduction the next cycle if kitty goes this high this fast.
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle AMPS 328+2 266+6 34+8 175+ 9 271+11 341

You guys did great today!! Dealing with low numbers the first time is scarey. On the other hand, next time you say you want green, you might want to specify just how much green you want. Clearly, Doogle aimed to please!!

Any time a cat that's within the first year of diagnosis has numbers that drop below 50, you reduce the dose. You then want to evaluate the dose over the next 3 days (6 cycles).

There are photos of various doses in the New to the Group sticky if you want a visual.
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle PMPS 405

PMPS 405...could tell it was getting high because he kept coming to the water bowl. Gave him the 1.75u (thanks for the link btw). So we will keep him on the 1.75u for 3 days or so? I think this actually may be a better dose for him anyway. Will check him at +2
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle PMPS 405

I think you missed my post to shoot through the bounce tonight? It's not a big deal but you might see him go higher.

Good luck with the reduction.
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle PMPS 405

I am soooo sorry....I didnt see that. I had way to much going on at once here with my daughter and one of my grandson's showing up, the stupid phone ringing off the hook, and the internet having problems. I just hope I didnt mess him up or hurt him.
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle PMPS 405

No, you didn't mess him up, not at all. I look at it as an opportunity to gather data. :lol: :lol: He is bouncing and that means his liver is working. He'll come back down, it just make take up to 72 hours or could be sooner. Stick with the 1.75u because you don't know when the bounce will break and you don't want the higher dose and the bounce breaking at the same time. You are doing great! So is Doogle. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle PMPS 405 +2 349

Well +2 is 349......I am glad I didnt do anything wrong. With everything that went on, I just missed it. He seems very happy at least. We are being watchful and will keep checking him. Thanks yall for everything today!!! I need more chocolate....lol
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle PMPS 405 +2 349

Donna...you didn't do anything wrong. You don't have to shoot through the bounce...he'll come down whether you do or not. It can just help to minimize the bounce.

I vote for more chocolate :-D have a great night.
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle PMPS 405 +2 349+3 293

Wow, could there be a rainbow slide in Doogle's future? He started with grr_red , then to stinky pinky and now sunny yellow! That's pretty good action after a bounce off the 30s in the AM cycle. You are all doing great! Hope you get some good rest tonight. I-)
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle PMPS 405 +2 349+3 293+5 268+8 430+10 542

Wow his numbers have risen majorly overnight....husband stayed up and tested every hour (I just didnt put them all in)....+7 353 +8 430 +9 462 +10 542. We have two hours till our shot......should we be worried about it being so high? What should we do?
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle PMPS 405 +2 349+3 293+5 268+8 430+10 542 +11

+11 543 so not much higher....I just hope he is ok. This is the first time ever he has been this high (even on Humilin). I dont know which is scarier....to low or to high. One hour to go
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle PMPS 405 +2 349+3 293+5 268+8 430+10 542 +11

This is a bounce from the 34 yesterday. His liver is reacting to low numbers. The 34 was scarier but these numbers are more discouraging. We've been there so we know how you feel. Just keep doing what you're doing, give the same dose, he will come down, it just may take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear. Hugs.
List
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle PMPS 405 +2 349+3 293+5 268+8 430+10 542 +11

No worries. The bounce will clear. Just be patient -- it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to work its way out.
 
Re: 6/28 Doogle PMPS 405 +2 349+3 293+5 268+8 430+10 542 +11

Ok, just a big shock to see those numbers........glad I had today and yesterday off to deal with this. I dont think my husband would have liked doing it alone. I just hope we can get things straightened out somewhat before I go back to work Monday morning. Update at AMPS
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top