6/28 Blackie +9 87 +11 101 pmps 120 +2.5 124 +4 102

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
No change in Blackie. He will eat a very small amount on his own, but not enough. So I have been syringe feeding baby food. This morning I lowered his dose to 3.5 because he just isn't eating enough and I don't know how long we'll be at the vets. He seems to be peeing normally and had a normal poop this am. He's also washing himself and purring when he's not mad at me for sticking the syringe in his mouth.

I hope our vet can figure out whats wrong and help us fix it. I'm worried.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18327
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 to vet today

I hope the vet can figure out what's wrong and get you guys on the road to recovery ... will be sending lots of positive thoughts your way today ...
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 to vet today

praying for you and Blackie. I hope the vet can give you some answers.
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 to vet today

(((Ele))) hoping for a good vetty visit. Come on Blackie feel better soon! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 to vet today

Hi Ele, I hope that your visit to the vet will set your mind at ease. Hey Blackie, feel better! Stu is sending you some "eat-hearty" vines from his garden.
Hugs from us both,

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 to vet today

HUGS, Healing vines & eating vibes sent to Blackie today!-- AND a positive vet visit! Please update!
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 to vet today

Ele, I hope Blackie's vet visit will give you some answers and some peace of mind. I am thinking of you both today and sending good thoughts and healing vines to Mr. Blackie. Please do let us know how it goes. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

I'm at tbp, so will make this quick. It was a bad morning - my vet is out of town, he's in a single vet clinic, so I had to find a vet that had an opening. After 3 calls I found one. Took Blackie in had bloodwork, exam, u/a. His creatnine went from 2.7 3 months ago to 3.9 today. (You can see all of his bloodwork results in my signature.) Vet suggested overnight IV fluids, I compromised with subQ fluids. They did 75ml in the office and we'll do more tonight, twice tomorrow and Wed am. We're supposed to have bloodwork rerun in 2 days to see if there's improvement with the fluids. He also gave us an appetite stimulant, can't remember the name. He also recommended a 3 week course of abs for possible kidney infection, but said to check with our regular vet.

When Blackie's bgs started dropping before I took him to the vet, I gave him karo twice. Vet wanted to do fructosamine and I declined. And he said no insulin tonight because Blackie's glucose was 93. I didn't really have a lot of confidence in this vet, but I didn't know what else to do. At least we are doing something now. I hope it all works.

Thank you all for your prayers. I think Blackie still needs them.
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

Sending positive vibes to you and Blackie. Hope the vet can figure out what's ailing him and fix him right up.
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

(((Ele))) (((Blackie))) Sorry to hear this news, but it sounds like whatever the condition is, it can be treated. When does your regular vet get back? If you don't have confidence in the new vet, and if Blackie seems to be doing OK on the fluids, maybe it would be best to carry on with the fluids and the appetite stimulant and then go to your regular vet as soon as he gets back. Stu is out picking some healing vines to send to his pal, Blackie. They'll be on their way soon, together with our prayers.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

(((Ele))) (((Blackie)))

I am so sorry your regular vet is out of town. I know that must be adding even more stress to an already scary situation. I am glad you were able to compromise and give the fluids at home. I know that will make both you and Blackie feel better about things. I am sending continued good thoughts, healing vines, and prayers.
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

no phosphorus taken on b/w, or USG done?
that albumin drop caught my eye. i'm not sure it's significant, but it's pretty different from his trend. did vet comment on that?
i forget what you wrote yesterday - just inappetant? any vomiting? any signs of pain? have you ruled out pancreatitis? when meowzi had a combination pancreatitis flare-UTI, her renal values went out of whack.
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

I have a couple of thoughts.

First, post on health about the increase in creatinine and the elevated BUN. There will definitely be people there who can guide you. Usually with kidney related issues, fluids help but there can be other considerations. The elevated BUN can lead to nausea and vomiting and may cause stomach ulcers. Is there any way to lower the protein in Blackie's diet? It may help to lower the BUN.

There are 2 appetite stimulants, mirtazepine and cyproheptadine, that are typically prescribed. Mirtz is dosed every 72 hours and cypro can be given either BID or daily depending on the dose.

You know what to do with the recommendation regarding insulin dose!

Why would this vet not treat a possible kidney infection? It doesn't look like there's an elevated WBC so I'm not sure why he's suggesting there may be a kidney infection.

AND, did your vet not have a phone number for a vet who would be covering the practice in case of an emergency? If not, that's exceptionally poor practice management. Most vets will direct you to the closest emergency center at the very least. Yeesh!

CF: I saw the albumin. It's still within normal limits. I'd be more concerned that there's no USG or assays for proteinurea.
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

Nothing to offer except for get better vines for Blackie and a hug for mamabean!
I leave the meds and the bw comments to peeps with more knowledge. I do echo Sienne's comment regarding the insulin though.
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

When I get a minute I will post on Health. They forgot to run the phosphorus with the rest, so I should get that result soon. They did a USG, it was 1.020, but the u/a was negative for blood or bacteria.

He prescribed the cyproheptadine bid. He didn't want to add abs until the appetite was better. No pancreatitis test was done. I will ask my regular vet, who will be back tomorrow, to run that. The ER vet here is not open during the day, only on weekends and nights. When I talked to my vets office they just said to see another vet. I know, I wasn't happy about that either.

So, Sienne, are you suggesting using the kidney diet foods?

FYI - he only vomited twice both on Sunday morning, but he just hasn't wanted to eat.
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

Ele and Blackie sending you tons of (((((((((((((((Ele & Blackie))))))))))))))))
I've been out of the loop, I'm so sorry that Blackie isn't feeling well... ohmygod_smile and of course your Vet is gone ohmygod_smile
hang in there sending you lots of patience :-D you are awesome and doing a great job!
heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

More & More Healing green vines being sent to dear Blackie--Hope you feel better real real soon--We care & are sure Blackie will be better once you speak to your reg vet..HUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

Hi Ele,
Im glad you may have an answer as to why Blackie has been so off. Tho Im sorry of the reasoning. I do think it would be wise to make sure you get the phos asap. I believe its over 6 when you want to start treating with binders (most regular vets will not know this...because its still in 'normal' range). I cant recall when I looked earlier what the BUN was, but as mentioned that will cause nausea as well.

How much fluids were you told to give? Remember fluids *can*, in some, affect BG's by lowering them a tad. If Blackie is already riding a little low with/o much food, just keep that in mind.

I dont know if IV fluids were 100% necessary at this point. I do think its worthy to keep close tabs on how Blackie is feeling and redoing labs very soon, as you have planned. I think I noticed at one point his creatinine went from low 2's to low 3's and back down by the next check. So this could be a blip.

I agree w/ not starting the a/b's yet, especially if u/a came back negative. A kidney infection might affect blood values, so its a worthy thought. Its probably best to discuss that with your own vet rather than one who has little investment or knowledge of his history.

They cypro was probably prescribed at 1/2 tab twice/daily...correct? I would not recommend giving the full 1/2 tab until you see how blackie responds. Maybe cut it in half and give 1/4. If it is not doing anything, then add more. You should see it working in about 30-60 minutes. You might expect to see Blackie respond with some restlessness and possibly vocalization. The opposite could happen and he may appear a little down. You may find that you only need to give it once/day, too! This is our appy stim of choice. I give Latte between a pin size and 1/4, depending on how often she is getting it (builds resistance and needs more when using regularly). It is often enough to jump start her and I may not need to give anymore for another day, or few days, or weeks. Thats probably dependant on the reasoning for her not eating, Im sure.

Keep up with the pepcid for sure, especially if it seems it has been helping.

If you do not already raise water and food bowls, please do. Raise them so Blackie is eating with food above his tummy (and drinking). This will help with any reflux, which could be making his tummy upset.

I would not make any major changes in food, yet. Wait to speak with your vet. Right now the most important thing is to EAT. The kidney diets are like 26% carbs, if I remember correctly (someone will correct me if Im wrong)...most cats wont eat them...and they are junk. In 3.5yrs I have tried occassionally with the kidney diet, but always go back to letting her eat what she will. Can you believe she ate kitten kibble for like six months once and her renal values showed no movement?! ohmygod_smile :YMSIGH:

Go over to Tanyas site and post your lab work. Gather some info about food, fluids, etc. Posting on health is a wonderful idea as well. The more info you can gather, the better choices you can make for Blackie's tx.

((((((((((((((((((((Ele))))))))))))))))))))))
(((((((((((((((((((blackie)))))))))))))))))))
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

Sienne and Gabby said:
CF: I saw the albumin. It's still within normal limits.
yes, i saw that it was WNL too. some changes can be WNL but still be meaningful; i don't know if this is one of them. i would want assurance from the vet that this decline isn't of any significance.

since you're going in again tomorrow, ask your vet if x-rays are appropriate too.

btw, meowzi only vomited once during her last really bad pancreatitis flare (combined with UTI). it was on a sunday morning. we suspected what it was so we started her on supportive treatment (her vet agreed, we did bring her in on monday; i think we did x-rays then). didn't do bloodwork till thursday, and that confirmed it was pancreatitis - the urine culture for UTI came back a few days after that.

(eta: not saying blackie has pancreatitis for sure, it could be anything. but this is one possibility you can try to rule out).
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +1 112 +3.5 83 +6 111 Vet Update

Sending prayers and Angels to help your Blackie I hope things will soon settle down for him LOL Kath :mrgreen: o:-) :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +3.5 83 +6 111 +9 87 +11 101 Dose?

Pmps is in 20 minutes. I need to give 75 to 100 ml of fluid tonight and I don't know how much Blackie will eat. What dose do you think?

DH gave Blackie 1/2 cypro and he didn't eat any better. This was at noon. When can I give him the next one? Do I have to wait until midnight?

Still no phosphorus results and I've called the vet 4 times!
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +3.5 83 +6 111 +9 87 +11 101 Dose?

I wish I could help you with some of this, but I can't - Mannie sends all the hugs and healing vines that he has to give, and hopes that his pal Blackie is better soon.

You have my sympathy with the vet situation. Wish I could help you there too.

Hang in there - we are all here to support you and Blackie.
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +3.5 83 +6 111 +9 87 +11 101 pmps 120

I lowered Blackie's insulin dose to 3 units. I don't know if I should have done that, but I am still worried about him going low with little food and fluids. He ate 1 Tb of food by himself before he stopped. I gave him another 1 Tb of baby food in a syringe with his Gabapentin and Pepcid. He looks a little better, not so lethargic. I just wish I could have my old Blackie back. Trying not to cry....
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +3.5 83 +6 111 +9 87 +11 101 pmps 120

Trust your Blackie, Ele, and follow your instincts tonight. You are doing all you can at the present time. Tomorrow, when you see your own vet and get the rest of the test results, you will have a clearer idea of how to proceed. We are all with you. More snowflakes and healing vines are heading your way.

Hugs,
Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +3.5 83 +6 111 +9 87 +11 101 pmps 120

Ella & Stu said:
Trust your Blackie, Ele, and follow your instincts tonight. You are doing all you can at the present time. Tomorrow, when you see your own vet and get the rest of the test results, you will have a clearer idea of how to proceed. We are all with you. More snowflakes and healing vines are heading your way.

Hugs,
Ella & Stu

Sound advice - you'll know what to do.
 
Re: 6/28 Blackie amps 111 +3.5 83 +6 111 +9 87 +11 101 pmps 120

Prayers and Angels coming to your house to help also have a candle lite for Blackie he will be ok Just keep doing the best you can ok LOL Kath :mrgreen:
 
Blackie got 75ml fluids at +2.5. He has been eating slightly better. He ate almost 1/4 can FF Medleys at +4. :-D I hope he'll continue to get better. I have a list to talk to his regular vet about tomorrow.

Thank you all for your support and prayers and vines. I really, really am thankful for you all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top