MrZ
Member Since 2013
Good evening LL,
Zeke's Yesterday
Well we got a second opinion today on the Onsior. We will most likely continue administering as prescribed. Second vet said the Onsior has been prescribed in Europe for way beyond the 3 days for quite some time. She stated that her husband has been involved in trials that have shown no adverse affects from dosing beyond 3 days. She said we could make the call ourselves as to if and when we resume dosing. Vet examined Zeke's mouth and said he's healing nicely. His appy continues to be good and today he had a little more pep than yesterday.
So now that I don't have that med to worry about, I can focus on Zeke's higher BGs. This evening's cycle is terrible - never dropped as far as I know. PMPS / 263 (yuck); +4.5 / 272 (triple yuck). How long should I wait until I increase his dose? Nadir last two days has been 152 (pre surgery, had always been green). Both vets stated that we should expect his BGs to be all over the place. Really? This bad (as compared to pre surgery)? I'm worried that since he's already so high, tomorrow morning may be really bad. How long should I wait before increasing? We're giving him his 0.1 u and the insulin is good (clear, no floaties, just a little over 1 month old).
That's all for now. Wishing you all a pleasant evening.
Zeke's Yesterday
Well we got a second opinion today on the Onsior. We will most likely continue administering as prescribed. Second vet said the Onsior has been prescribed in Europe for way beyond the 3 days for quite some time. She stated that her husband has been involved in trials that have shown no adverse affects from dosing beyond 3 days. She said we could make the call ourselves as to if and when we resume dosing. Vet examined Zeke's mouth and said he's healing nicely. His appy continues to be good and today he had a little more pep than yesterday.
So now that I don't have that med to worry about, I can focus on Zeke's higher BGs. This evening's cycle is terrible - never dropped as far as I know. PMPS / 263 (yuck); +4.5 / 272 (triple yuck). How long should I wait until I increase his dose? Nadir last two days has been 152 (pre surgery, had always been green). Both vets stated that we should expect his BGs to be all over the place. Really? This bad (as compared to pre surgery)? I'm worried that since he's already so high, tomorrow morning may be really bad. How long should I wait before increasing? We're giving him his 0.1 u and the insulin is good (clear, no floaties, just a little over 1 month old).
That's all for now. Wishing you all a pleasant evening.