6/27 Tomcat AMPS 354,+5=119,+6.5=170 PMPS 456,+5.5=357

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98605

well, I was happily surprised this am with a low blue!!! it has been awhile!! didn't last very long, but still.....it is working!

This PM though.....not so good....but a 100 point drop, I guess I will take.

bouncy bounce I guess???

how come vets don't tell you about bounces? what happens when you don't test your cat (that was me the first months) and the day you happen to drag your poor stressed cat into the vet for an all day BG curve....he happens to be bouncing?

I have a feeling I am in for a few more high days........

I am starting to see a pattern, which is good, although the pattern isn't.........blue to bounce

can I at least look at the bright side and think: Wow, Tom, you have a great liver!!!!

or not?

night all........hope everyone has a calm sweet night

~kelly
 
I think vets dont understand bounces except if they are extreme like Somogyi. And really probably the average vet doesnt see a lot of home testing data like ours to really understand it!

How is Tomcat doing? Hows the energy levels? the peeing and drinking etc?

Anyway lets hope he bounces into green soon!
 
Bouncing and Somogyi are not the same thing. Unfortunately, most vets don't see a lot of SS and so they think bouncing is Somogyi. There is no evidence that Somogyi exists in cats. However, the basic "principle" of Somogyi is that a chronic overdose causes numbers to go extremely low and then rebound very high.

Bouncing is just a liver response to any lower or fast dropping number. It doesn't have to be a really low number....just lower than what the liver is used to.

You are very astute, Kelly, to realize that if you take your cat in for a curve on a day the cat is bouncing, the vet will likely raise the dose which is the wrong thing to do. We see it often here. When you do spot checks at home, you can ignore the bounces and make your dosing decisions based on the BG nadir you see when the bounce clears.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top