6/27 Tessa AMPS 188 +1.5 208 +3 214 +6 222 + 10 190 PMPS 200 +2.5 263

tessa's mom

Active Member
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-26-tessa-amps-207-3-134-6-181-pmps-185.291516/

Tessa is doing well in recovering from her surgery so far. Her face is a little swollen but not too bad. She's eating normally now. I had trouble getting her to eat the meal that had her medicine mixed in yesterday which is very unlike her. I'm not sure if she wasn't feeling well or if maybe she was just full? I'm going to try feeding at +1.5 and +3 (the latter is when she needs her medicine). I'll give a small amount of food with the medicine at +3 and then offer the remaining food if she is still willing to eat.

So far it seems like her numbers are mostly staying in the blues which is good to see. I was worried that inflammation from the surgery was going to make her numbers go up. I'm not sure when I should increase. She had already done 6 days on 2.5u before the surgery but then we had to do a partial dose so I'm not sure whether that resets the count or not. I feel like we're getting close to getting her regulated but I don't want to rush anything.
 
She started showing some signs of pain so we got the go ahead to start her on Gabapentin in addition to the Onsior she is getting each day at +3 and the Zorbium transdermal pain relief she was given on surgery day. Hopefully the combination will get her feeling better soon. Of course she's already eaten all her normal morning meals so she's not hungry and didn't eat much of the food with gabapentin mixed in (she normally will eat it) but I will try my food enticement tricks later when I'm on my lunch break. Hopefully I can get her to take it this way. Her mouth is sensitive and I don't want to have to give the liquid with a medicine syringe if I don't have to.
 
It's great that she's eating. Hope her mouth settles down soon and isn't painful for much longer!

The token dose does reset the cycle count, so you want to give it 8-10 cycles after that token dose to re-evaluate the dose.
 
It's great that she's eating. Hope her mouth settles down soon and isn't painful for much longer!

The token dose does reset the cycle count, so you want to give it 8-10 cycles after that token dose to re-evaluate the dose.

Thanks! She is eating a bit less this evening so I would be hesitant to increase right now anyway. We tried giving the gabapentin in her food this evening (she didn't eat the food earlier so I wanted to try again when she was hungry) and she tasted it right away and refused to eat anymore. I tried several tricks to get her to take the gabapentin in food but nothing worked.

I think on top of being uncomfortable, she's also a little leery to trust food we put in front of her now. I'm sure she'll bounce back from it once she's hungry enough though. Unfortunately that means we have to give her the gabapentin with the medicine syringe which I hate doing normally and I especially hate knowing that her mouth is hurting. I feel so bad having to mess with her mouth to get the syringe in there and of course her mouth foamed up dramatically once the medicine went in. I wish we could have planned ahead and asked for them to have it compounded in another form for us but by the time we could get that shipped in, she'd probably be through the worst of her pain and we might as well save our money and just get used to giving it via syringe.

I know that these extractions were more invasive than the ones she had in April but I am surprised and a little scared that she's still in pain despite having the Zorbium (transdermal buprenorphine) in her system and getting Onsior every morning. I didn't expect her to need the gabapentin until the Zorbium wore off which isn't supposed to happen until day 4. Maybe she metabolized it faster than usual though. I really really hope she feels better soon. I feel so bad that she's in pain. :(
 
Back
Top