6/27 Scully PMPS 144, +2 100, +3 49, +3.5 52, +4 67, +5 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Last night's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120876

Scully is repeating yesterday's action with a high AMPS of 375. Bouncy girl! I'm going to shoot through the bounce and give 1 unit this morning, then reduce to .75 unit for tonight's dose. Also for the second morning in a row, she woke us up about a half hour before her test/feed/shoot routine by spitting up two small spots of clear, foamy spit. This has become a regular occurance a few times a week over the past month. I thought it was because she was hungry, but there's usually still food in her bowl from overnight. The incidence always occurs in the early morning hours, she always spits up two spots and they are always clear/foamy spit. Weird. Her appetite has also decreased a bit over the last week. She still eats when presented with her food, but does not eat as much. She used to eat almost a full can or at least 3/4 can at shot time, but recently she barely eats about half. She is still eating throughout the day though. Perhaps the recent lower numbers have contributed to the drop in her appetite?

I'm off work for the next 3 days (yay!), so I will finally be able to get some mid-cycle checks during the day. Hope everyone has a great day! Healing vines to all kitties in need!
 
Re: 6/27 Scully AMPS 375, +8 151

Scully seems to have already cleared her bounce and is gearing up for 3 nights in a row of low numbers. We will definitely reduce to .75 unit for her PM shot and hopefully she'll surf green without dropping too low. I honestly don't know what has changed, but since Sunday night she has been working the juice like nobody's business! Her beans are definitely sleep-deprived this week! Thank goodness the weekend is here! I will have a whole new appreciation for "cat naps!"
 
Re: 6/27 Scully AMPS 375, +8 151

Nice bounce clearing cycle today. :-D I hope Scully takes some sympathy on her beans tonight. :roll:

As cats get better regulated, their cells are able to take in the nutrients from their food and they aren't as "starving" as when they are unregulated. I don't know how often you are weighing Scully, but you might want to track her every couple of weeks to make sure you are giving her a good amount of food.

My civie gives me spit up presents in the early mornings too. Even more so when he's working on a hairball.
 
Re: 6/27 Scully AMPS 375, +8 151

When was the last time you had her bloodwork done to check her kidneys? Clear, foamy spit is usually a sign of tummy acid. This "can" be, but is not always, a symptom of chronic kidney disease. And with CKD it often occurs early in the morning because the kitty hasn't eaten overnight. It can also just be the kitty, like Wendy's Theo, but if it's something that is just developing and you haven't had her blood checked in a bit, I'd do it.

Glad to see Scully (who is very adorable) clearing her bounces so quickly. Looks like she enjoys nighttime :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/27 Scully AMPS 375, +8 151 PMPS 144

Wendy and Marje, thanks for the information and recommendations. Scully has never been checked for CKD, so I will schedule an appointment to get that done. In fact, I'm embarrassed to admit this, but other than checking for pancreatitis (negative), Scully hasn't had any other bloodwork or tests done. Are there any other tests we should have performed?

She seems to be maintaining her weight, but she hasn't been weighed since her last vet visit at the beginning of April. She does eat overnight as we always leave food out, and usually in the morning at least half or more of the food is gone. However, because we have two cats (Scully's brother, Mulder), it is impossible for us to know how much each one is eating without isolating them. They each have their own bowl that they usually eat out of, but sometimes they switch, so it's tough to tell who's eating what.
 
Re: 6/27 Scully AMPS 375, +8 151 PMPS 144

Nice start tonight. Paws crossed for a low blue or high green surf.

I'd get a basic geri panel blood work done. That will show the kidney values and also includes a T4 for hyperthyroid. It's good to have a base line to see if there are any changes. I found when Neko became better regulated she started gaining weight, so I'm having to be a bit more careful on portion sizes now. But she's a hoover, not a grazer.
 
Re: 6/27 Scully AMPS 375, +8 151 PMPS 144

Nice pmps, Scully.

My Spot sometimes will do the white foamy spit up too. Good thing to get the blood checked and get his kidney values. Spot was dx'd with the beginning of CKD and I have been giving him lower phos foods and adding Methyl B-12 to his food. He has had two rechecks since the change and his values have come down. He is by no means out of he woods, but his BUN is now down to 37 and his creatin levels are in the normal range. That makes me happy
 
Re: 6/27 Scully PMPS 144, +2 100

So far so good with 100 at +2.

Scully is already getting Methyl B-12 twice a day for her neuropathy. I assume the Fancy Feast Classic line is not a low phosphorous food? We changed to FF when Scully was diagnosed in March. I may be getting ahead here, but if we have to switch food, what is a good low phosphorous low carb brand?

Thanks for the info on the blood tests. I'll call tomorrow morning and hopefully get that scheduled some time this coming week.
 
Re: 6/27 Scully PMPS 144, +2 100

You are correct that the FF is not low phos. Dr. Lisa's chart does list the phos beside each fud. Ann has a separate tab on Tess's SS that lists low phos and low carb fuds.
 
Re: 6/27 Scully PMPS 144, +2 100, +3 49

OK, I'll check that out if we need to switch.

And Scully's at it again. Fed about 1 1/2 teaspoons of FF Gravy Lovers Beef to try to keep her from going any lower. Will test again in 20 minutes.
 
Re: 6/27 Scully PMPS 144, +2 100, +3 49, +3.5 52

BG slowly on the rise. 52 at +3.5. Fed another teaspoon of FF Gravy Lovers Beef. She licked all the gravy off and left the meat. Hopefully she will continue a slow rise and surf green.

DH and I are going to a wedding tomorrow night. The plan was to have my mom come over at the normal time to feed Scully (& Mulder) and give her her injection. After the past 3 nights of low numbers, I've decided that unfortunately we're going to skip her shot all together. I can't risk a hypo event, and so far every night we've had to feed her high carb food to keep her BG up. We'll just have to deal with the high numbers in the morning.
 
Re: 6/27 Scully PMPS 144, +2 100, +3 49, +3.5 52

I think today's lesson is that shooting through the bounce is a thing of the past for Scully. She's just clearing those bounces too fast - that's a good thing. :mrgreen:

Skipping the shot might also help drain the larger depot some, so not entirely a bad thing. Gotta get out and have fun sometime.
 
Re: 6/27 Scully PMPS 144, +2 100, +3 49, +3.5 52

Tara

Have you considered shooting on an 18 hour schedule so you can go to the wedding. For instance, if you normally shoot at 7/7, then tomorrow morning, you wouldn't shoot at 7. You'd shoot at 1pm. Then the next shot would be at 7 a.m. on Sunday to put you back on schedule. Of course, she could still come down tomorrow after you shoot at 1 PM but her nadir would roughly be at 7 PM. Or you can skip :-D

As Wendy said, I'd ask for the Geriactric panel but be sure it includes a superchem, t4, and CBC.
 
Re: 6/27 Scully PMPS 144, +2 100, +3 49, +3.5 52, +4 67

BG still rising. 67 at +4.

I think if I shot an 18 hour schedule, I'd still be too scared to leave her. I have never skipped a shot before, but Scully has never had low numbers like this EVERY night. Could something else be going on? This gives me even more reason to get her bloodwork checked. If this continues, we'll have to reduce the dose again already. Plus I like the idea of draining the depot a bit. If she continues her trend of the past few days, do you think she'll continue to drop past her PMPS/+12 shot time? We are leaving around +11 of the AM cycle.
 
Re: 6/27 Scully PMPS 144, +2 100, +3 49, +3.5 52, +4 67, +5

It's not possible to predict what she might do. We can study patterns but they often change. If you can't do an 18/18 schedule, I'd skip.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top