6/27 Samwise 507 +12 438

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 507 .75u Gotta be a bounce.

Back at work so I won't be able to get any +6 #'s. I'll try for lunch time if not then I'll grab one at night. DH out of ICU!!! flip_cat

pmps 438 .75u
 
Re: 6/27 Samwise 507

I'm very glad to hear your DH is out of the ICU. You (and he) must be very relieved.

I'm going to say this one last time and then I'm not going to bring this up again because I am really, really tired of making this request and it's very hard for me to look at your cat's SS. I'm also going to be rather forceful in my choice of words. Not testing at night regardless of the PMPS is dangerous. Not testing at night when you are seeing green and low blue PMPS numbers is tremendously dangerous if not foolhardy. You are putting Samwise at incredible risk for hypoglycemia. The fact that you are seeing AMPS numbers above 300 is indeed, very likely indicative of a bounce. The problem is that you don't know if it's a bounce from a 60 or a bounce from a 26 or a 16. I cannot implore you enough -- please, please, PLEASE get PM spot checks if for no other reason than for the safety of your cat.
 
Re: 6/27 Samwise 507

oh dear, hi Sue,
glad to hear your dh is out of icu, that's good news.

I have to ditto with Sienne.
I've been following your ss, and hoping to see at least one check after pmps.
those evening checks will really help see what's happening.



do u know if Samwise has access to (edit)his low carb a higher carb food when he's gone out for the night?
does he have a tag or microchip that states he is a diabetic kitty and with your contact info?

I hope things are going well with your own recovery!
 
Re: 6/27 Samwise 507

Hey Sue,
I never post in this forum about dosing...god forbid...but I would just like to say that like most of us that make the switch from pzi it is very hard not to react to a number by increasing or decreasing your dose. I looked at you SS. Hard as it is to imagine...and strange as it seems, unless you go below what this protocol's number for reduction is...you still shoot your dose. If you are unsure about the number still coming down or going up..better to wait and test in an hour or so. They call that stalling.
Please don't feel alone, most of us can't swallow the idea of shooting the amps of say, 360 the same dose as the pmps of, say, 120...but this is the way this insulin works.
Check out Tom's sheet if you like.
It is a crazy transition in thinking...but it is true.
Love Ya,
Lori
 
Re: 6/27 Samwise 507

Hi Sue, just dropped by to check in & see how you are doing. That is AWESOME DH is out of the ICU, wow it has been a while since I checked in, so I can only imagine what the past few weeks have been like. I hope you are recovering well too!

I don't know anything about Lantus, but I am really psyched that Sammy's dose is so much lower than it was on PZI, and looks like it is going even lower, yay!!!! It is just so wonderful to see the progress.

Tough love over here, eh? ;-) I know everyone cares about you & Samwise though and whatever they are saying comes from experience with the insulin, and knowing what works & doesn't work. I am sure it is really confusing too when you knew what his response was on PZI and had gotten through that learning curve, and now it's a different ball-game. I'm sure you will get it all figured out though, and his #s are really proving that it was a good move!

Especially with all that's been going on with you lately, I am sure it is hard to think straight and make decisions on the spot. If I were in your shoes, I would just post the PSs and let someone tell me what to shoot. Makes life easier to let someone else do the deciding. :mrgreen:

Anyhow, hugs & healing to everyone at your house! :YMHUG:

[edited for typos]
 
Re: 6/27 Samwise 507

lori and tom said:
Hard as it is to imagine...and strange as it seems, unless you go below what this protocol's number for reduction is...you still shoot your dose. If you are unsure about the number still coming down or going up..better to wait and test in an hour or so. They call that stalling.
Please don't feel alone, most of us can't swallow the idea of shooting the amps of say, 360 the same dose as the pmps of, say, 120...but this is the way this insulin works.

this is true, IF the caregiver has data and if they plan to test during the cycle when they shot low. Without those "IFs," then no, I would not shoot low.

I know you have a lot going on right now, but I have to agree with Sienne that you could be putting Sammy at risk. I know you don't mean to do that - you have worked hard to get him here. Maybe you need to give yourself a break and reduce his insulin dose for a while. What you can't afford to be doing is shooting low numbers and not testing afterwards.

I see that Sammy has hit 40s before and not bounced at all, so the 507 this morning is very concerning and could mean that he was much, much lower than 40s. Do you understand what we're saying? FYI, the fact that he did go to 40s without bouncing means that his pancreas is probably on the job at least part time, so that makes testing even more important. If the pancreas is sputtering, you never know when it might decide to show up for work.

Don't forget that unlike PZI, Lantus has a shed. I can see that you have reduced the dose slightly when you have shot low preshot numbers. Unfortunately, with Lantus that has almost no effect on that cycle. There is always shed action from the cycle before, so when you shot "very skinny" last night, really it was about the same as shooting the usual 0.75 in last night's cycle, and today's daytime cycle might have been when some of the effects of that reduction would show up. Don't count on a reduced dose to save you...

Sorry if this is harsh, but we're concerned about Samwise and can't let it go without saying so.
 
Thank you for all the advice. I will start doing the PM tests. It's hard for me to get them with people coming over to the house at odd hours, Sam runs outside and hides. But, no excuses, I promise to at least get one test in before bed. I am still not sure of this insulin, it's so different from the Pzi. I'd hate to put Sammy into hypo, that terrifies me. I had forgotten about the shed too. I need to read the stickies again and print them out and put them in the bathroom where I can access them before a shot.

Sam does have access to a high carb food at night. He wakes me @ around 5 for a meal too. He also has a diabetic tag on his collar with our #. We live out in the country and really have no close neighbors, everyone works in the day but my BIL. He keeps an eye out for cats.

HI Lori!!!! and Joanna!
 
Sue the mental transition is a little mind bending at first, I know Hon. We shoot the number period. Different shots for different numbers. The very idea of shooting the same dose is VERY hard for us. Know that you are not alone having a hard time with the transition.
There should be a special sweet spot in the responses for peeps who were long time pzi users making this transition.
Believe me, lantus/levemir breaks EVERY rule pzi lives by.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top