Re: 6/27 Samwise 507
lori and tom said:
Hard as it is to imagine...and strange as it seems, unless you go below what this protocol's number for reduction is...you still shoot your dose. If you are unsure about the number still coming down or going up..better to wait and test in an hour or so. They call that stalling.
Please don't feel alone, most of us can't swallow the idea of shooting the amps of say, 360 the same dose as the pmps of, say, 120...but this is the way this insulin works.
this is true, IF the caregiver has data and if they plan to test during the cycle when they shot low. Without those "IFs," then no, I would not shoot low.
I know you have a lot going on right now, but I have to agree with Sienne that you could be putting Sammy at risk. I know you don't mean to do that - you have worked hard to get him here. Maybe you need to give yourself a break and reduce his insulin dose for a while. What you can't afford to be doing is shooting low numbers and not testing afterwards.
I see that Sammy has hit 40s before and not bounced at all, so the 507 this morning is
very concerning and could mean that he was much, much lower than 40s. Do you understand what we're saying? FYI, the fact that he did go to 40s without bouncing means that his pancreas is probably on the job at least part time, so that makes testing even more important. If the pancreas is sputtering, you never know when it might decide to show up for work.
Don't forget that unlike PZI, Lantus has a shed. I can see that you have reduced the dose slightly when you have shot low preshot numbers. Unfortunately, with Lantus that has almost no effect on that cycle. There is always shed action from the cycle before, so when you shot "very skinny" last night, really it was about the same as shooting the usual 0.75 in last night's cycle, and today's daytime cycle might have been when some of the effects of that reduction would show up. Don't count on a reduced dose to save you...
Sorry if this is harsh, but we're concerned about Samwise and can't let it go without saying so.