6/27 Nikki AMPS 207; PMPS 335; +2 307

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexis & Nikki (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Better start today. Still not sure what's going on with her. It's possible she's going low and I'm not catching it I guess. Still on the fence on increasing to 1.25. Haven't caught a blue since her last day on the 1.5...

Beginning to suspect she has a late nadir. May have to try and get more between +7 and +11 to see if I can figure this out...
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207

You can always post on TR forum to get more eyes to come over to see what is going on.
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207

I've been thinking about it. Now that we have the food sitch under control it might be time. Are they willing to advise on SLGS? And with my limited testing schedule?
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207

Are they willing to advise on SLGS? And with my limited testing schedule?
Most definitely.

There are actually several people on TR that are using the SLGS protocol. As long as that is in your signature, the experienced people will realize when the number drops below 90 that it's time for a reduction. And other differences between the 2 protocols.

Let them know your schedule of when you would be around and if needed, they can suggest more tests to try to fit around that schedule.

I know the dose was dropped partially because of the food switch to the lower carb. We aren't seeing blues, only those pinks and yellows. I was really hoping to see more of a difference with the food switch.

I think it's time for an increase, either to 1.25 or maybe even 1.5U. But not sure so I'll PM Sienne and Marje and have them come over to "relaxed" to take a look.
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207

I was expecting a better result too. :YMSIGH: I'm going away for a few days next week, but when I get back I'm going to consider trying to switch to a low carb canned or frozen raw. It's been difficult finding a frozen raw that they actually sell in a local store, as shipping costs a fortune and since I'm not home during the day, my deliveries sometimes don't get left. :?

I was worried she'd dropped below 90 on that 1.5 dose with the food change, so for safety I dropped it to 1u. In this case, I think it's safe to increase sooner rather than waiting a week? I'm fairly confident I'm not missing a low that she's bouncing off. I was going to give 1.25 this morning but the low yellow convinced me to hold off until tonight when I can monitor. Unless anyone thinks I'm missing a low somewhere, I'd like to get her back on 1.25 tonight....

Thanks for the input, I always want to check that I'm not missing something I should be considering! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207

I sent a PM to Sienne and Marje and asked them to come over. I did alert them to the fact that you will be gone for a bit starting 7/3. Also told them of your recent switch from the Z/d to the raw and explained that was part of the reason for the lowered 1U dose. Expect advice from them sometime today. They have always been good about popping over to check on someone whenever I have asked.

Don't raise the dose until you get a consensus.
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207

On a side note, I may have created a monster by getting up at 3:30 am to test. The girls were WILD this morning when I woke up the 2nd time. :razz: It's still such a new phenomenon that they are (mostly) getting along, so it cracks me up when they start galloping around my apartment. I swear Nikki runs on 3 legs and uses the other to keep swatting Dee in the butt as she runs away. :lol: They crack me up. :-D And Dee is still in the bunny kicking her toys phase which is adorable. I love her!
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207

This morning it was mostly me pulling the pillow over my head at 6:15 but I'll have to get more video! :-D And I'll definitely create a profile. In the meantime, I did catch this vid about 6 weeks ago, when I was just getting them introduced (for the 2nd, more successful time! :roll: ).
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207

No smartphone so I can't use the Vine app to play the video. I did get to see the first picture with someone barely peaking around the door. I'll be waiting for your profile so I can see more pics of your sweeties some time.
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207

Oh bummer. It plays on my browser, but I know other people had problems with it. I'll definitely get some pics in a profile!
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207; PMPS 335

Up in the pinks again, so I went with 1.25. It's only a fat drop more than the fat 1u I was giving and I'm home to keep an eye on her tonight. Unless I hear otherwise from Marje or Sienne, going to get a +4 and +7 or 8 tonight. Or a +2 if that's the better number. I'm open to anything up to +4 and then another sometime later in the cycle. :-D

I think the 1.25 might do the trick as I was getting nice numbers on the 1.5 right before I went to all lower carb food. Fingers crossed!
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207; PMPS 335

I've seen them say that on the TR board. :-D I get a +2 every other night or so. Even with food/treats, Nikki is not the biggest fan of being tested, so I'm going for 4-5 tests a day and have to make them count! :-D I want to save up my tests for when she goes low on me cause I know I'll need them then! :lol:
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207; PMPS 335

That's fine. Do the tests when you think you need them. It's how we all learn.
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207; PMPS 335

Have you ever watched Game of Thrones? There's a character who always tells another character "You know nothing Jon Snow!" That's how I feel. :lol: I still have a lot to learn! :-D
 
Re: 6/27 Nikki AMPS 207; PMPS 335

I don't watch TV. Read the first 4 books though. Waited years between volumes. George R.R. Martin is a slow writer.

Do you ever have time to follow any websites? There is one, Love and Hisses, about a couple mom Robin and her husband Fred, fosters to multiple batches of kittens. The last 2 batches all have Game of Thrones names. http://www.love-and-hisses.com/

You do know something. To list only a few. You know how to home test. You know that Nikki is doing well on her new food. You know that below 90 and you get a dose reduction. You know that you have come a long way in the time you have been her. You know a ton of stuff and could probably post over on the Health forum and let them know how scared you were when you started. You know that you have to go to work tomorrow! ohmygod_smile

But best of all, you know that Nikki loves you. Even when you are poking her ear, she may not like it but knows it makes her feel better.
 
The books do take FOREVER. It's also taking me forever to read book 4. I just can't get into it. :-| I like the show though.

And thanks. It's great to look back a month and see how far my testing technique has come! :-D
 
Alexis

Deb asked Sienne and me to stop by. Sorry it took so long. I'm not usually on during the day much and Sienne works.

As an observation, you aren't following the SLGS approach. While the dose increases are neither SLGS nor TR because they are in smaller increments than either stipulates, the time you are holding the doses looks more like TR.....but not alot of consistency in doses.

Under the SLGS Approach, you would hold the dose 1-2 weeks and then curve it. If the nadirs are above 150, increase the dose by .5u. If the nadirs are below 90, decrease by .5u. If nadirs are 90-150, hold the dose. So you're actually pretty far off the SLGS Approach.

I can understand, given your schedule, your concern for making increases in .25u increments because you don't have the ability to catch those a.m. spot checks during the week. You could get a +1 every week day if you shoot at 6:45 a.m. and leave at 7:45 a.m. The basic info we would get from that is whether she gets a food spike. You might see some days when she starts down early. Important info, yes, but, as you've read, the +2 gives us more info as to how the cycle could potentially play out.

You are doing a great job of weekend and night spot checks. Can I say that Nikki is not coming down during the day? No, I can't. But she doesn't look to me like she is coming down too low.

What I might suggest to you is that you do necessary dose increases on Friday mornings or evenings. So far, it doesn't look like she responds the first cycle of a dose increase. You can work on spot checks on the weekends to see how the dose works. The other important fact about Lantus is that one dose builds upon the preceding. You need to be taking Into account what she did in the last 3-6 preceding cycled.

I would encourage you to post inTR. there are alot more (number of) experienced eyes to help you.

I'm glad you increased the dose. Please let us know how we can help.
 
Hi Marje! Thanks so much for stopping by last night, you gave me a lot to think about. I think part of the problem is that I prefer TR to SLGS in some ways, but because I can't get mid-day tests during the week, I feel like it isn't an option for me. I think the .5 increases that SLGS suggest might mean skipping past an optimal dose. That being said, since I'm not home during the day, I wouldn't want her to be below about 70 or so at nadir, since I'm not home to steer.

Increasing on Fridays is a great idea, especially while it's summer. I'm home by 4:30 most Fridays in the summer so I can get that elusive +10 to add to my data collection. :-D Of course, my going away for a few days of vacation next week is screwing up my data collecting. :? I know one of the stickies had said that people not following TR should post here, but if it's ok to join the fun in TR I would definitely do that. I'm thinking that waiting until I'm back from vacay is probably best?

Question, since I put her up to 1.25 a bit earlier than the new plan (Friday increase), I would normally wait to see how she did with the dose over the weekend before increasing again the following Friday, correct? In this case, since I'm away next Friday, should I just hold that dose until I get back? I taught her sitters how to home test, although whether Nikki will co-operate is another story. :roll: I was planning on having them shoot 1u as long as she was above 200 at pre-shot. Since she seems to be running higher on that, if the 1.25 gives me good numbers over the weekend, is it reasonably safe to have them give her 1.25? I can mark the syringes for them to draw that amount.

Thanks again!
 
You're welcome, Alexis :-D

Any lantus/levemir user is welcome to join TR. it's a very populated group and there are tons of members around for support and help. We won't turn any L user away.

I actually think you CAN do TR but only if you are comfortable with it. You are doing great testing at night; any time during the week that you can catch out the door, in the door tests around work, that's great. It's info for us to help you.

The TR protocol is a guideline to help caregivers get their cats into tight regulation, and hopefully, remission as soon as possible. But it doesn't mean that there is no flexibility. I think you can give increases per the protocol but if you don't want her to nadir at less than 70, when the increases you give get her to that number, then stop giving them. If she starts going below 70, lower the dose.

Holding the doses for a week and then increasing on the weekend is more SLGS than TR. So think about which you would rather do. If you decide TR, then when she is above 200 for six cycles, we will suggest a dose increase. With SLGS, you can wait for those weekly increases. Again, we do have to modify sometimes to fit life, so you might just want to give .25u increases and decreases for w modified SLGS. That seems reasonable to me given your schedule. I would also worry about .5u increases for Gracie if nadirs were less than 300.

I'd shoot 1.25u this week and see how she does. Sienne always backs the dose down when she has to travel and if Nikki starts to respond well to 1.25u, you might just want to back it down to 1u while you are gone. If she doesn't do much, you could leave it since you will just be gone a few days. I'd reassess the dose a little closer to travel time.

Also, if you post in TR, you can put that question out for us. If you want to stay in RL, just PM Sienne, Dyana, Wendy/Neko, Jill, Libby, or me when you need help and ask us to visit your condo to answer a question. The first three ladies and I are typically on every single day; I know Jill and Libby do check their PMs but not sure about their schedules due to their jobs.

I will check back later to see if you have any other questions.
 
Thank you so much! :-D It's been really hard adjusting to this whole getting up at night thing (as evidenced by my sleeping through/turning off my alarm last night :lol: ) but it seems that we've just settled into the new routine now and it's getting easier. I'm finishing up Nikki's profile tonight and will post an intro over on TR tomorrow. It would be good to get more experienced eyes on us I think, especially since I'm trying to be cautious yet aggressive at the same time. And since next week is my first time leaving Nikki, I'll need the hand holding I think! :lol:

ETA: I'm also thinking about transitioning her (again) to an even lower carb food. Probably a raw, but I'll need to find somewhere local to me that sells one as the shipping issues with it are probably not worth coping with. Seeing that her numbers haven't really come down all THAT much with her carb reduction, I suspect that she's super carb sensitive.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top