6/27 meter question from binks' vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

mybuddybinks

Member Since 2010
hey guys...

can you clarify the difference between the human meters and the Alphatrak for Mandy Moorevet?

her question is:
if the Alphatrak tests higher...say 110 alphatrak, 80 relion...
does that mean the cat's actual BG is 80?

she has some new lantus patients ...has referred them here...
but i did not want to give her incorrect info.

thanks in advance...

celi
 
Hi Celi, I use the AlphaTrak meter, and it tests higher than the human meter. I sometimes use the Relion as my back-up meter to make sure the ATrak is correct. Here's a quote from the Centre of Companion Health, U. of Queensland protocol:

NB. It is very important to note that blood glucose concentrations measured using a whole blood
glucose meter calibrated for human blood may measure 30-40% lower in the low end of the range than
glucose concentrations measured using a serum chemistry analyser or a plasma-equivalent meter calibrated
for feline use. Therefore, if using a meter calibrated for feline use (eg. AlphaTRAK, Abbott
Laboratories, CA, USA), or a serum chemistry analyzer, add approximately 30 mg/dL (1.7 mmol/L)
to the target glucose concentrations (see Table 3B). For example, a target > 50 mg/dL (2.8
mmol/L) becomes > 80 mg/dL (4.4 mmo/L) when using a meter calibrated for feline use. Instead of
aiming for 50-100mg/dL (2.8-5.6 mmol/L) , aim for 80-130 mg/dL (4.4-7.2 mmol/L [round numbers
4.5-7.0 mmol/L). Meters calibrated for feline use may read higher or lower than the actual value, in
contrast to consistently lower readings for meters validated for human blood.
NB Mean

Here's the link, too:
http://felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_20 ... otocol.pdf
 
The issue is one of calibration. The AT and a serum chemistry analyzer are calibrated differently since one tests plasma serum and the other tests whole blood. It's not a matter of which is "right." It's not unlike testing temperature using Fahrenheit vs. Celsius. You get a different number but they are really the same -- the calibration is different.
 
Oh please don't let your wonderful vet sell the new Lantus users the Alpha-Trak meter especially if they are coming here. It is so much easier if everyone just used the same meter.....we should put that in another sticky. :lol:

Edited to add: I am just kidding......everyone please use whatever meter you prefer....AT or any other one that works for you.
 
Hi Celi, it's not always a 25-30 point variance with my AlphaTrak and Relion meter. Sometimes I get as high as a 45 points difference between the two. I could do a few tests with the two meters tomorrow and show you the differences between the two. I can use the same drop so no worry about Missy Manxy getting too many pokeys! :lol: Strips are so much cheaper using the Relion. Hey, that's cool that your Vet has referred her clients here. Almost everyone here uses the human meters, and strips are so much cheaper. I'm the only strange one here! ha, ha
 
i believe that she is going to point them to the human meters...

she has visited the site i think fairly often and is really positive about the FDMB...

has already given them the link to hook up with lantus land...

We love our vet...she's very very intent on getting the best info and care for her patients!

she may look 14...but she acts our age :lol:
 
Hello, I just joined recently and am still working hard to get Zener regulated. I too am a strange one using the Alpha Trak, recommended by my vet. I plan to get a human meter as a back-up and was thinking about testing with both to look at the differences. Glad I was looking around on the message board and read about your testing with both meters.

I see lots of different human meters being used on the message board, and wondered if they are all about the same?

Nice to know I'm not the only strange meter maid around here.
dancing_cat
 
.
The issue is one of calibration. The AT and a serum chemistry analyzer are calibrated differently since one tests plasma serum and the other tests whole blood. It's not a matter of which is "right." It's not unlike testing temperature using Fahrenheit vs. Celsius. You get a different number but they are really the same -- the calibration is different

Sienne, that's why I added the quote from the Queensland.
 
It's times like these I wish I had done better at math in school, thank goodness for everyone here who is so very good at explaining things to assist with my numerical challenges. That's great your vet is so interested and supportive!
 
Further complicating things is the 20% variance that the FDA allows for a given meter. So, any given number isn't really a number, but rather, a range for any given meter, human or animal.

So, a 100 is really a number between 80 and 120. If that is your Alphatrak range, then you add in the human meter variance, knowing that the human meter has its own 20% variance... well, it won't always be right at 30 points. Especially if you're dealing with higher numbers!!

I've personally found that my Advocate Redi-code runs generally runs much higher than the Relion meter. If a number really is one that matters, I will test with both meters because if both are correct, because one tends to run at the higher end of the range and the other at the low end, the overlap of each range is pretty small and allows me to better pinpoint whether Willie is safe. I'm using the Relion now, but pulled out the Advocate tonight when we got that 38... the Advocate was showing 43. The Relion range was 31-45, the Advocate range was 34 to 52. so, Willie's actual range was 34 to 45.

In that moment, it didn't matter which meter was "correct." What mattered was that both were telling me that Willie's numbers were too low and they needed to come up. The important thing is to get a meter, follow a protocol that takes its variance into account, and be consistent.
 
Thanks for the explanation Christie! Sometimes when I see numbers, I just get all glassy eyed - maybe numbers make me hypo! I will most likely get the Walgreen's glucometer as my back up meter because there is a 24 hour one near where I live. Thanks again! :YMHUG:
 
Miriam and Putty said:
Oh please don't let your wonderful vet sell the new Lantus users the Alpha-Trak meter especially if they are coming here. It is so much easier if everyone just used the same meter.....we should put that in another sticky. :lol:

It has come to my attention that I may have made some people feel bad about using the AT. First I am sorry if I offended anyone.....it was not my intention...just my humor which I am sure does not come across as humor to those that do not really know me or for those that are new.
I have no problem with anyone using the AT.....other than the fact I have to subtract numbers and math is not my strong suit. :-D

So those using that meter please do not feel that you should stop using it or that it is bothersome for those helping.

My only issue with the meter is that the meter and strips are a little more costly than a human meter and I believe you have to buy the strips from your vet which may be inconvenient at times.....other than that the meter is fine.
 
Miriam and Putty said:
Miriam and Putty said:
Oh please don't let your wonderful vet sell the new Lantus users the Alpha-Trak meter especially if they are coming here. It is so much easier if everyone just used the same meter.....we should put that in another sticky. :lol:

It has come to my attention that I may have made some people feel bad about using the AT. First I am sorry if I offended anyone.....it was not my intention...just my humor which I am sure does not come across as humor to those that do not really know me or for those that are new.
I have no problem with anyone using the AT.....other than the fact I have to subtract numbers and math is not my strong suit. :-D

So those using that meter please do not feel that you should stop using it or that it is bothersome for those helping.

My only issue with the meter is that the meter and strips are a little more costly than a human meter and I believe you have to buy the strips from your vet which may be inconvenient at times.....other than that the meter is fine.

No worries! I understand completely how difficult it must be for everyone who is helping those of us, like me, when we are all using different things. I am very math impaired too so I can appreciate how challenging it is! Love humor, especially in these stressful times while being so new to getting all this sorted out. Please keep up the great work and help!!!! And I love the stickies, the more the better!
 
No worries here either. I can appreciate it gets confusing at times. That's why once in a while I pull out my Relion back-up and compare, to kind of see the difference between the two, especially if I get a very high or very low number, just to see if my main meter is on track.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top