6/27 Merlin AMPS 399,+2/317,+5/262,+10/333 PMPS 397,+3/291

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Very Active Member
Yesterday

6/27
AMPS 399; .6u
+3 - 317
+5 - 262 **Update
+10 - 333 ** Update

I went to bed at 10pm so I got a +4 last night and he was at 307. I am surprised he was at 399 this am. i was totally expecting in the 500's! I will try to get a couple of different tests in today like a +2, +5 & +10. Let me know if I should try different testing times today. Have a great Friday!
 
Re: 6/27 Merlin AMPS 399

I'm thinking that the rather flat cycle last night may have been a bounce. Hopefully AMPS is a high before a break and he shows you what he can do on this dose. I think your tests times will give you a nice picture as to what happens with the cycle today.

Come on Merlin! How about you prove us right about needing less insulin! :-D
 
Re: 6/27 Merlin AMPS 399,+2/317,+5/262,+10/333 PMPS 397

6/27
AMPS 399; .6u
+3 - 317
+5 - 262
+10 - 333
PMPS 397; .6u

Pretty high day. I probably should try one more day to see if I get the same results. I hate to keep him up so high. Wasn't successful in getting a ketone test yet. Should I go beyond Saturday with the .6u dose? If not, should I go back to .8u? Or try some fat (inbetween) shots? Even .8u shots didn't get him into the greens. Maybe go .8u and go to the 11/13 schedule. I think that was our next plan of attack. If the .8u and 11/13 schedule doesn't work after say about six cycles, then go to 1u 11/13 schedule? Oh, so many options...

Also, his left leg seems to really unstable. He has arthritis and diabetic neuropathy and walks on his hocks. He was outdoors with me this afternoon and jumped up on a cement block and over into the desert tortoise's pen. Ever since then he doesn't walk more than a few steps before he has to sit down. Will keep an eye out for him.
 
Re: 6/27 Merlin AMPS 399,+2/317,+5/262,+10/333 PMPS 397

Shoot. Sounds like an overall discouraging night, Cindi. Hope his leg is just temporarily sore. I would up the dose tomorrow am if he is still high. Since the .8 didn't do enough and if the .6 doesn't look good, maybe go straight to one unit (if you can monitor)

I'd wait for the 11/13 until you get some cycles that show clearly two different preshots, one definitely lower than the other.
 
Re: 6/27 Merlin AMPS 399,+2/317,+5/262,+10/333 PMPS 397

Hi Cindi -

I'm in agreement with Sue. Looks like Merlin's still in charge here and to my eye, I see an upward trend. I don't see anything bouce-worthy in the past few cycles, so I think the 0.6 isn't going to do it. I'm thinking maybe 0.8 for pre-shots in the 200's and 1 for 300+. I also agree on holding off on a 11/13 schedule. I don't really see any advantage to that at this point in time. I'm thinking that once you go back to the higher dose, and assuming some good nadirs for a few days, maybe start experimenting with food manipulation. I would qualify that by saying since Merlin does like to keep us on our toes, I'd suggest keeping a fairly close eye on him when you do go back up, just to be on the safe side.
 
Re: 6/27 Merlin AMPS 399,+2/317,+5/262,+10/333 PMPS 397,+3/2

6/27
AMPS 399; .6u
+3 - 317
+5 - 262
+10 - 333
PMPS 397; .6u
+3 - 291

Sounds good ... on with the next plan. I like the idea of .8u for 200's and 1u for 300's. Should I give 1.2u for 400's?

I will be able to monitor pretty closely except for this Tuesday in which I will be gone all day. I may have to shoot conservatively on that day. By the way, his leg is doing much better already. Thanks...
 
Re: 6/27 Merlin AMPS 399,+2/317,+5/262,+10/333 PMPS 397,+3/2

Hi Cindi -

Glad to hear his leg is feeling better. Hopefully just a little owie. I don't think I would shoot higher on pre-shots in the 400's. He rarely sticks up in those really high numbers even when he has a pre-shot number in the 400's.

Ok Merlin - the dosecrease threat has officially been made! Time to get busy! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top