6/27 Latte AMPS-514, PMPS~256, +3.25-199, +6~180

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's #'s:
AMPS- HI
+2- 569
+5.5- 320
PMPS- 322
+2.5- 336
+4.5- 307
+6.25- 241
AMPS- 514
yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18264

It took me about 4 hrs to be able to post tear free yesterday a.m., and that was probably because I was at work.

I know when you look at her #'s its seems like a no brainer to increase. But we have to figure the following things in:

1. I decreased her pred last night. She is now back to her original dose of 5mg...what she had been on until mid April when all these high numbers began to surface.

2. She is not eating well. Its been over an hour since her shot and I have only been able to get her to eat a few licks of food. At night, she is only eating about 1 jar of babyfood. She has not been eating overnight. I dont know if this is related to the new a/b (which Im struggling to get all of it in), high numbers, reduction in pred, or infection.

3. Will and when might the a/b start clearing this new infection? How will that affect #'s.

4. I will not be home during the days this week. Days are when she drops lowest. There may be room because she has only hit green once on this dose...and only once the last time I increased..BUT, it only takes one time of going too low ...doesnt it? On the other hand - infection, not eating, and high numbers dont go over too well either. Its kinda like..which way do you wanna k*ll your cat?!?!

5. I think I have been using this cartridge for a month or more now (I have to look). I dont know if Lev needs to be changed every 28 days like lantus. I received more Lev yesterday, but it was not cold. I dont know if it was not cold for a few hours or days. I dont know how it might affect its ability to work. I dont know if I should take the risk and try it, or continue with this cartridge which may or may not have peetered out for the next few weeks while I await some new (cold) insulin. Or maybe I just need to switch back to lantus because thats what I have. maybe the lev is fine and it is this cartridge Im using...maybe once I switch to a new one (assuming its okay) there will be a little 'punch', like opening a new cart of lantus. I dont know. I dont know how lev works.

So these are the variables I need to consider when raising her dose, even a drop.

I cant get the new a/b in her very well. I dont think she is getting all her a/b's and I dont know what else to do about it. So maybe I wont k*ll her from letting her sit too high, or taking her too low. Maybe I will by not being capable of getting a horse pill in her, and letting the infection take over her body.

Im very frustrated, which is also why I did not post more yesterday (aside from computer problems and major thunderstorms). This is all very unfortunate for Latte. She is a super girl, who does not deserve the struggles her body is giving her, and the indecisiveness of her bean to do whatever is suppose to be done.

Sorry.
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514

(((((Carolyn))))) never feel sorry - I really don't know of anyone who could be doing any better for their kitty. Trust your instincts - you know Latte better than anyone, and will make the right choice. it's all any of us can hope for. I understand all too well your level of frustration - it's all so very overwhelming, and so very hard. Was the choice the right one - if only they could tell us. take care - Michelle and mannie
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514

The Lev - call a local pharmacy and ask whether it needs to be cold. Or, if it's in the original box, it should say something about storage parameters. I may be incorrect on this point but I believe the pens were formulated so as to not require refrigeration. It is a big advantage in that it allows diabetic beans to travel more easily. We refrigerate insulin because we don't go through the cartridges as quickly. One of the Lev users can tell you more specifically, but I believe Lev has a longer shelf-life once opened than Lantus. (From Shadow's SS, it looks like it's about 6 weeks.)

There is an interplay between infection/AB and insulin. There is a higher risk of ketones if there's an infection present and not enough insulin, especially if a kitty is not eating well. On the other hand, you may have to back off the insulin quickly as the AB kicks in and the infection is clearing.

Do you know how long it takes Latte to adjust to the reduced dose of pred? If for no other reason, I'd probably hold the dose of insulin constant until you know what the interaction will be with the pred.
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514

As far as the Lev is concerned....I do believe that the only NO-Nos are leaving it in direct sunlight and freezing. I don't remember my pens being "cold" after their trip to FL from Canada. They are much colder to the touch after being in my fridge, but not right when they first arrived. I changed pens at the 6 week mark cause his numbers were high that particular day and I thought it was as good a time as any to try a new pen. Not sure that I want to be setting any records for the longest usage of a Lev pen so I usually dump them at about that time. I don't want to chance pooped out insulin so I don't try to push it too much. I might be loosing time with each pen but well, I just would rather change at around the 6 week mark. Lev does not state expiration in 28 days as Lantus does.

Why not try a new pen and see if it makes a difference. Mark it and keep the other in reserve for a day or two just in case you think the new pen is toast. I doubt that it is though.... I think that the new pen is fine but you may not see a big difference in her numbers from just the new pen. The old doesn't one isn't that old anyway. So, her higher numbers are no doubt from all the other factors. You know Latte so well and since you will be gone during the next AM cycles, maybe sticking to this dose might be the thing to do. The ABs could kick in and start working on the infection and the pred was reduced so that is a big factor too. With the reduction in pred today's numbers might show something of note.

You are doing such a great job Carolyn....you know Latte so well too. Trust your instincts as always. Latte has so many issues that you are trying to juggle...the meds and their interaction with her eating, etc. You are amazing! You are doing great things for Latte and you will make the right decision...I just know you will. Was there any question that this particular AB would work or should you consult with the vet about her numbers? I thought in humans the ABs kick in after the third day or so, no? I wish I could help but all I can do is send cyber HUGS to you two... :YMHUG:
(((((Carolyn & Latte)))))
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514

(((Carolyn)))

I don't know if there is ANYONE who does more for their kitty than you do - so don't you go feeling bad about it. You love Latte like crazy and she knows it. You're going thru a rough patch... try to get as much of the a/b in her as possible... Hopefully her immune system is also battling this infection, so between the 2, things should start to improve. I'm not sure about the antibiotic, but between the a/bs and the infection, it seems not unlikely that her appetite could be affected.

You know the expression "it's always darkest before the dawn"? Well, I'm hoping that that where you are with this - the place where it seems things will never improve... and then they do. It took a good 2 weeks for Kasha to see improvement when we started the Baytril. Even though her culture came back clear of infection for the UTI, the kidney infection was obviously causing her numbers to be high... and the day after we had the culture done and her readings were "HI", we saw greens.
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514

FWIW.... I used my first Lev cartridge for 10 wks, and then another new one 5 wks later "just in case" after an odd yellow blip. Donovan started his OTJ trial 7 wks later, soooo it's hard to say if the Lev had pooped out or not since he was only getting a droplet at that point.

Donny sends his love to Latte, and offered to wash her pretty little head. He says it's like a spa treatment :razz:
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514, +8.5~138

I came home for lunch and no water or food gone, and a 138?!
She is refusing food and only had about 1/2 can before I left @ +4- 392.
I dont know if she is on her way up from lower, surfing, or going down.
Called work to see if I could take an extended lunch, and they told me to stay home and take care of her.

I will test again and try some babyfood @ +9. Im worried about her lack of eating which directly coincides with the first night I gave the amoxicillan. I can try an appy stim around shot time, if need be I guess.
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514, +8.5~138

I'm very sorry Latte isn't eating well today. You know I know how it feels. Thank you for stopping by our condo and helping with Blackie. I hope Latte eats this afternoon and is feeling better soon.
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514, +8.5~138

Hi Carolyn, I can't give you advice on how to deal with Latte's issues or comment on how the various medicines interact. But I know from personal experience that when humans take antibiotics they often don't see any improvement in their infections until the very end of the course of antibiotics. You are doing such a great job with Latte and you love her so much. I think that she will just respond in her own way and in her own good time to the medicines and to her foods. You are there, and that is what is important to Latte. Many hugs to you both,

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514, +8.5~138, +10.75-188

She was not so interested in her baby food, and since she was on her way up
+9.25- 165, I didnt push it being it was at the end of the cycle as well. HOWEVER, if her ps is a little lower than usual, I will push it a bit more AND give an appy stim.
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514, PMPS~256

(((Carolyn))) I wish there were something I could do to help. I am keeping both of you in my prayers. We both have to remind ourselves that sometimes there is no right or wrong decision, just doing the best we can under bad circumstances.
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514, PMPS~256

Passing through yellow on her way up and just happened to hit it at the same time as pmps. Its been about a month since that happened.

She is not likely to eat if she is going up. And, well if for some odd reason she were to start going down she will need the food...so I gave the tiniest amount of cypro. I didnt give too much because I dont want her to gorge and puke. I hope it was enough, tho.

She didnt quite finish the spoon of babyfood with her orbax (first a/b), so did not get it all in tonight. Frustrating. Other nights she would at least eat 1/4 jar or more at shot time. I cant pill her other one until she gets some food in her or Im sure it will make her feel even worse.

I stuck with the same cartridge tonight, since she showed some action today. I could switch it out maybe Tuesday night, if I needed to. Considering today (and not knowing how low she went), I will assess her dose again come Thursday for the holiday weekend.

Thanks Lev users for giving me the info. There are these subtleties that you are unaware of between the two insulins, until you run into a situation like this. I think all the stickies pretty much mesh it with lantus, making them seem the exact same.
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514, PMPS~256

Sending nice slow but good appetite vines
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
to Latte.
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514, PMPS~256

We have been getting storms off an on for several days. We were supposed to have more again today but they didn't materialize.

I do think the ABs can put human or cat off of food and Latte is getting a double dose of ABs.
 
Re: 6/27 Latte AMPS-514, PMPS~256, +3.25-199

She IS eating - 1/2 jar baby food around +1.5, and maybe a total of 1/4 can various wet choices between +2 and +3.

I appreciate the snail pace of her dropping (+2.25- 236). Im not really sure what to expect the rest of the night or tomorrow a.m. Im guessing the bounce is inevitable, but Im also nervous about possibly getting a low ps one of these days when I have to go to work 2 hrs later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top