Tina & Rocky
Member Since 2013
Hi Everyone,
I got back into town late Wednesday night and picked Rocky up from the vet before I came home. The vet ran out and told me that she was glad that she caught me. She told me that Rocky did not eat any of the food that I had brought for him, but that he did eat and would eat all of the canned diabetic food that they sell there.
She also told me that he vomited 2x, and on each occasion they decided to test his BG. She said that both times his BG was 60, (that's with their monitoring tools.) So, on those mornings they did not give him his insulin shot because they said it was too low. One of those days was June 20 and the other day was on June 23. He was getting 2.0u of insulin while at the animal hospital for seven days. She told me that "we" really need to monitor him because he may be going into remission.
I noticed that something was "off" about Rocky when I put him back in the bathroom that night. His nose and ears were extremely hot and he seemed very lethargic. Even though it was a relatively mild temperature night, and the AC only comes on in our house if the temperature goes about 78°F, he seemed like he was cold all over. He was shivering, and had this tremor-like jerky behavior with his head. He made a small cave out of the towels I had given him. I then bundled him up with all sorts of warm, fluffy blankets and he curled up nicely with his head looking about me from upside down. I checked his BG and it was in the 50s and slowly climbing.
Rocky is now breathing ONLY out of his mouth. I don't know if this is a virus or if an infection has spread to his nose and lungs. I am taking him to the vet in about an hour. i may have them do a blood test to learn things about his red blood cells as all three indicators were low in December 2013 when he went DKA. That test automatically suggested that he be tested for Bartonella. I know that Bartonella is hard to detect on a test, and that it is only treatable by taking Doxycycline for many months, not weeks. I have three cats who have all had it at the same time and they also became very flu-like with anemia.
Rocky's BG so far since being home has been pretty good. I reduced his dose last night to 1.75u after he went to 30s yesterday afternoon. His BG just went into the 100s today. I will try to fill out his SS later on tonight when I have some time. It is not too difficult to get him to eat. He seems very happy to have his regular food put in front of him, however, I am getting more and more nervous about giving him his insulin shot because I know that he cannot smell anything of the food I am feeding him. He is just trusting me that it safe for him to eat.
I'll let you know what we learn at the vet as soon as we get home. Oh, and I am taking him to a different vet that is much, much cheaper, but who is also quiet a long distance from my house. The blood tests that are sent out to the lab are usually better but you have to wait a day for results, so we probably won't know much until sometime tomorrow afternoon.
I still need to respond to many people who sent me PM's here about two weeks ago. I apologize for not getting back to you yet but I've been without any internet access since June 19. Thanks for hanging in there with us and will get back to you very soon now.
-Tina and Rocky
I got back into town late Wednesday night and picked Rocky up from the vet before I came home. The vet ran out and told me that she was glad that she caught me. She told me that Rocky did not eat any of the food that I had brought for him, but that he did eat and would eat all of the canned diabetic food that they sell there.
She also told me that he vomited 2x, and on each occasion they decided to test his BG. She said that both times his BG was 60, (that's with their monitoring tools.) So, on those mornings they did not give him his insulin shot because they said it was too low. One of those days was June 20 and the other day was on June 23. He was getting 2.0u of insulin while at the animal hospital for seven days. She told me that "we" really need to monitor him because he may be going into remission.
I noticed that something was "off" about Rocky when I put him back in the bathroom that night. His nose and ears were extremely hot and he seemed very lethargic. Even though it was a relatively mild temperature night, and the AC only comes on in our house if the temperature goes about 78°F, he seemed like he was cold all over. He was shivering, and had this tremor-like jerky behavior with his head. He made a small cave out of the towels I had given him. I then bundled him up with all sorts of warm, fluffy blankets and he curled up nicely with his head looking about me from upside down. I checked his BG and it was in the 50s and slowly climbing.
Rocky is now breathing ONLY out of his mouth. I don't know if this is a virus or if an infection has spread to his nose and lungs. I am taking him to the vet in about an hour. i may have them do a blood test to learn things about his red blood cells as all three indicators were low in December 2013 when he went DKA. That test automatically suggested that he be tested for Bartonella. I know that Bartonella is hard to detect on a test, and that it is only treatable by taking Doxycycline for many months, not weeks. I have three cats who have all had it at the same time and they also became very flu-like with anemia.
Rocky's BG so far since being home has been pretty good. I reduced his dose last night to 1.75u after he went to 30s yesterday afternoon. His BG just went into the 100s today. I will try to fill out his SS later on tonight when I have some time. It is not too difficult to get him to eat. He seems very happy to have his regular food put in front of him, however, I am getting more and more nervous about giving him his insulin shot because I know that he cannot smell anything of the food I am feeding him. He is just trusting me that it safe for him to eat.
I'll let you know what we learn at the vet as soon as we get home. Oh, and I am taking him to a different vet that is much, much cheaper, but who is also quiet a long distance from my house. The blood tests that are sent out to the lab are usually better but you have to wait a day for results, so we probably won't know much until sometime tomorrow afternoon.
I still need to respond to many people who sent me PM's here about two weeks ago. I apologize for not getting back to you yet but I've been without any internet access since June 19. Thanks for hanging in there with us and will get back to you very soon now.
-Tina and Rocky