6/27 I'm home. Rocky is very sick- scary update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Hi Everyone,

I got back into town late Wednesday night and picked Rocky up from the vet before I came home. The vet ran out and told me that she was glad that she caught me. She told me that Rocky did not eat any of the food that I had brought for him, but that he did eat and would eat all of the canned diabetic food that they sell there.

She also told me that he vomited 2x, and on each occasion they decided to test his BG. She said that both times his BG was 60, (that's with their monitoring tools.) So, on those mornings they did not give him his insulin shot because they said it was too low. One of those days was June 20 and the other day was on June 23. He was getting 2.0u of insulin while at the animal hospital for seven days. She told me that "we" really need to monitor him because he may be going into remission.

I noticed that something was "off" about Rocky when I put him back in the bathroom that night. His nose and ears were extremely hot and he seemed very lethargic. Even though it was a relatively mild temperature night, and the AC only comes on in our house if the temperature goes about 78°F, he seemed like he was cold all over. He was shivering, and had this tremor-like jerky behavior with his head. He made a small cave out of the towels I had given him. I then bundled him up with all sorts of warm, fluffy blankets and he curled up nicely with his head looking about me from upside down. I checked his BG and it was in the 50s and slowly climbing.

Rocky is now breathing ONLY out of his mouth. I don't know if this is a virus or if an infection has spread to his nose and lungs. I am taking him to the vet in about an hour. i may have them do a blood test to learn things about his red blood cells as all three indicators were low in December 2013 when he went DKA. That test automatically suggested that he be tested for Bartonella. I know that Bartonella is hard to detect on a test, and that it is only treatable by taking Doxycycline for many months, not weeks. I have three cats who have all had it at the same time and they also became very flu-like with anemia.

Rocky's BG so far since being home has been pretty good. I reduced his dose last night to 1.75u after he went to 30s yesterday afternoon. His BG just went into the 100s today. I will try to fill out his SS later on tonight when I have some time. It is not too difficult to get him to eat. He seems very happy to have his regular food put in front of him, however, I am getting more and more nervous about giving him his insulin shot because I know that he cannot smell anything of the food I am feeding him. He is just trusting me that it safe for him to eat.

I'll let you know what we learn at the vet as soon as we get home. Oh, and I am taking him to a different vet that is much, much cheaper, but who is also quiet a long distance from my house. The blood tests that are sent out to the lab are usually better but you have to wait a day for results, so we probably won't know much until sometime tomorrow afternoon.

I still need to respond to many people who sent me PM's here about two weeks ago. I apologize for not getting back to you yet but I've been without any internet access since June 19. Thanks for hanging in there with us and will get back to you very soon now.

-Tina and Rocky
 
Re: 6/27 I'm home. Rocky is very sick.

(((TIna))) Welcome back, but I'm sorry to hear that Rocky isn't feeling well. It's a good sign that he is eating for you. Mouth breathing is scary. I adopted a shelter kitty that had been mouth breathing after a bad URI and it was touch and go with him. Sending tons of good vetty vines for you and Rocky.
 
Re: 6/27 I'm home. Rocky is very sick.

Welcome back. Poor Rocky just can't catch a break. I sure hope this isn't anything serious.
 
Re: 6/27 I'm home. Rocky is very sick.

Piling on some vines for Rocky. Hope it's something fixable. I bet he's glad to see you.
 
Re: 6/27 I'm home. Rocky is very sick.

Welcome home, Tina. I would definitely not take him to the same vet - sounds like they didn't take very good care of him!

Sending lots of healing vines that you find out what is going on and that it is easily treatable. Hang in there!
 
Re: 6/27 I'm home. Rocky is very sick.

Hi Tina,

I am sorry to hear that Rocky isn't doing well. Sending prayers for a recovery. I am glad he ate for you.
 
Re: 6/27 I'm home. Rocky is very sick.

Tina, thoughts and prayers for you and Rocky. Hope you have a positive report to share with us soon.
 
Re: 6/27 I'm home. Rocky is very sick.

(((Tina)))

Hugs and healing vines coming your way! I haven't posted on Rocky's condo before, but I've been following his journey since pretty much the day you two arrived. :smile: There is no question that Rocky is a fighter, so I just know he'll push through this.
 
Re: 6/27 I'm home. Rocky is very sick.

Welcome home Tena.....I am so sorry to hear that Rocky is not feeling well. I hope your trip to the vet will come up with some answers. Hugs to you and feel better vines to Rocky.
 
Re: 6/27 I'm home. Rocky is very sick.

Sending healing vines to Rocky.

banisteriopsis-caapi-powder-ourinhos-ayahuasca-sacrament---thenua.jpg
 
Re: 6/27 I'm home. Rocky is very sick.

More vines going out for Rocky tonight. I hope this different vet can diagnose what is causing his symptoms. I know how scary this must be for you, Tina.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/27 I'm home. Rocky is very sick- update

Hi everyone,

Thanks for all of the healing vines. We sure need them!! Rocky is doing very poorly tonight. The vet listened to his lungs and heart for quiet a long time. She said that the right lung, as far as she can tell without an x-ray, is probably completely filled with fluid and the left lung is barely any better. He has a slight fever of 102°F. She said the good thing is, at least from listening to his heart, that she does not believe he has a heart murmur.

However, the vet said that she really wanted to do x-rays to confirm pneumonia, and to make sure that it is not in fact heart failure. She said sometimes cats can go into heart failure after being boarded due to severe stress. The x-rays would cost about $300.00.

The vet has prescribed Doxycycline for pneumonia, as well as to treat a possible Mycoplasma Haemofelis (formerly called "Bartonella") infection because of his low red blood cell count and shape in December 2013. He has not had another test for Mycoplasma. It costs about $113.00.

They said at VCA, where I boarded him, that he vomited 2x, and it really makes me wonder if he aspirated during one or both of those episodes. I agree, they did not take good care of my Rocky. I am extremely worried that he really needs to be in an oxygen tent as he continues to breath with his mouth open, and he is coughing.

His BG was 353 tonight at PMPS and I went ahead and gave him his 1.75u shot even though he did not eat. (He ate earlier this morning for me, but has not eaten anything at all since the vet visit.) I do not want him to go DKA as well as have pneumonia. I am going to have to force feed him tonight if his BG drops too low.

I have a few cans of some Tiki Cat fish flavored foods, I don't know which ones, in the pantry. I don't know what percentage carbs they are. I might try feeding him some of that but he is super lethargic, barely moving, and his third eye is up a little bit in both eyes. I don't think I'm going to be able to get him to eat on his own at all.

The vet told me to take him back to VCA Bradshaw if he did not stop breathing out of his mouth a few hours after taking the Doxy. But, can the Doxy really kick in that fast and make him breath through his nose again? :roll: I can't afford for them to look at him, run a bunch of x-rays and tests, and tell me that he has pneumonia. I just wish that the medicine would start working. I have it to him about 3 hours ago.

Rocky was not sick at all before I boarded him. He was happy and healthy, other than the diabetes. I think this was brought on by both the stress of the situation as well as by the AC in the hospital. It is like a refrigerator in there and he was kept in a stainless steel cage.

Praying that he will make a recovery overnight.

Oh, Mycoplasma can be from flea bites. I haven't given him any flea medicine since he's been with me. I am wondering if I should treat him right now, even though he is so sick? :roll:
 
Thank you Anne and Mariko. I just syringe fed Rocky nearly 1/4 can of 9Lives Shrimp and Tuna.. has 3% carbs. Then I closed off the AC vent in his bathroom and bundled him up with even more fluffy, soft blankets. He LOVES sleeping in his 3x3x2 foot cage. The door is ALWAYS open so it's more like his "den" than a cage. He fell fast asleep after I fed him. I have a vaporizer running in there too but it doesn't seem to put out much moist air. I'm going to add a little sea salt to it and see if that will help it create more steam.

Unfortunately, I'm also feeling like I've caught a cold. Weather in Leggett, CA at night was frigidly cold and I was not prepared to sleep outside in it. My sleeping bag was not adequate and I woke up every morning like clockwork at 4am when the temperature plummeted. I could never fall back asleep because I was frozen solid. I had a sinus infection before I left for the retreat and was taking antibiotics. That extreme cold seemed to make the swelling and pain in my sinuses even worse. I'm a sick person helping a sick cat.. :YMSIGH: I think I'm going to have to do another round of antibiotics for myself. :roll:

Well, one thing is for sure, I don't have to worry about Rocky getting too cold in this house. Temperatures outside will climb from 99°F this weekend to 105°F by Monday. Whew! :shock:
 
Hi Tina,

It sucks when leaving them at home with extra food and water, and an occasional pet sitter visit, is not an option. It's just frightening how much damage can be done to our kitties when we're forced to board them. Praying that Rocky is much improved soon.

Continued mega healing vines to Rocky and feel better vines to you too.
 
i'm so sorry you guys are getting hit hard. i don't have any advice to offer, other than i wouldn't treat him for fleas when his system is already fighting something. you could flea comb him, but i wouldn't add stress onto his body right now.

:YMHUG:
 
My only suggestion - By any wild chance, do you have a nebulizer? If you do and can get some albuterol for it (rx from vet for human pharm), rigging a 'breathing tent' isn't hard - carrier or box covered, run hose into carrier/box, put kitty inside and cover as much of door as they will allow. 10-15 minutes inside should help with the mucus...it worked wonders for our severe asthma kitty with severe URI.

HUGS and prayers from here....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top