Anshu and Goose
Member Since 2023
For continuity:
Based on the feedback on our last post, we made the following changes to Goose's care:
We kept him on 0.1U for 6 cycles and his curve looked stable but BG values were high. On 6/25, we increased his insulin to 0.2U. He seemed to bounce the same day, and has been high since.
He has been testing negative for urine ketones (tested daily), has good appetite, and is drinking water. The only issue is diarrhea - it keeps coming back. We tried fortiflora for a few days - didn't help much. Then we gave him canned pumpkin and florastor (1/2 capsule 2x a day for 2 days), but yesterday his diarrhea was the worst. We finally got Metronidazole tablets from the vet and it is a 5-7 day course.
Should we increase his insulin dose if his BG doesn't reduce after 6 cycles on 0.2 U, or would it be better to wait till the diarrhea clears out? Since Goose also has a history of pancreatitis and we've read that high blood glucose can also cause diarrhea - we are not sure what's the best approach here. We do have concerns about seeing the bouncing with increasing insulin.
Thank you for reading this and offering advice! We sincerely appreciate it.
Based on the feedback on our last post, we made the following changes to Goose's care:
- Reduced his test, feed and inject cycle to ~15-20ish minutes. Test for BG, offer food, and inject once he's eaten half his plate.
- Offer him 4 meals: One big meal after AMPS, and a smaller one at noon. In the evening, big meal at 7 PM and small meal around 10 PM, after PMPS +3. (All of them Fancy Feast Classic Chicken - pureed, use churu tube treats to keep him still during BG measurement)
- Moved to TR and are testing 3-4 times during the day and once after the PM shot (PMPS +2/3).
We kept him on 0.1U for 6 cycles and his curve looked stable but BG values were high. On 6/25, we increased his insulin to 0.2U. He seemed to bounce the same day, and has been high since.
He has been testing negative for urine ketones (tested daily), has good appetite, and is drinking water. The only issue is diarrhea - it keeps coming back. We tried fortiflora for a few days - didn't help much. Then we gave him canned pumpkin and florastor (1/2 capsule 2x a day for 2 days), but yesterday his diarrhea was the worst. We finally got Metronidazole tablets from the vet and it is a 5-7 day course.
Should we increase his insulin dose if his BG doesn't reduce after 6 cycles on 0.2 U, or would it be better to wait till the diarrhea clears out? Since Goose also has a history of pancreatitis and we've read that high blood glucose can also cause diarrhea - we are not sure what's the best approach here. We do have concerns about seeing the bouncing with increasing insulin.
Thank you for reading this and offering advice! We sincerely appreciate it.