6/27 Ducia AMPS 221, +4 220, +7 217, +9 163; PMPS 165, +2 208, +5 285, +8 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Last post

Good morning everyone,

Ducia has failed her earned reduction and for the 6 cycles we haven't seen any single decent number. It's very sad.:(

The dose is up to 1U.

Hope everyone is having good day!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Well, at least the higher numbers mean you can relax a bit on the testing and actually get some sleep.... I don't know what's going on either, but I hope that going back up to 1.0U does the trick (even though it hasn't yet for the first couple doses). I guess the depot still has to settle. How has she been feeling/acting lately? Does anything seem to be bothering her? Are you having hot/uncomfortable weather, maybe?
 
Good morning Nan,
How has she been feeling/acting lately? Does anything seem to be bothering her? Are you having hot/uncomfortable weather, maybe?
I cannot tell if anything bothers her..:(

The weather has been terrible - over 100F heat - everyone suffers. I have to keep windows/balcony closed because of AC 's been on most of the day and Ducia misses her windowsill sitting/outside watching for a couple of days now. And no sunbathing either - even if I let her out on the balcony she'd go back in.

Another thing is that her ears are hot all the time except maybe for the times when the AC is on for hours. I used to think it might be due to constant ear poking and have been using Halo salve and Neosporin/pain reliever daily. I know it could be high BP...

Appy, pee/poo in good order. Grooming is fine. Right now she is trying to catch a small fly that circles around the lamp - with good jumps and quite aggressively, so it is good. I haven't heard her purring for a while now but I explained it by ear poking - she really doesn't like it (nor do I). The pink around her teeth is faded in brightness but she could do with cleaning ( not possible for the moment). She chews her food fine, doesn't look to be painful process...

I feed her a little more now - about 2 table spoons extra /day- to gain closer to 9lb. And lately it is carbier LC food - up to 6% some days when I think she is clearing the bounce and might do fast drop early in the cycle. On several occasions I though I overcarbed her..:( The high-ish LC I use are lower in caloric count than her Tiki Cat 0% so she has to eat more to maintain/gain.

She just threw 310 @+8. :arghh:I am devastated:arghh:. Not what I thought should be coming from the increased dose.

IDK what to think about it. Or to do.Keep going on with the dose up till 6 cycles and see if it clicks, I suppose. Maybe it's time to either buy a new insulin - mine is 4 month old or to see the vet for some blood work (the guy is clueless about FD). Had to be either one financial wise, not both.

I appreciate your thought, any of them. (I don't have any at all at the moment).

Have a nice day!
 
Last edited:
Hi Tanya,
I find that the heat makes Teasel more lethargic and his ears are hot all the time in that weather. I have no good explanation for her numbers other than she's a bouncy girl, had a few blues lately and you haven't had her at 1 u long enough to see the full effect of this dose. Here's my prescription for you: take a walk in a cool place if you can, leave her ears alone when her numbers are higher and please don't beat yourself up when she has numbers that aren't perfect. You're doing a fantastic job with her and she seems to be a happy, healthy girl. You can't let her numbers cause so much stress - it's not good for you, Ducia's care giver. :bighug::bighug:

I know - all easier said than done!
 
:bighug:Thank you Kris, Iwill do just that.
Except that no cool places left around here but I have a pint of Belgian Chocolate Gelatto and about half pint of Raspberry, and I am going to eat it ALL MYSELF. :joyful:
DH thinks that maybe it's time to order pens from Canada. Maybe I'll do that, too.
Hope you and Teasel are having good day.:bighug:
Off to TFS.
 
:bighug:Thank you Kris, Iwill do just that.
Except that no cool places left around here but I have a pint of Belgian Chocolate Gelatto and about half pint of Raspberry, and I am going to eat it ALL MYSELF. :joyful:
DH thinks that maybe it's time to order pens from Canada. Maybe I'll do that, too.
Hope you and Teasel are having good day.:bighug:
Off to TFS.
Well, that gelatto will certainly help! :);)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top