6/27 CRYSTAL AMPS 329 +3 313 +5 268 +8 247

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Happy Caturday to all in L&LL,

Not much to report for Crystal, we are playing a long standing waiting game to find a dose that just might bring her numbers down, so far it has eluded us. I really need this IAA to break soon.:(:(:( Gave her 6.0u of R at AMPS, I knew she would be high this morning as I didn't give her any R last night as we had to go out. I am steadily increasing the R doses and have ordered the 1ml syringes that hold 100 units so that I can give Crystal her Lev in one syringe, rather than two, with room for an even bigger dose looming on the horizon. You have been warned Crystal!

Appy good, she's pottering about the garden, not so hot today a more comfortable mid 20's rather than the unbearable 37 of yesterday, unfortunately it's only a temporary respite with temperatures over 40 forecast for early next week...... I shall shut myself away in a cool dark room for the duration.

Vines and wishes for all in need today.
 
((((Suki)))) Even though I can't begin to understand Acro/IAA, I know it has got to be so frustrating for you---so many hugs and vines of support being sent! I read your last condos- it is too bad there isn't a facility for SRT closer for you? This hot weather isn't helping either! Do you care for salad nicoise at all? An old gardening friend used to make a wonderful classic nicoise and baguette, perfect in hot weather.
 
Like Ruth, I don't understand Acro/IAA but do understand the frustration. You are doing a great job trying to manage this challenge. Hugs and vines.
 
(((Suki))) I do get the acro/IAA frustration but thankfully didn't have to get to the higher doses. I remember being elated at green, then it would go away, increase, more green and elation, it went away, increase, lather/rinse repeat. I think you are right that if the increased R doesn't move her, you will have to increase the Lev. At some point, with no rhyme nor reason, the IAA will break. :bighug: Hang in there, keep chasing the beast.

That 37 sound brutal! I think we might get up to 33 today. :( Good to hear it's "cooled off" for you and the cats today.

@Tiger and Ruth - France isn't known for being on the forefront of acromegaly treatments. :rolleyes: Utrecht, Netherlands is the closest facility that does hypophysectomy, which is the latest development in treating acrocats. Unfortunately not everyone can travel distances with their kitty for treatment. A couple of years ago the Royal Veterinary College did a trial on a medication (paseriotide) which looked initially promising, because it wouldn't involve travel. Unfortunately, it's quite expensive.
 
@Wendy&Neko thanks for that info...I didn't realize that- I mean if dinky Spokane Washington can have advanced veterinary care, I would have thought Suki could too! :oops::oops::oops: And I get that travel with an aging and ailing kitty is super difficult, I give you and Julie so much credit for making that trip to Colorado State U! I could not imagine it!!
 
@Tiger and Ruth , unfortunately Ruth, France is way far behind with acro treatment its not even a possibility. Crystal is the first case that my vet has seen, I had to press for the test as she said it was very rare - more a case of going undiagnosed I think. There is only one other cat with FD at the surgery that I know of - I think most cats dx here with FD get PTS, they are not particularly a nation of feline lovers. Vet is learning so much more about acro as I take articles to give her from the Board whenever I visit. She told me last time that in future any cat presenting with FD will automatically be tested for acro, which is going from one extreme to the other and not really necessary until they prove insulin resistant, but I suppose it's a step in the right direction to at least acknowledge the condition.
Not a great lover of salad nicoise, mainly because I don't like tuna very much. Too many years serving meds in the natural tuna juice to a long gone kitty, just can't get it out of my head that's it's kitty food! We eat tons of salad and bbq a lot during the summer, anything to stay out of the kitchen.

@tiffmaxee , thanks for looking in Elise, and for your kind words, it certainly is a challenge.

@Wendy&Neko ,
I think you are right that if the increased R doesn't move her, you will have to increase the Lev. At some point, with no rhyme nor reason, the IAA will break. :bighug: Hang in there, keep chasing the beast.
I'm going to give it a couple of days with increased R, if I don't see any improvement, then I will have to up the Lev. I collect the 100ml syringes on Tuesday which will make one less jab for Crystal. The IAA is certainly a "beast", and just wants to hang around where it's not wanted!

Her PMPS was 246 so I gave her 5u of R. She seems very quiet today, I think she must get days when she doesn't feel too bright so I'm keeping an eye on her. Eating well though. bbl
 
Big hat tip from me, too, Suki. Like Wendy and Neko, Polly and I never hit really high doses. 10.5 U was my girl's top before we did the SRT. But, gads, I remember struggling to stay ahead of the game and waiting for shoes to drop and worrying about what might come next. Elation at the greens (blues, too) and then such deflation at the numbers creep we'd eventually see pushing her dose up. Frustration just isn't a big enough word for it! You're handling this so well. Kudos.

Vines, hugs, light, whatever it takes. To you. Your girl.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thank you Marilyn, I really appreciate all the support. some days I really don't handle it very well at all, but it's good to know there are others who have travelled the same route and understand how demoralizing it can be.

Her bedtime test was 237 at +5. Obviously not a resounding success with the R. It amazes me that some kitties respond to such low doses of R, under 0.5 even, and yet 5.0u hardly makes a dent in her levels, such is the power of the IAA. Night night all.
 
Lots of hugs, Suki!! The IAA is so frustrating. But like Wendy said, at some point it will break and the trip down can be...fast and furious, although I think acrocats weather lower numbers for some reason.

I'm sorry I've been MIA. The past few weeks have been really trying for us. All is well, but we have way too much going on that is out of our control and I'm overwhelmed! But I promise I will check in on you and Crystal more often!
 
Thanks Bron, Peg. Andrea and Suzanne for checking in and for your moral support, much appreciated as always.
Well Crystal gave me a blue AMPS of 185 this morning. I'm going with a slightly conservative 4.0uR only because I will be out for a couple of hours this morning with a friend. DH will be around to feed and depending on her levels at +2 and +4, I'll know what to leave her to eat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top