6/27 Cosmo AMPS 580, +3 475 PMPS 221, +2 320 Megacolon diagnosis

thebigfuzz

Member Since 2012
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-470-3-472-6-369-9-182-pmps-254-2-275.231506/

After a brief, but sharp dip into the blues yesterday and trying on some new colors, looks like Cosmo decided to bounce just in time for his vet appt. o_O He ate well overnight on his LC wet (6%)

Question - he seems to be prone to bounces as he approaches new levels of numbers (even if still high)... Is that something we need to expect as we go on, or is there anything we can do (except have an encouraging chat with him lol) to minimize the bounces?

Hope everyone has a great day!
 
He’s bouncing from hitting a lower number than he’s used to and I don’t see how you could have prevented it. I do think he needs more juice. I would have increased after 7 days.
 
Ahh yes, we had planned on increasing at his PM dose last night, but then he had the fast drop so we held the 2.5 not knowing if he was going to bounce or continue dropping overnight. I suppose I should have upped the dose this morning, but forgot :confused:

Is it OK to increase while he bounces? I'm ok to up the dose tonight, if it's advisable.
 
He's having a tough time pooping today... In and out of the box straining to take a #2 :confused: #1 is fine.

Good thing we go to the vet this afternoon... Wonder if he needs another enema?
 
A little worried he might have megacolon as he had had #2 issues and bouts of constipation since late April.

Maybe neuropathy is causing it?
 
Is it OK to increase while he bounces? I'm ok to up the dose tonight, if it's advisable.
Absolutely OK to increase during a bounce. What you don't want to do is increase on the cycle that he clears the bounce - that cycle can have downward momentum. Adding an increase on that particular cycle can make it a little "interesting".

In Canada, Miralax is called Restoralax.

Good luck at the vet.
 
He is at the vet and they are taking xrays of his bowel. The vet has a very holistic outlook, which is great... I was feeling like we were missing something with the last vet.

He has megacolon... TX to be determined.
 
Stubby tails are known for issues "back there".

Is that Healing Paws you are going to?
We went to 'The Barn Door Veterinary'. Dr. Ina is quite good.

Update:
He does have megacolon. He has always had large #2's, but now is causing problems with is age and combined with his other issues.
His arthritis is quite bad in his back, hips and knees.
His neuropathy is quite bad too.
Diabetes seems like the least worry right now, but contributing and combining with his other issues.

He had another enema today.
We were given subq to give 100ccs
Psyllium Fibre sprinkled on his food moving forward.
Fish oil for his joints and also might help with megacolon.
Bvitamins for neuropathy
Continue cartophen.
She advised to hold his insulin dose for another week as we start the new regimen. She said enemas, and acute megacolon can affect BG. Wants us to stabilize and try to balance his GI tract first.

She was great. She really thought about how all of the things interacted and how to modify his treatment where necessary.

PS. She Loved his SS :cat:

I have heard that some other kitties have megacolon here... Any advise?
 
Dr. Ina used to be at Healing Paws
There aren't a huge number of holistic vets in the area - good to know you've found one.
I have heard that some other kitties have megacolon here... Any advise?
You might want to post a question in the Feline Health forum, with a subject line asking for help on megacolon. At the same time, modify today's subject line to add the word Megacolon, and people with experience might stop by.

His next increase would have been by 0.25 units, with that lovely blue in there he saw. I just hate seeing the poor guy stuck in those high numbers most of the time.
 
PMPS 221 - I would have thought it would be higher with the vet visit, enema and large meal at 630pm.

Full dose again?
 
There aren't a huge number of holistic vets in the area - good to know you've found one.

You might want to post a question in the Feline Health forum, with a subject line asking for help on megacolon. At the same time, modify today's subject line to add the word Megacolon, and people with experience might stop by.

His next increase would have been by 0.25 units, with that lovely blue in there he saw. I just hate seeing the poor guy stuck in those high numbers most of the time.

Yes, she recommended a chiropractor too because of his spinal alignment.
 
Yes on the dose, it's over 200.
she recommended a chiropractor too because of his spinal alignment.
Any particular one? I know there are a very few of those. Been to the one in Fort Langley with a shelter kitty, there is one at the clinic I go to, and another not too far away as well.
 
Yes on the dose, it's over 200.

Any particular one? I know there are a very few of those. Been to the one in Fort Langley with a shelter kitty, there is one at the clinic I go to, and another not too far away as well.
Not sure which one. She brings her kitty to the chiropractor at a human clinic. She is going to email us the name and address tomorrow. I'll let you know!

He's had such a Rollercoaster of highs and drops these last 2 days, the yellow PMPS is scary in case he drops. But, it worked out last night and we were nervous about that.
 
+2 on PM cycle 320. Looks like sleep tonight for all - including Cosmo... He (we) is tired from all the excitement today.
 
She brings her kitty to the chiropractor at a human clinic.
The one in Fort Langley was a human chiropractor first, then did the animal add on training. I asked because my niece was considering it as a career at the time.
do you know the timing of sub q and insulin? We are to give 100 ccs, but don't know if it needs to be spread apart?
It does depend somewhat on the cat, but fluids can lower blood glucose. Also, fluids go in the scruff so it's good to shoot insulin some distance apart, maybe the other side and flank, when giving fluids. I used to give fluids when I knew Neko's numbers were on the way up so that it didn't matter if it impacted her blood sugars. The amount you give at once may depend on how well he's absorbing it. I tended to give all at once but wasn't giving a lot.
 
Back
Top