6/27 Champ AMPS 175, +2 183, +4 81, +6 97, +10 231, PMPS 330

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Champ didn't wake me up crying for food this morning, probably because I left some out for him before I went to bed, as usual, but this time I didn't let him see me put it out so he didn't scarf it right up then and there. I really have no idea when he ate it, but it seems it did the trick this morning. I got up 1.5 hours before his shot time so I gave him a very small amount of semi nuked chicken breast so I would be able to work without him pestering me for food!! It seems like every time I give him the chicken breast a couple hours before his AMPS that his BG at shot time is on the low side. I'm going to check his BG before giving him the chicken next time to see if there's any correlation or just coincidence.

??I've noticed something and I want to see if anyone knows what this means: Champ will look at me sometimes and his mouth will be open, like he's panting, with his lips pulled back so I see his teeth. This will happen two or three times a day. I've noticed that he seems to be breathing faster than normal over the last few days, but, to be honest, I don't know what normal is. Any insight would be appreciated.

I hope everyone has a great day!! :-D
 
Re: 6/27 Champ AMPS 175

Good morning Patty! Is Champ hot maybe? My civvie Turnup does that when she is hot, almost like she is panting.

Glad you got to ease up rather than being yelled marching orders first thing in the morning.

Hope you have a great day!!
 
Re: 6/27 Champ AMPS 175

Nice AMPS for champ!

The snack may have something to do with Champs lower AMPS. Apparently small snack around + 8 or +9 can help lower their pre-shot numbers. Personally, I don't know how or why this works, but Sienne and a few others had mentioned in Trixie's condo a while ago. And, when I have given her a +8 snack, that theory has held true. That's why we got the automatic feeder...so that she could consistently have +8 snacks (since +8 usually falls during the workday, and always falls in the middle of the night). However, she hasn't quite taken to the feeder just yet...

I've noticed my cats have their mouths open a little bit when they're sniffing for something very intensely...they don't do it all the time, just when something seriously catches their attention.

Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 6/27 Champ AMPS 175, +2 183, +4 81

:thumbup Nice greens! There's a group looking for trouble in the green lagoon waiting for Champ! :lol:

When the pancreas is healing at can produce some insulin, A LC snack around+9 or10 can stimlate it to produce a little more and bring the overall BG dow.
I've noticed my cats have their mouths open a little bit when they're sniffing for something very intensely...they don't do it all the time, just when something seriously catches their attention.

Tess does the same thing when I come in from yard work sometimes.
 
Re: 6/27 Champ AMPS 175, +2 183, +4 81

Nice AMPS and yay on the green!!!! I started using Zoe's autofeeder for 2 mini-meals over night....she kept coming in earlier and earlier waking me up each morning and her AMPS were all over the place. I give her LC food at 1am and either cooked chicken breast or tuna in water at 3:30 (I don't know when she actually eats the mini-meals) and her AMPS have been more consistent and better. Today is the first morning I have had a pink AMPS since I started using the feeder. I think the mini-meals help.....

Zoe used to open mouth breath when stressed....then she was diagnosed with Asthma....since she has been on inhaled meds for the asthma, I have seen no open mouth breathing.....

Have a great day, Patty....glad to see Champs is giving you some really beautiful numbers!
 
Re: 6/27 Champ AMPS 175, +2 183, +4 81

Champs is such a handsome guy!

RonnieandLuna had mentioned to me about the +9 feeding bringing down the pre shot numbers. Im also planning to try this. She also recommended an auto feeder - I think this is a stellar idea and am going to start when I get back from overseas.

Sorry, Im not much help on the breathing thing...but my cats do breathe like that when stressed or excited.

Love the green numbers! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/27 Champ AMPS 175, +2 183, +4 81, +6 97, +10 231, PMPS

Hi guys - very nice am cycle today - wow even made green! sorry for the bounce tonight, I hope champ clears it quickly.

not much more I can add on the breathing thing. Mine do what Ann describe when they are trying to understand and remember a smell. I've had panting or fast breathing when they are really stressed.

Good luck with the added snack. It will be interesting to see if it does help Champ with the AMps number. Good luck!
 
Re: 6/27 Champ AMPS 175, +2 183, +4 81, +6 97, +10 231, PMPS

my guess is you're seeing one of two things...

if it's a scent thing, you're witnessing the "flehmen response"...cats and many other animals have a jacobson's organ to help them process odor and scent...
when they are trying to identify or catalog a smell, they will raise their head and pull back their lips to allow the odor to pass over the organ.

they also have small areas for "sweating"...generally processed through the paw pads...so they do tend to pant when overheated or stressed.

the only clarifying difference i am aware of is that they tend to have a very wet mouth when overheated...not so when it is scenting...

Edited to add: hello, guys!

Celi

geez!! who let the professor out????

binks
 
Re: 6/27 Champ AMPS 175, +2 183, +4 81, +6 97, +10 231, PMPS

Let me tell ya...she didn't seem like such a know-it-all
when she was tryin' to put this collar on me!!

binks
 
Re: 6/27 Champ AMPS 175, +2 183, +4 81, +6 97, +10 231, PMPS

Binks is a real character!!!

I've seen Champ do the open-mouth smelling thing, but this was very different. He did it three times today. I would hear him meow once, I'd look over, and he would be looking at me with his mouth open and his lips pulled back so you could see his teeth. That combined with the rapid breathing makes me think something is going on inside the guy. If he doesn't starting acting normal in the next day or so, I'm going to take him into the vet. They'll probably find nothing wrong with him, but it'll make me feel better!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top