6/27 Blackie +5 106 +7 84 +8 77 pmps 122 +2 123 +4 134

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Blackie will eat a little bit on his own, but not enough. So I have been syringe feeding. He doesn't like it, but will put up with it for a short time. I checked ketones last night - negative. He vomited a little bit at +10 this morning. Poo this morning was big and soft, but not runny. He's drinking water. His food intake is less than half of usual. He went outside for a bit last night and this morning, so I don't think he feels terrible. He's still washing himself and was purring last night when I picked him up. I'm worried, but at least I know I can get a little food into him. I'll get him into the vet tomorrow.

I don't like him being in the yellows, but with the eating situation, I don't think I should be raising the dose.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18265
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239, still not eating well

I think it may be time for a visit to the vet. Did he respond at all to the Pepsid? You may want to try again today -- it's a twice a day regimen.
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239, still not eating well

ah Blackie - what's up. huh? We here all hope you feel better soon, get that appetite back. Otherwise it's a trip in that awful thing called a car - we don't want that right? Your buddy - Mannie
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239, still not eating well

I thought he ate a little better and seemed to feel better after the Pepcid last night. I didn't know I could give it twice a day, so I will go give him another one now.
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239, still not eating well

aww Blackie, what's going on? Hope your trip to the vet gives you some answers and help. fingers and paws crossed from me and Tray
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239, still not eating well, vomit breffis

I just found where he had vomited breffis. I'm not positive, but pretty sure it was before the pepcid. I syringe fed a TB of Wellness, which is about all he had for breffis.
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239, still not eating well

Glad the ketones were negative. Shadow drives me crazy with his lack of interest in food sometimes.
Cat nip sprinkled on top sometimes helps. What about a hairball brewing? That sometimes makes them less interested in food. I will offer tuna oil not the water one...but the tuna with oil. If Shadow doesn't seem to want that, I get really concerned. I have even gotten so desperate that I smear vaseline on his paws which he eats off and that seems to help pass the hairball. Any kind of oil would help as well. Some put olive oil in the food too.
Sometimes they are just off the food...same old ~ same old. Ya know?
You did try a different type yesterday and he ate some of that, right?
Mine will go back to the Wellness later on so don't worry about the stocked pantry.
If it isn't a hairball, then a vet visit is in order...I totally agree with that.

A thought crossed my mind...since he goes out, do you have any indication that he is catching mice or something outside? Does he bring trophies back to you? Cause IF he is a hunter, he might be eating something outside which would cause him to not be hungry, obviously. I thought too that if they are eating mice, they are more prone to have worms. Don't know if that's true~~ but it's what is in my head from somewhere. Maybe I dreamt it. :lol:

Hope Blackie feels better. It is a concern....hope it gets better today. If not, the vet is the next stop, right?
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239, still not eating well, vomit breffis

Yes Pepcid can be bid Ele just for future ref hope Blackie feels better today and I agree looks like a vet visit is in order to make sure he is OK ((((HUGS))) from Do Lou and I sending healing vines your way we do not like to hear he is still under the weather cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239, still not eating well, vomit breffis

poor Blackie. It does sound like vet time. Has he been tested for pancreatitis? Of course it could be lots of things but that always comes to mind. I'm glad you got a ketone test.
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239 +4 133, still not eating well, vomit 2

Blackie vomited again while I was in the shower. I tested and he took a few licks of Friskies Salmon. So I syringed about 2/3 of 1TB of Wellness with a little Slipper Elm Bark.

Thanks Pat for the strainer suggestion. It was much easier to syringe.
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239 +4 133, still not eating well, vomit 2

Hi Ele,
Im sorry Blackie is feeling so unwell. I do hope you are able to get into the vet quickly tomorrow. Maybe call them and leave a message letting them know you are going to call as soon as they open AND like an appt asap. I wonder, we were thinking possible infection a week or so ago, right? I wonder if it was brewing and is now surfacing?

Maybe you could try some babyfood to get you through until tomorrow? See if Blackie will take it off a spoon?

Wellness turkey, and chicken (in small cans), and evo are the easiest I have found to get smooth in a food processor for syringe feeding.

:YMHUG: to you both.
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239 +4 133, still not eating well, vomit 2

My vet recommended baby food (Stage 2 -- only meat, broth, and cornstarch) when Gabby was throwing up. It's much easier to digest that Wellness or Evo, both of which are pretty high in fat. 1/4 of a Pepsid AC twice a day is perfectly safe. (I've had to give up to 1/2 a tablet.)

If Blackie starts vomiting more and there's bile, it's a trip to the ER. You'll know that it's bile -- it will have a very odd and unpleasant smell. The vet will want to know if there's any possibility that Blackie got into anything -- strings, plastic, toxic plants, etc. (When Gabby swallowed dental floss, she was throwing up bile multiple times a day.)
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239 +4 133, still not eating well, vomit 2

Thanks for the info on baby food. I was gone to the store to get baby food! And Blackie at almost 2 TB of Turkey Stage 2 baby food from a bowl! Makes me feel much better, but I'm going to stay around home today to watch. I don't think he got into anything. He doesn't hunt anymore and he's been pretty closely supervised outside the last few days. Good idea about leaving a message for the vet. I think I'll email him too.
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239 +4 133 +5 106 not eating well, vomit 2

Glad he ate the baby food! And of course, I am glad that you will be able to watch him today.
Dear Blackie...I hope you feel better real soon.... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239 +4 133 +5 106 +7 84 +8 77 syr fed b fd

After 2 times when Blackie ate the baby food on his own, he wouldn't touch it at +8. So I syringe fed about 2 Tb of baby food. He's had almost the whole small jar of turkey baby food now. He hasn't vomited since this morning, so I'm hoping he'll improve tonight. Now he's hanging over the water bowl, another sign of nausea.

Thank you to all of your for your support and input. I'm trying very hard to think positive and not freak out.
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239 +4 133 +5 106 +7 84 +8 77 syr fed b fd

Keep us posted Ele hope he feels better tonight at least he has kept the baby food down ((((HUGS)))
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239 +4 133 +5 106 +7 84 +8 77 pmps 122 ???

I shot a slightly skinny 4.0 on the 122. I am worried about him going low since he's not eating much. At pmps he ate about 1 1/2 teaspoons of Special Diet Friskies Beef & Chicken and then he wouldn't eat any more. I syringed 1 Tb of baby food with his Pepcid and 1/4 tsp of Slipper Elm Bark. I left a message & an email with the vet and hope I can get him in early.

Should I treat his numbers as normal and feed MC only if he drops or should I feed a little MC earlier?
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239 +4 133 +5 106 +7 84 +8 77 pmps 122 ???

Golly, Ele, I'm sorry to hear that Blackie isn't feeling well. It is good that you've gotten him to eat something. Hopefully he'll be feeling lots better tomorrow. But you should see your vet to set your mind at ease even if he seems normal tomorrow. Stu wants to send some vines to his pal and is out gathering them now.
Many hugs,
Ella & Stu
p.s. I'm sorry I can't answer your question about MC.
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239 +4 133 +5 106 +7 84 +8 77 pmps 122 ???

Ele, follow your instinct about what to feed. Safety first, right? And maybe he'll eat MC better than LC too, if he thinks it's a treat.
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie amps 239 +4 133 +5 106 +7 84 +8 77 pmps 122 ???

FWIW, when Gabby was vomiting, I reduced her dose. I figured if I was going to have to struggle to get her to eat, I didn't want to be in a position where she'd refuse food. Also, I found that the baby food is probably higher carb than what I ordinarily feed. I'm estimating it's around 7% or so due to the cornstarch content.
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie +5 106 +7 84 +8 77 pmps 122 +2 123

When I saw that 123 at +2 I decided to try some MC/HC. I don't know if 18% is MC or HC, but it he ate almost 2 tspns including the grilled chicken on his own. I gave him the rest of the baby food from before (1/4 Tb) in a syringe.

Thank you Libby & Sienne for your suggestions. It helps to have you here.
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie +5 106 +7 84 +8 77 pmps 122 +2 123

So sorry that Blackie doesnt feel so well!! Sending Healing Tummy vines to dear Blackie, & hope he will be well really soon...
Big Hugs & Tummy Rubs to Blackie tonite--Hope for a good vet visit tomorrow.
BTW 18% is HC I believe..
 
Re: 6/27 Blackie +5 106 +7 84 +8 77 pmps 122 +2 123

Hi Ele,
Im glad blackie is eating some of the mc/hc food. If you get in a pinch and he is only going for the baby food you can add a drop of Karo to it. I would start very small, and add from there if you do not know how he will respond to it.

Hopefully the pepcid will help.

Dont hesitate to sit at the vets doorstep when they open tomorrow a.m., if the need arises! Ive done it! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top