6/27-6/28 Max Pmps 351 Amps 150 Pmps 151 Nervous!

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
Hello. Hope all your sugar cats are well.

We left early yesterday morning to catch the plane, and the sitter tested him at 9 am. His BG was 175. She double checked and it was 150 which is just above Do not shoot. She gave 2.5u and checked on him in the middle of the day. He was fine and ate while she was there but she didn't test him. (I'll ask her to test mid-day if she's there to check on him.) last night his reading was 151. She gave 2.5.

She will be there in an hour and a half to test him. I have never seen him have these numbers. I think it's clear that the dental and Clavamox are having an effect. I'm not sure that 2.5 is low enough for the circumstances of having a sitter. She won't be there everyday at mid-day and never at night. Should I tell her to give 2.0? If I don't get an answer quickly enough I will tell her to use 2.0 this morning and then check back with you.

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated.

His numbers on 6/25 were: Amps mid-400s +2 393 +4 290 Pmps 351

Link to 6-25 post:
 
Great numbers MammaDale!

Isn't that just the way it goes. But he apparently didn't go too low the first day if PMPS was still 151. You'd think that would have been a bounce by then otherwise.

But I tend to agree with lowering it on those numbers while you are gone, only since she is not there all day/night to make sure he eats every bite and keeps it down. Maybe she can leave extra food available?

But that's excellent that the sitter is testing him. Maybe the mid day nadir will tell us more.


Hopefully someone else can make sense of this and weigh in.

If he is having a breakthough now and the reduction throws it off, surely Hubs or you can pick it up again when you get home. But sounds like the sitter is doing great. :smile:
 
Amps was 356 so I told her to go ahead and give 2.5, but I'm still interested in more advice. Thanks! He always has food. He's a grazer, PapaDale, not a scarf and barfer thank goodness.
 
That could be the bounce but it's not crazy terrible.

If he's got plenty of food then perhaps hold the 2.5.

The other night Chip was dropping (perhaps to more green?) when he barfed a whole can of FF with a furball. I opened 2 more cans and he ate another 1.5 and kept it all down. He doesn't scarf and barf except for that regular hairball.

Was the blue day a celebration of peace and quiet? :-D
 
Dale

It would be great if she could get a mid cycle test. He could be going lower (not necessarily low as in worrisome) and bouncing up but there is no way to know how low without that mid cycle test.

I think the no shoot below 150 is smart. While Max has not shown before that this dose gets him particularly low, things can and do change. It also depends on your comfort level. If you are stressed the entire time that he might be going too low, have her drop his dose back a bit.

It's just difficult to tell you much about this dose without knowing what he's doing mid cycle. He is bouncy so even if he's just dropping to low blue/high green, I would expect to see him bounce.

I do hope you are enjoying your time away. It's good to have a break.
 
Dale, while the timing isn't perfect with you being away, I'm so glad that Max is down to blue numbers!!!!!!!!

Suze
 
Thanks everyone! I asked her to test next time.

That lovely blue day was spent on a plane for 3 and 1/2 hours and 4 hours in a car with a one year old. She was pretty darn good actually!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top