6/27/11 Boo AMPS457,+5.5 304,+11 194,+12 181,+14 201

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmcd65

Member Since 2011
I should really shoot her now if possible. She is eating wet food but acting very strange with the high number.
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457

Thank you Miriam (one of my favorite names, btw). I shot the .75. She is all over the place with these numbers.

She was lapping the food up, so I took the bowl up so she wouldn't eat so much. Will put it back down at +1.

Thanks again for jumping in. It's a little lonely around here during my AMPS time!

xoxo
Carla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457

Good idea to only feed small amounts this morning since she is still transitioning.....very nicely I might add and she had a lot of extra food last night.
I am usually up with the early risers although my DH usually does the morning routine with Putty at 5:45 am.

I think you said you are home until +2 is that right?
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457

That is correct. I leave the house at her +2 (8 a.m. Central). I will be back to test at +6 and then not again until close to PMPS.

Thanks again!
Carla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457

~O)
I might can close my eyes for 20 minutes or so before I have to start getting myself ready. Thanks for your eyes, concern and advice.

Boo's WILD ups and downs yesterday made me crazy. I wish I understood them.

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457

Good morning Carla!! It looks like it was a busy night. Marje PM'd me. I usually don't check in here until about 7:00 CST or a little later -- Marje must think I'm more coherent in the early AM than I actually am!

You did great last night. The first dose reduction and managing the numbers can be a bit harrowing. You'll be an old hand in no time. I couldn't quite tell how much you were feeding when you were bumping up Boo's numbers. (You may have mentioned it but I was reading quickly.) I generally will give Gabby about 1/2 teaspoon of food -- maybe less. It's also fine to feed just the gravy since that's where the carbs are and the gravy won't be as filling as the solids. If it's taking a while to make sure that numbers stabilize, you don't want to over feed since you're likely to get a 'scarf-and-barf' result. You might want to bookmark or print out this post on managing low numbers so you have a reference if no one is around.

If I had to guess, my explanation for the variability in Boo's numbers is that the dry food is getting out of her system. We've seen any number of cats who start dropping into lower numbers once they make the transition to canned food. I also think you're beginning to see a good response to this dose. Previously, you were needing a lot more insulin to counter the influence of the dry food -- either that or Boo was dropping into lower numbers but since you weren't testing, you didn't know. Either way, your seeing green!

What you're seeing this morning, as well as those other times when there were lower numbers followed by pinks/reds, is a bounce. Boo's liver isn't used to lower numbers. As a result, it goes into panic mode. When this happens, the liver releases a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. This causes BG numbers to spike up -- the red you're seeing at AMPS. It can take up to 72 hours for those numbers to come down.
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457

Sienne, thank you, and good morning. When you have a calm minute today, would you take a look at Boo's SS and see what you think about the dose? It's so hard to tell because she reacts to it sooooo differently from day to day.

Thank you for the link as well. I will re-read.

I felt strange shooting her last night because I was shooting numbers that had been going down all day. Was I wrong to shoot?

Thanks a million.
Carla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457

It's not so much that Boo is reacting differently from day-to-day, but I can see why you may think that. You need to consider the bounces. The bounce isn't so much a reaction to the dose as much as it is a reaction to the lower numbers. It takes a while for a cat to achieve a "flat" curve. (Gabby still hasn't done that. She's clearly a slow learner!) The more time that Boo spends in lower numbers, the more her liver will stop over reacting.

I think the dose is fine. Boo told you that it was a little high by dropping below 50. You've reduced her dose. Now, we evaluate this dose. I think it's always better to shoot, even if it's a reduced dose, than to not shoot. In Boo's case last night, you had a perfectly shootable number and there was no need to think that the dose needed to be reduced. You did fine.
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399

Just tested +2... 399

She has eaten wet food with treat dust at +0, +1, +2 this morning. I took the bowl up each time so she wouldn't eat too much. Hard to tell how much she is eating each time... I put maybe 1/2 of a small can of the FF Classic Oceanfish on the plate, poured some tuna juice over it and sprinkled some treat dust (Natural Balance Chicken) on top. She has eaten probably half the bowl now after 3 meals... so 1/4 of a small can of FF total?

Last night, she ate lots more than a teaspoon each time I tested her and got a low number. And still her numbers came up soooo slowly until the very end when they shot up like an elevator!

Thanks so much, Sienne!
Carla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399

Wow, that's certainly a wild roller coaster ride last night! Fantastic job navigating his numbers and I hope you get some rest today.
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399

MauiGuppy said:
Wow, that's certainly a wild roller coaster ride last night! Fantastic job navigating his numbers and I hope you get some rest today.

It certainly was. And to think, I used to view myself as a lover of thrill rides! Not so much anymore!!! ;-)

xo
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399

Lisa and Do Lou said:
Hi Boo moving the right way today lets keep on moving down and clear this bounce ;-)

So, Lisa, it's ok if her numbers slide down all day like they did yesterday and I shoot her tonight on numbers going down?? I feel WAY better when they are going up at +12!! ;-)


THANKS!!!
Carla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399

Thanks Natalia...... I feel firmly initiated... I've even lost the Freshman 10 pounds! In a week! Readyyyyy for things to level out!

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399

Morning Carla: I hope you got some rest and I'm glad Miriam and Sienne checked in with you. I have never seen Sienne not coherent :lol: She does a great job of explaining things.

it's ok if her numbers slide down all day like they did yesterday and I shoot her tonight on numbers going down?? I feel WAY better when they are going up at +12!!

I know you don't want to hear this but we'll ask you to post a +11 again so we can see. That was the hardest thing for me to get used to ....because I wanted an answer right then!! :lol: :lol: I think they have finally taught me there
is no since in going through a lot of different scenarios that might not happen. I think your +11 is 5 pm your time? Just let me know and I'll check in just in case no one else is around.

In general, if she's dropping but the number is still high, you can shoot it....you just have to monitor. If it's a low dropping number, then you'll want to stall.

Have a good day!!! You did great.
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399

Morning Marje.... Well, I will do my BEST to get home by 5. I'm **supposed** to work until 5 (and i live 30 minutes away from my office), but I will do my best to sneak out early. And as much as I don't want a repeat of last night, I will be home tonight should she decide to dump on me again. Getting REAL antsy about my 2nd job kicking in a week from tomorrow. I will not have the luxury of staying home to monitor at night. Gonna be sticky.

Thanks for being so gentle and reassuring. I was starting to buckle last night.

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399

you're doing great, carla. one of the things i've learned (had beaten into me) is that patience is everything with FD. you have to wait to see about how a cat reacts to a dose - you have to wait for bounces to clear, you just have to wait to decide on a lot of things. you can't plan ahead except to know that you'll be giving a shot and x time every 12 hours!

i think by the time it comes to start your second job we can help you come up with a plan. is your new 2nd job a distance away from home as well? maybe if you described what your schedule will be with both jobs, including transit time, people here could toss around some ideas and perhaps come up with a plan. it's good you're thinking about it now.
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399, +5.5 304

Thanks Julie... when i get back to work I will surely type out a skeleton of my schedule going forward. Thank you for thinking of us and with us! :smile:

x00x0x0x
Carla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399, +5.5 304

Ok... here is how my life will work starting July 5:
Monday - Fridays
Leave house 8 a.m. (work 25 minutes away from my house)
Can come home some days for lunch at Noonish
Come Home by 5:30 p.m.
Leave House again at 5:55 for night job (3 minutes away from my house)
Return Home for the night at 10/11 p.m.

Saturdays/Sundays would be a bit easier.

I get a panicky stomach just thinking about the day that I come home at 5:30 p.m., test Boo and see a 45 on the meter... knowing I then have to walk out the door 25 minutes later.

What on EARTH would I do?!
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399, +5.5 304

If you get a 45 in the meter, we will deal with it when it comes. Dont do that to yourself. Live day by day. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:


At what time are you thinking in shooting in the AM?
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399, +5.5 304

Natalia & Enana said:
If you get a 45 in the meter, we will deal with it when it comes. Dont do that to yourself. Live day by day. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:


At what time are you thinking in shooting in the AM?

Since I have to leave at 5:55 p.m. for job #2, I was shooting a little before 6 a.m. (which gives me a good +2 reading before I leave each day).

Thank you for the perspective, Natalia. I've let this pull me under.

I need to breathe and sleep (and not necessarily in that order).

:smile:
CArla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399, +5.5 304

looks like you almost have to shoot at 5:30am/pm to start with - that will give you a little bit of time to test before you head out to work.

now i'm typing w/ just my left pointer cuz punkin has taken over my rt side to wash. back later. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399, +5.5 304

Wow...what a schedule. If you get a 45 and have to leave in 30 minutes at any time...I'd skip the shot. First, not even the most experienced folks in here shoot any number in the 40s. Even if you stall and she comes up, I don't think she'd come up high enough to give you a number that you can leave on for several hours. Because many times you will still see action from the morning dose, I (personally) would not even shoot a BCS and walk out the door on a low number. That's just me :-D
But as Natalia said, we can deal with the numbers as they come.

So...since you are pressed for time tonight, if you can post an +11.5, that works. I'll check in at 5:30 your time, 3:30 mine, and I'm sure others will be around, too.

You are doing great. breathe breathe breathe!!

Me, gentle? :lol: :lol: :lol: You are either too kind or Jill has finally gotten it into my skull :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm hoping for the latter :lol: altho I know you are a very kind person...I can tell. ;-)
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399, +5.5 304

No worries tonight, Marje... that schedule starts next Tuesday.

And good Lord, i would never shoot a 45 ever in my life, I don't think... I was just saying, what on earth would I do with my crashing cat? Throw Karo on her, put out wet food and leave??! Let's just hope it never ever comes to that.

Just got off the phone with my vet. He is SUPER impressed with you all and said he would recommend the website to all his FD patients.

I agreed.

** Head hitting desk ** zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Carla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399, +5.5 304

Carla: sorry...I did understand that your schedule starts July 5th. I thought I read in your post to Miriam earlier asking what to do if she goes down again tonight. So I said just post a +11 and you said you probably couldn't get home that early or you might be able to leave early :razz: :razz: so I said post a +11.5 whew!!!! Anyway...I'll look for a number for you tonight at your +11.5 just in case she is dropping again. If that's ok and you don't mind me being around again??? ;-)

So, yes..we'll see what she does starting July 5th and your new schedule. And yes, if you got a 45, you'd have to give her HC food and probably some karo on her gums and do a test before you left. But don't worry now...you have enough to deal with!! And I know you must be so exhausted that I don't know how you are working!! (((Carla))).
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399, +5.5 304

See how loopy I am?! Sorry. It was me who misunderstood. YES, most any regular day would be difficult for me to take a reading right at 5 p.m. (+11)... but as luck would have it, I think my boss is leaving early today!

Mz Boo best cooperate with my tired butt tonight. She pushes me too much further and I'll just put some karo in her food bowl and go to sleep.

KIDDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yall are awesome.
xo
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399, +5.5 304, +11 194

SO, this is a very similar scenario to what happened a couple of days ago when I mistakenly underdosed because I was not confident of shooting under 200.

TODAY, I have the luxury of testing again at +12... that will not always be the case.

I also know she is hungry, as she is sitting by her bowl.

I took her food up at +5.5 because I was not going to be here 2 hours before her PMPS.

Pretty confident she will eat.

Thoughts?

ETA: She has had NO dry food today at all.
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS 457, +2 399, +5.5 304, +11 194

YAY!!! No dry food.

It looks to me like she is breaking a bounce. This is where you need to be vigilant when shooting a dropping number.

On a "normal" cycle where the kitty has a nadir and then goes back up, some cats will get a second lantus dip at the end of the cycle. As Libby told me, that dip should not take them below the nadir number that day. And then you have sweet kitties like Boo and Gracie who like to come off their bounces and just drop slowly into PMPS. At least we hope it's slowly. One day Gracie dropped from 250 at +10 to 51 at PMPS. :lol: :lol:

There's a good chance that Boo will be fairly close to 194....maybe a little less. What number do you feel you can shoot and be comfortable with considering her eating habits, your ability to stay awake and monitor...you are already exhausted.
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS457,+2 399,+5.5 304,+11 194, +12 181

She continues to come down.. She is eating now, but I don't feel good about shooting a falling number like that... especially when I don't think I'm going to be able to keep my eyes open past 9:00 or so.

Should I skip tonight?

Thank you!!
Carla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS457,+2 399,+5.5 304,+11 194, +12 181

Carla: I know you are exhausted. If you need to skip a shot to get some rest, it's ok....she'll go up tomorrow but she'll come back down. You must take care of yourself first or you can't take of her. Are you ok with that so you can go to bed early and not worry about her?
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS457,+2 399,+5.5 304,+11 194, +12 181

I don't think I have it in me to shoot her tonight. I'm about on empty.

If I don't shoot her, when should I test her and should i just keep the food down or feed her at certain intervals?
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS457,+2 399,+5.5 304,+11 194, +12 181

I would do a +14; yes just feed her if you aren't going to shoot. It doesn't matter what schedule you feed her on tonight. You would shoot .75u tomorrow.

You just need to get some rest.
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS457,+2 399,+5.5 304,+11 194, +12 181

Thank you, Marjorie. You are very kind.

I'm a wreck.

Need sleep.

xoxo
Carla
 
Re: 6/27/11 Boo AMPS457,+2 399,+5.5 304,+11 194, +12 181

Please sleep....cuddle Boo...she will be ok. Tomorrow will be better.
 
rest well, carla...

and Boo...this is for you...

a rainbow kitty cuz you hit so many colors!

celi & binks

OpieColors.jpg
 
Thanks guys. I needed that. Boo is hiding under the bed, but I will leave her food out for a while since she's only eaten once tonight.

Thanks again.

zzzzzzzzzzzzz
Carla
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top