6/26 Zeus AMPS 157 +7 129 PMPS 150

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
6/25 Condo

Morning,

Update from yesterday: the Vet was supposed to call in a prescription for us for the ondanestron and the cypro, but I called the pharmacy after work and they hadn't received anything. grr_red So the kitties and I had a relaxed night at home, which was good because we had thunderstorms and it rained like crazy. Zeus ate a whole can of FF medleys, and almost a whole FF appetizer later. I tried to give him a tsp of Greek yogurt, but he didn't want it. We did the fluids, and he was such a good boy. Unfortunately he did vomit a bit of the FF appy over night, and his poo was very soft and not at all formed this morning. I was hoping we would avoid that, I'm going to try mixing a little BF squash into his food today... Hopefully he will eat. Brb.

I just tried to give him another FF medley with squash, he wouldn't even smell it. He is eating a little of the gravy lovers though (without squash). I can tell he doesn't feel well. My poor little boy, it's breaking my heart. I will call the vet first thing about the meds. I'm not sure whether I will shoot this morning. I had increased his dose (back to .5 u) last night because he was Getting back into the pink numbers, but with a middle blue and not eating much, I don't know. I might shoot the reduced dose again, he's eaten 3/4 of the can of gravy lovers.

More thunderstorms for us today, but they said on the news it won't help with the humidity. I hope everyone has a good day. Prayers for all kitties not feeling well today, and hugs to their beans.

Kathie
 
Re: 6/26 Zeus AMPS 157

I'm just running out the door real quick and will be back after I get the kitties out for a quick walk. I think the reduced dose sounds like a good idea with the eating issues.
 
Re: 6/26 Zeus AMPS 157

Thanks Dyana... I think I agree. It is taking a long time, and me holding the dish in front of him as he sits on the arm of the couch, but he has almost finished the can of gravy lovers. I need to jump in the shower but I want him to eat.
 
Re: 6/26 Zeus AMPS 157

I think a reduced dose is a good idea. I hope you can get the other meds from the vet today and it will help Zeus feel better and eat more.
 
Re: 6/26 Zeus AMPS 157

I'm guessing your already shot. If not, and you want to retest, maybe he has gone up a enough from the gravy lovers that you can shoot his regular dose. I'm just seeing that .25 almost looks like his regular dose lately except for last night.
I hope you get the meds this morning and he eats better (and more LC) today.
 
Re: 6/26 Zeus AMPS 157

I did shoot the .25u. He ate all but a few bits of meat from the gravy lovers, and I've left a few different things for him to eat today... Fingers crossed that he will eat.
 
Re: 6/26 Zeus AMPS 157

Morning Kathie, adding more appy vines for Zeus. I'm glad Zeus is starting to eat okay. Surf well and safe Zeus. Hope you get the prescription called in by Vetty.
 
Re: 6/26 Zeus AMPS 157

Morning Kathie,
I want to add my appy vines, feel well vines, good poo vines and prayers for Zeus this morning. I hope your vet gets the script called in and it makes Zeus feel better. Many hugs to you also. xoxo mary and ollie
 
Re: 6/26 Zeus AMPS 157

Morning Kathie ~O) ~O) ~O)

I like the idea of a reduced dose today too, what with the eating issues. I went through alot of dose adjusting with Mannie when we had the eating issues, especially when he was posting blue numbers. What to do when one doesn't really know if they will eat or not, and if it will stay down. I remember wishing I had a crystal ball so I'd know what he would do.... it's too bad that Zeus didn't like the greek yogurt. That was a life saver for us, as it really did help with the tummy upset, and the runny LB thing. I too would continue to feed what he will eat. I had to with Mannie to get him through that eating hurdle. I can so remember the cat food can scene some mornings: 10 or more lined up on the counter looking for what he would eat that day. I can smile about it now, but back then, wow! unnerving. Good luck with all today. I hope too the vet will call and/or just fill the script for you. Paws crossed!

I am wishing you a great day today. Sending major feel better with good appy vines for Zeus.
 
Re: 6/26 Zeus AMPS 157

Hi Kathie,
Mega healing/appy vines for Zeus. I am glad that he is eating some for you, and hope that the meds make him feel better. Prayers for you and Zeus for his pancreatitis to heal. Thinking of you :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/26 Zeus AMPS 157

Kathie --

I would stay away from the yogurt if Zeus is still not eating well. Most cats are lactose intolerant and it may effect his tummy. If Zeus likes FortiFlora, I think you'd be better using that for the probiotic/anti-diarrheal effect.
 
Hi all,

No new meds for Zeus yet. The vet supposedly faxed in the prescriptions yesterday, but the pharmacy didn't get it. I called again this morning, still no so I call the vet. She says they'll fax again. I checked after lunch, the pharmacy still didn't receive it. I call the vet back, she said she would call and take care of it.I just called the pharmacy and they still don't have anything for Zeus. I'm so frustrated. If I had known it would be this big of a deal I would have asked for a written script and taken it to the pharmacy myself.

I thought that Zeus was starting to feel a little better tonight. His eyes looked better, and he jumped up on the couch with me after work. And then after his PS test, I brought him some fuds and he sat up and kind of stretched out his neck to see what I was bringing him, it was like he used to do. Then he kind of dove into the food and ate a few bites really quickly. It was very promising. He even stopped to see what I had in the other dish (I was bringing Smokey her din din), so I gave him that dish too thinking I'd just go get another one for Smokey. Then he stopped eating and walked away, darn! I brought him a FF appetizer, and he ate about half. It's got to be good that he was interested in food, even if he didn't eat much. Now if I could just get him the ondansetron and the cypro. Will call the vet in the morning and ask for the written script.

Zeus is finishing up the FF appy. And now he is eating the FF chunky chicken :-D I hope he keeps it down. I have to give him the Leukeran tonight. I hope he does better than a couple of days ago. Fingers crossed.
 
How frustrating about the meds...how can these "professionals" not take this sort of thing seriously???? I'm sending mega "get on the ball" vines for both the vet and the pharmacy your way, as well as "feel better" vines for Zeus. It definitely is promising that he showed some interest in fuds, even if he didn't eat a lot.
 
I'm glad he's eating some food. I hope you can get the meds tomorrow morning. What a frustrating run around.

Good luck with the Leukeran tonight, I hope he does fine with it this time.
 
Hi Kathie,
Thinking good thoughts tonight that Zeus will get his meds soon and that they will work. Bummer that you had so much trouble getting the prescriptions.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Kathie, so glad to hear Zeus is feeling better. Bummer on the meds. Is it possible they Faxed to another Pharmacy other than the one you requested. This happened to me once when I first had Mags diagnosed. They had me confused with another pet caregiver. His numbers are good today. Sleep well.
 
Thanks everyone. Ann, I thought that too so when I called the pharmacy I asked for their fax #, and then I verified it with the vet's office, they had the right number.

So far so good with Zeus, he has kept the food down, and I gave him the Leukeran. He is asleep on one of the many beds that he has... stretched out, head upside down. :lol: Miss Smokey is really jealous of all the extra attention that Zeus has been getting. I'm sitting on my bed, crossed legged, and she is right in front of me, all stretched out, she keeps wagging just the tip of her tail and rolling over to look at me... She's being very cute. She's not a cuddler normally but I did cuddle her a couple of times, to which she gave me a reeooww let me down! :lol: I take her back to the vet this week too to have her thyroid rechecked. I hope it's OK since I just reordered her meds... That would be my luck.
 
Mr. Zeus jumped on the bed and wanted scritches on his head and under his chin.... I hate to say anything and I don't want to jinx it but he hasn't been coming for attention much lately. Keeping my fingers crossed. :-D

ETA, and now he is eating again on his own. He had a couple of bites of the leftover FF chunky chicken, and I gave him a FF appetizer. He is going back and forth between the two. :-D his BG though jumped up to 280 :sad: I'm not sure how much he ate before I grabbed him for the test, couldn't have been much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top