6/26 Tigger AMPS 355 +2=384 +6=354 +8=332 PMPS 379 +6=384

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/26 Tigger AMPS 355 +2=384

Thanks Ronnie!

Fed at 5am and a light snack at 7am after his check bumped up a bit after eating.
 
Re: 6/26 Tigger AMPS 355 +2=384

morning brent!

just fyi, in general, you want to keep as much of his eating in the first 3-4 hours after his insulin shot. that means that the insulin is at its most effective when he has food in his system.

there's an am shot dose missing on your ss on 6/23 - do you know what it was? i'm thinking you might be ready for a dose increase if you don't see some lower numbers today. if you want to increase, you might ask for "dose advice?" in your subject line to get some more experienced eyes helping make the decision.

Here's the part of the protocol that i'm looking at: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
Increasing the dose...
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

enjoy your sunday poke-fest!
 
Re: 6/26 Tigger AMPS 355 +2=384 +4 =354

Yeah, I forgot to dose him that morning.

Ok, I do most of the feeding in the first 3-4 hours. I get up and check him, then feed and dose him.
Then after an hour or so I check him again and feed him one more time before going to work (smaller amount of food)

Today its a bit different as i'm here testing him all day. Gave him a little boiled chicken after his 4 hour test. His +4 came back at 354
His +6 is in a half hour.
 
Re: 6/26 Tigger AMPS 355 +2=384

ah, i think everyone has done that (missed a shot) for one reason or another! the boiled chicken won't affect his numbers much if at all. just regular food. i've been giving punkin more plain chicken just because he's hungry and having a hard time making it til the next shot time too.
 
Re: 6/26 Tigger AMPS 355 +2=384

I like to give him something after drawing blood, but don't want to keep giving him canned food every two hours so the little chicken bits work nice!

He's still in the mid 350's. Looking like 3u coming up.

Maybe start that tomorrow morning after a full curve today and see what the night readings are.
 
Re: 6/26 Tigger AMPS 355 +2=384 +4=354 +6=354 PMPS 379 +6

I don't understand, he seems to be rising instead of dropping with the insulin.
Currently on 2.5u and have been for 8 doses, well 7 since I forgot to dose the morning of 6/23
 
Re: 6/26 Tigger AMPS 355 +2=384 +6=354 +8=332 PMPS 379 +6

hey brent, i looked again at Tigger's ss - it looks like you're shifting the times of his shots, is that right? Lantus needs to have you shoot pretty consistently 12 hours apart. in general you can only shift 30 minutes in 24 hours - so if you have to change times for some reason, you can move it 1/2 hr early or late once in a day. but that becomes your new shot time and the next day it's what you want to shoot.

i'm going to someone's for dinner tomorrow night at 6pm - so yesterday i started moving punkin's shot from his normal 7-7 times. this morning i shot at 6:30 and again tonight at 6:30, then tomorrow morning i'll shoot at 6am and 6pm before i head out.

just trying to explore reasons for his numbers today. not sure if that's it, but in 8 days it looks like you've gone from 7:30pm - 3- 3- 4- missed shot - 4 - 6 and 5 - that's a lot of changes.

his numbers are actually very flat today - meter variation can be 20% and still considered accurate by the manufacturers (go figure) so you're almost looking at no change all day long.

i'd really like someone with more experience than me to take a look at his spreadsheet - there are several people who could probably look at it and have a good idea of what's happening. i think if i were you, i'd hold the dose, try to stay at exactly 12 hour intervals with his shots, keep all the food in the first 3-4 hours after his shots, plus the chicken treats after pokes, and ask in your subject line tomorrow for someone to give you advice on dosing.

are you checking him for ketones?
 
Re: 6/26 Tigger AMPS 355 +2=384 +6=354 +8=332 PMPS 379 +6

Hey Julie,
There is some shifting, but its the best I can do to be honest. That has been the hardest part of this whole Diabetic kitty thing.
Live alone, small town where I don't know alot of people that can come over to do this, lucky to have 2 that will cover for me ocassionally, but of course they work on the other side of the Twin Cities as well and can't get here at an exact time (all the time).

So, on those days its either shift the times or no shot at all. I understand consistancy is best, but i'm doing the best I can. Working in IT doesn't help either, and co-workers don't understand why i'm doing what i'm doing. Bunch of guys that see cats as second grade pets. cat(2)_steam
lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top