6/26 Simon | AMPS 346 +5 351 PMPS 369 +2 402

Daniel and Simon

Member Since 2026
6/25 | AMPS 389 +3 290 +5.75 195 +9.5 163 PMPS 167 +2.75 240

Woke up at 4am to Simon chewing on the iphone cable hanging from my nightstand - chewing wires was one of his favorite activities when he was a kitten.
Woke up this morning to Simon glaring at me, a mouse toy at his feet. He plays fetch like a dog.
I guess he's feeling fine. Now I've got to learn more about bounces.
 
Glad Simon is feeling cheeky. Bounces can happen when the kitty goes down too quickly or hits a lower BG they aren’t used to. You want to watch for downward movement through a cycle, where numbers come down, that often shows a bounce breaking like on am cycle of June 21st. Hoping without skips, you’ll be seeing less black numbers as well.

From the basics sticky:

Bouncing - is simply a reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BG in the 200s, 300s or higher for a long time, then even a BG of 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the BG drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream. *Usually* bounces clear within 3 days (6 cycles).

Keep working that 3u, Simon, and stay away from those cables :rolleyes:!
 
So even though a bounce usually lasts 3 days, I should still test throughout the day just in case? Or should I give him a little break from testing?
I've finally stocked up on multiple bottles of test strips and Simon and I have gotten better at the testing routine, so I feel pretty comfortable testing him more frequently now.
 
Some cats can break bounces sooner, and not always consistently the same pattern of # of cycles in a bounce. From what I see, even Simon with his sporadic skipped shots lately has a pattern of 2-4 cycles. The tests in between can keep you out of trouble in a few ways. It gives you an indication that he is having an active cycle or not, plus could provide an early warning of a bounce breaking so that you don’t keep getting surprised at preshot.
 
Even catching a +2 often helps to see if there is going to be some further action, since for most cats, generally speaking with Lantus, onset is around +2. If you find it’s much lower than preshot, then it is wise to pay closer attention with additional tests. Last night, when it was higher, you can often expect he won’t be getting up to much.
 
Flat is fine, still in the midst of a bounce, which means no shenigans just yet, and no need to test again until preshot. Save those test strips for when you really need them. He may need a few more cycles yet before he clears the bounce. As you may have seen with a few other kitties and caregivers, this is where patience is required ;). Still do your preshot and +2 or a before bed test like you did last night, since some kitties also like to be more active at night, so it’s a good habit to get into so he doesn’t give you any surprises.

Are you still more comfortable for now following SLGS, or would you like perhaps to think a little about TR? Now that you are getting more able to test in between preshots, that is something to think about. If you have any questions about TR, I am sure we can help you along if you’d like.
 
Flat is fine, still in the midst of a bounce, which means no shenigans just yet, and no need to test again until preshot. Save those test strips for when you really need them. He may need a few more cycles yet before he clears the bounce. As you may have seen with a few other kitties and caregivers, this is where patience is required ;). Still do your preshot and +2 or a before bed test like you did last night, since some kitties also like to be more active at night, so it’s a good habit to get into so he doesn’t give you any surprises.

Are you still more comfortable for now following SLGS, or would you like perhaps to think a little about TR? Now that you are getting more able to test in between preshots, that is something to think about. If you have any questions about TR, I am sure we can help you along if you’d like.
I am definitely interested in TR. I wanted to try TR when Simon was first diagnosed, but at the time he was not cooperating with the ear tests. My other concern is my erratic summer schedule. Right now I'm taking care of a three year old (a very very clingy and mischievous three year old I might add 🤪). If TR is a more aggressive regimen, is there a higher risk of hypo situations? I can just picture rushing between checking on Simon at low levels and making sure my toddler isn't destroying something in the other room 😵‍💫
 
I am definitely interested in TR. I wanted to try TR when Simon was first diagnosed, but at the time he was not cooperating with the ear tests. My other concern is my erratic summer schedule. Right now I'm taking care of a three year old (a very very clingy and mischievous three year old I might add 🤪). If TR is a more aggressive regimen, is there a higher risk of hypo situations? I can just picture rushing between checking on Simon at low levels and making sure my toddler isn't destroying something in the other room 😵‍💫
Sorry to bump this condo but saw you didn’t get an answer. I’m new just like you, but I tried to do SLGS then switched to TR when I saw how many kitties use TR.
Using my logic only, I would think both have the same chance of hypo because the body is getting increases regardless, it’s just how fast the increases come.

I would think you test enough and post often enough for TR, but someone with more experience may weigh in later today.

Also, good luck with the 3 year old! If they and Simon get along, maybe you could involve the 3 yo with Simon’s ear pokes as a “Simon is scared and needs you here to be brave!” type thing.
Hope you have a good day! 🙂
 
Back
Top