6/26 - Olivia - DOSE INCREASE - (AMPS 125, 105@+1.5, 79@+2, 66@+3, 70@+3.75) (PMPS 124)

mosi_yazhi

Member Since 2021
Previous

Going up to .25u, potentially today?

Bast, grant me the wisdom to not kill this cat today (or any other day)

I think I did it right, but I have no idea.

I couldn't find enough syringes in the bag with consistent markings where 0 is at true zero to calculate a correct dose with the calipers just yet, so for right now, I eyeballed it as best I could.

Anyway. I'm armed with honey, MC, and HC, but let's hope I dont need them.
 
Surf safely today for your mamma, Olivia! Good luck with the increase. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Shes kinda acting odd - pacing around and a little restless.

IDK if she senses a drop coming, or if she's stretching her legs before she knows the dogs will be released from the gates of hell

(AKA my sister's bedroom. Shes still asleep. Must be nice not having to worry about getting up at the crack of dawn to medicate a pet :p)

She only at 105 for now, and had a touch more breakfast, so we'll see where the day takes us :bighug:
 
79 is good. A bit of a drop, so feed her a little LC/raw right now and test again in an hour.

You probably won't really see the effects of the increase in dose for another few cycles after the depot has had time to build.
 
:p knew it. You got this! She appears to usually nadir around +2/+3 so don't let your MC/HC trigger finger get too itchy. Maybe little LC.

Y'all know this cat better than I do sometimes, stg.

But I'll try abstaining from freaking out and carbing up prematurely.

79 is good. A bit of a drop, so feed her a little LC/raw right now and test again in an hour.

You probably won't really see the effects of the increase in dose for another few cycles after the depot has had time to build.

Gave her a tablespoon of raw, will test in a hour then, and absolutely will NOT be worry warting over it :D

(Maybe.)
 
66 @ +3.

I'm thinking this is nadir, so I'm just.... going to let her hang out, not feed and check again in another hour...?
 
I have a dummie newbie question. Olivia's spreadsheet is full of blues and greens. Why increase insulin?

I'm (TRYING) to do Tight Regulation (shooting low to STAY low). In Tight Regulation (TR), dark green numbers are preferable.

So! A non-diabetic, healthy cat is naturally supposed to be in those dark greens - sometimes even dipping into the HIGHER lime greens.

With a diabetic cat, if you can mimick a HEALTHY cat's natural glucose range for as long as possible in a cycle (keep them in the dark greens), it gives the pancreas more time to heal.

You can tell a pancreas is healing when you need to eventually decrease the dose.

(You know when to decrease a cat's insulin dose when they start touching the lime greens.)

You just follow the steps - keep them in greens, decreasing as needed, until they're at the lowest possible dose you can give (a single drop) and then you can do an Off The Juice (OTJ) trial to see if they're able to not need any insulin injections at all anymore. Then the cat is in remission!

Basically, its a bit higher stakes because you have to monitor A LOT, but a good chance at a quicker, stronger remission.
 
I have a dummie newbie question. Olivia's spreadsheet is full of blues and greens. Why increase insulin?
Thank you, Ann. I was thinking the same thing but didn't want to ask.

It makes sense though as you are getting a lot of blues. I guess we have to "bite the bullet" to get them where they need to be in order to heal.
 
Thank you, Ann. I was thinking the same thing but didn't want to ask.

It makes sense though as you are getting a lot of blues. I guess we have to "bite the bullet" to get them where they need to be in order to heal.

Yeah, but also keeping in mind the nature of these specific insulins, they have a longer 'reach' and overlap a bit, if you will.

For instance - if I took her PMPS and it was, say, 75... I COULD just be like 'well, shes in a good number, she doesnt need insulin tonight...!'

But that could just be the AM dose tapering off. If I didnt shoot, and then rechecked her at PM +2, +3, her numbers would probably be creeping back up. (+2 and +3 is where a PM shot would normally be hitting her.)

'Shoot low, to stay low.'

But yeah, biting the bullet and sucking it up, having a good stock of caffeine and test strips :blackeye:
 
Back
Top