6/26 Mary AMPS 274. At the ER vets with DKA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Mary

Member Since 2012
Still floating flat in the 250-300 range. If no change today I'll increase her dose to 0.75u

Mary sends purrs to everyone!
 
Re: 6/26 Mary AMPS 274

I agree.
I looked at your spreadsheet and two of my cats experienced similar trends, that is at first good response to insulin, the little response even with increasing dose. Smokey stableized at about 3 units by Tonis with a high does, about 8 unit Levemir and 4 units N.
Just continue with the increase if as necessary.
 
Re: 6/26 Mary AMPS 274. At the vets!!!

Mary was a little down yesterday and didn't eat much and was quieter than usual this morning. I went in to check her and she was definitely poorly so I called the vet and we're here now. The initial exam showed she was very dehydrated and they are running an istat and urine strip to figure out the next steps.

Please pray/purr for Mary. Mary is not up to smoochies today so she's just sending purrs to everyone!
 
Re: 6/26 Mary AMPS 274. At the vets!!!

Not good news. Mary's blood glucose had spiked up to 480 since this morning, she was very dehydrated and had keytones. Not certain but the vets think a UTI may have been the underlying cause but it could also be pancreatitis and now she's in DKA and her electrolytes are all out of whack. Mary's at the emergency vet on IV fluids and getting treated to get her blood sugars and electrolytes back in balance. They'll do in house testing of BG and electrolytes through the night and are also starting her on antibiotics and sending out labs/urinalysis.

So please send healing vibes to Mary to help her pull through and get healthy again.

Mary sends weak smoochies to everyone!
 
Lisa,
Sending healing prayers and thoughts to Mary. Please keep us updated...
Bob was also DKA about a week after diagnosis, and spent 3 nights in ER care.

Carl
 
Best wishes to Mary. Glad you got her in quickly. You didn't do anything to cause this. It is an example that they do not have to have sky high BGs to cause DKA. There were underlying factors that you couldn't control.

Praying for Mary. (((((Lisa)))))
 
Thanks! I spoke to the vet tech this morning and Mary is more perky and sitting up and is eating again. Her BG had come down to 171 after spiking to 488 last night. I know they were monitoring/supplementing her electrolytes last night but the tech couldn't update me on that piece. The vet will call later this morning so I'll know more then.

Mary sends smoochies to everyone and I'll be able to visit her later today
 
Thanks everyone. I just got back from visiting Mary. She is still tired but doing better and enjoyed my visit and gave me some smoochies and purrs. The vet had an emergency to deal with so I'll get her update later
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top