6/26 Jubalee AMPS 246, 288/+7, 325/+10 PMPS 343...Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kadie (Juba's Mom)

Member Since 2015
Juba's condo from 6/21:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-274-286-4-starting-over.179589/#post-1986984

Jubalee has now been increased to 1 unit after failed dose increases :(

We are trying to achieve the tight regulation protocol, and increase by .25 units if she hasn't seen at least a low low blue (or of course green!) in 6 cycles.

The waiting game is hard and challenging.

We are now feeding Jubalee part of her civvie brother's Friskies pates which are slightly higher in carbs, along with her Fancy Feast classics.

She's been staying steady in the mid 200's, but tonight threw us a curve ball with that mid 300 :(

Jubalee is eating every 2 hours, canned + raw and then cooked chicken, etc. which she absolutely loves the constant feeding.

Tested ketones today which were negative.

I weighed Jubalee today and the scale said 7.5 pounds, which means she's lost 1 pound since her last official weigh in last September, but honestly she doesn't feel thin, no backbones, etc. so hopefully my scale is a bit off.

Can anyone offer me any advice??

Thanks so much,
Kadie (Juba's mom!)
 
Keep doing what you are doing for increase. You WILL find a dose that moves her again. It would be helpful to those looking at spreadsheets if you note chnges in the Remarks column. For example, the food change described above. And the fact that you got a ketone test in.

How is Jubalee acting, feeling? The 5 P's, peeing, pooing, preening, playing, purring?
 
Keep doing what you are doing for increase. You WILL find a dose that moves her again. It would be helpful to those looking at spreadsheets if you note chnges in the Remarks column. For example, the food change described above. And the fact that you got a ketone test in.

How is Jubalee acting, feeling? The 5 P's, peeing, pooing, preening, playing, purring?

Thanks so much for the speedy reply Wendy!!

I will ad those changes in the remarks column stat!

Juba's 5 P's are great...she pees "normally" (doesn't go all the time but it's quite a bit when she does,) poops normally, preens (she loves grooming herself) plays...occasionally...she loves her catnip toys, and of course loves to purr.

One thing I have noticed with her is her ears have been slightly warmer recently....not super hot to the touch, but definitely warmer. I always compare to her civvie brother and his ears were warmer earlier today, but then cooled off.
Should I be concerned about this? Is this a blood pressure issue?
I'm so paranoid about Jubalee!
 
I sometimes felt Neko's ears to be warmer. Often it was the weather. Neko had normal BP. However, if you haven't had Jubalee's BP tested, it might be worth doing next time you are at the vet for something else. It's always good to have a baseline.
 
I sometimes felt Neko's ears to be warmer. Often it was the weather. Neko had normal BP. However, if you haven't had Jubalee's BP tested, it might be worth doing next time you are at the vet for something else. It's always good to have a baseline.

Your reply made my worries lessen so much!

The weather in my neck of the woods has been much warmer the last few days, and I've had the windows open to enjoy the fresh air.

Juba had her blood pressure taken over a year ago and it was perfect, but I would like to get it taken again just to be on the safe side. I will most likely make an appointment tomorrow.

Thanks again Wendy! :)
 
I am just to the north of you and was in Vancouver WA over the weekend. It was horribly hot there! I am sure the cats are feeling it.

Oh my gosh Wendy! I'm right next door to Vancouver! What a small world world!
Yes these past couple days have been just terrible...I'm not a heat lover! Love the sunshine though!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top