? 6/26 Ivy Amps 389, +2 120, +3 188, +3.5 135, +5 155, +8 289, +9 390 PMPS 400,+ 4 254 Bounce Dose ok?

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
6/25:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-118-6-135-9-257-pmps-357-diet-change.278892/
Ivy is on Lantus dose of 3.25 units, SLGS.
**Can someone tell from her SS what’s going on? I’m confused why she is dropping so much after her AMPS and at insulin onset +2. Yesterday am cycle saw a string of blues/ 100s.
Bouncing? She hasn’t seen very low numbers on this dose so why bounce? (I know it can be from a low they haven’t seen or are used to).
I’m not sure if I should increase dose since she’s seeing some action on this dose all of a sudden. (I know we want her to spend more time overall in lower numbers, but without the extreme dives & bouncing).

(Data is from Libre, I cross check with Contour Next when in very low Libre numbers.)
She’s not carb sensitive, doesn’t really get a good bump from LC food. She needs MC to get a good bump.

This is 2nd day Feeding new diet 50/50 (approx approx. 9.25% carbs) of combined LC 6% carb recipe with new 12.5% carb lamb & sweet potato recipe.

While on this dose, she’s been 200s /300s, but she tends to drop over 100 points from amps at +2 or so.

At around +2 to +2.75 I feed 2 tbsp soupy mix of her food (now lc/mc blend).
I am also feeding a bit Less than 1/2 her cycle food at +6 (per nutritionist’s suggestion to even out her cycle).

Yesterday after Amps she spent 4+ hours surfing in the mid to lower 100’s (on Libre).

Yesterday fed her a 2 TBSP snack LC/MC blend at +2, then 1 Tsp LC at +3 to help her surf in 100s (on Libre).
Thanks.

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
upload_2023-6-26_10-19-12.jpeg Today at amps + 3.5 dropped again. Gave 1 tsp 6% LC.
Staying in mid 100s (Libre) at +4.
She seems to be working this dose. Is this a good dose for her?
upload_2023-6-26_10-19-12.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-26_10-19-12.jpeg
    upload_2023-6-26_10-19-12.jpeg
    20.5 KB · Views: 193
Ivy spend 5 hours after AMPS under 200 BG (and lower 100s at times) today until going up again later this afternoon. Why does she suddenly seem to be dipping a bit lower and lingering there for 4-5 hours the past 3 days? She will most likely go higher this evening after PMPS and then possibly again for several hours tomorrow morning lower. Seems to be her new pattern. Still trying to decide if this dose is good for her??
 
Some cats just like to drop fast. All you can do is to try to slow down the drop with well time feedings of slightly higher carb food. Try to get the carbs on board about half an hour before she typically does her fastest part of the drop. So instead of feeding at +2 if that's after she's dropped, feed at +1.5 to try to prevent the drop.

Two things can cause bounces. First is going lower than used to, like yesterday's Libre 107. Do we know what that was on the Contour? The second thing that can cause bounces is fast drops, which is why it's good to try to slow them down if you can. Occasionally you can see bounces if they spend more time than they are used to in lower numbers, so a long stretch of blues might do it. But it'd also been a week since she saw lower numbers, so no longer used to them.

Unfortunately, we don't have data telling us what those low blues were on the Contour. With SLGS you want a dose where her nadirs (plural) are in the 90-149 range. She sees them there on the Libre, but with all that pink in there, I wouldn't call it a good dose for Ivy.
 
Some cats just like to drop fast. All you can do is to try to slow down the drop with well time feedings of slightly higher carb food. Try to get the carbs on board about half an hour before she typically does her fastest part of the drop. So instead of feeding at +2 if that's after she's dropped, feed at +1.5 to try to prevent the drop.

Two things can cause bounces. First is going lower than used to, like yesterday's Libre 107. Do we know what that was on the Contour? The second thing that can cause bounces is fast drops, which is why it's good to try to slow them down if you can. Occasionally you can see bounces if they spend more time than they are used to in lower numbers, so a long stretch of blues might do it. But it'd also been a week since she saw lower numbers, so no longer used to them.

Unfortunately, we don't have data telling us what those low blues were on the Contour. With SLGS you want a dose where her nadirs (plural) are in the 90-149 range. She sees them there on the Libre, but with all that pink in there, I wouldn't call it a good dose for Ivy.
Hi Wendy, do you think 12% mc is a good carb % to feed her before she starts to drop?
 
All you can do is try it and see if it works. It really depends on the individual cat and how food sensitive they are. Food experiments can also take a couple weeks to see effects, so you'll need to be patient on this one.
 
Pm cycle started high at 400, at around +4 she’s around 254. She likes to drop after her meal and insulin.
 
Back
Top