6/26 ELIAN - amps 394; 163 +5.75

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
Phew! We made it thru the night without any problems. I was nervous as he was dropping the first few hours but he started to go up again at +6 so I pretty much knew he was going to be okay for the night and I let him (okay, me!) sleep from +7.5 until amps. He's high again. I will continue to keep an eye in him and will get him to vet for blood work to see what's going on. Thanks for all of the support and encouragement!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98526
 
Re: 6/26 ELIAN - amps 394 Made it thru night w/o incident!

Great job, Susie! Are you going to stick with the 3u? It was a good cycle last night. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 6/26 ELIAN - amps 394 Made it thru night w/o incident!

Caryl just messaged me to say he should probably stay at 3 u but it scares me because he has gone so low on lesser doses in the past and I am going to be so busy with work for the next two weeks I can't monitor him as closely as I will need to but if you all recommend it I guess I will have to do it and hope and pray he doesn't go too low and if he does I hope I will be home to catch it. I may give this new insulin another day or so to see if there is a change for the better. If not I will up him again. Thanks.
 
Re: 6/26 ELIAN - amps 394 Made it thru night w/o incident!

If you're not comfortable with increasing to 3.0u, you can certainly hold this dose or split the difference and increase to 2.75u when you're ready.

Also, thanks for posting the info that Caryl provided. We do not encourage off board advising since there's no way to peer review the content.
 
Re: 6/26 ELIAN - amps 394 Made it thru night w/o incident!

Caryl has been a friend of mine for many years so we are in constant contact off the board! I am more comfy doing 2.75 but will wait a day or so and see how the more potent insulin affects him. Thanks!
 
Re: 6/26 ELIAN - amps 394 Made it thru night w/o incident!

Glad Elian didn't react badly to the extra juice last night.

Many of us have off board contacts w/ friends and of course discussion of our sugar babies comes up. Sienne is just reminding that dosing should be discussd where peer advice is open. You did great by bringing the comments on the board. :YMHUG:
 
Thanks Ann and I absolutely understand and do come here to discuss and ask for advice re: anything that goes on with E so although I talk with Caryl I do bring it here and mention the discussion like I did today. I don't know what I would do without all of you and Caryl, too!!!
 
Re: 6/26 ELIAN - amps 394 Made it thru night w/o incident!

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you're not comfortable with increasing to 3.0u, you can certainly hold this dose or split the difference and increase to 2.75u when you're ready.

Also, thanks for posting the info that Caryl provided. We do not encourage off board advising since there's no way to peer review the content.

It wasn't supposed to be a secret. And there was more to it than just sticking to 3 units of insulin and of course if E dipped too low from it I would expect that the dose would be lowered. I just thought all along that the reason his numbers were high was because of that old vial of Lantus. Now that I see he is hitting the blues I think Susie should just see where he goes with this new pen.

By the way, I was a friend talking to a friend. I can't take everything I say to my friend to the boards. I didn't say 'don't tell anyone". I was just giving my opinion. I hate high numbers for any period of time and anyone who has had a cat that walks on his hocks from irreversible neuropathy would understand that and would be looking out for their friend the way that I am looking out for Elian. That's all there is to it. I have nothing to gain.

I'm really sorry if anyone thinks I was giving 'off board advice'..but I just happen to have a 'friend' who is on this board because I sent her here :)

EDIT: I just read all of this and what I'm reading isn't exactly what happened. I answered Susie's post about making an appointment to go to the vet to find out why Elian's bg was so high. In my answer I mentioned that it might be a good idea to stay at 3.0 and that it really wasn't necessary to go to the vet because t appears as if the new insulin is showing you why his numbers were so high as Elian is responding now. I put it right on Facebook. It wasn't a private message. I was responding to a post. So to say that I messaged to advise to stick with 3 units is not exactly correct anyway
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top