6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+12 59

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/26 Doogle +12 85 +12.5 99

Ok done......do we feed him or wait? Thanks on SS....I am slowly learning. Yeah I knew not to roll or shake....had to retrain the hubby not to do that anymore...lol.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle +12 85 +12.5 99

You just read my mind........lol. I was just about to ask about the PMPS number...figured that is the way to do it
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99

Ok +1.....and hour later? We are discussing since we are off 30 mins. An hour later or in 30 mins? Sorry I got used to one thing and these .5 points have messed with my very very tired brain.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99

BTW, I wouldn't warm the pen or vial of Lantus. I'd keep the temperature as constant as possible for the container. Once you've drawn the dose, you can easily warm the insulin in the syringe by the warmth of your hand.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99

Sienne and Gabby said:
BTW, I wouldn't warm the pen or vial of Lantus. I'd keep the temperature as constant as possible for the container. Once you've drawn the dose, you can easily warm the insulin in the syringe by the warmth of your hand.

Oh ok, didnt know that. Well remember that next time. Wish I could go in my brain and get rid of all the Humilin stuff I have there.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99

Anne & Zener said:
Donna, you're doing great. I'll be up with you when Marje goes to bed. Keep breathing! :-D
Ok Anne, I tend to post alot it seems, so please excuse my over doing it....lol. Thank you for being with me Anne during this first time to shot at a low number.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99

Posting a lot is how we all learn. We also had to unlearn the humulin so no need to worry about that either. I'll be around after Marje goes to bed, see you then.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144

+1 144.......so far so good. Today I think was scarier than yesterday. I think i disappointed my son though, he wanted to go to dinner earlier and told him we couldnt....we were watching Doogle. He understood but I felt bad. Next stop...+2
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144

I'm still with you for another hour. That's either a respectable food spike or he's starting to bounce. See you in an hour with +2. You are doing Super!
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116

That is really good data. It's good to know he gets a +1 food spike.

I'm headed for bed and Anne will take over. I told her if he gets into green, feed two tsp low carb and retest in 30 mins.

I'd get a +3.

Hope tonight goes well ...and you get some rest.

Ni ni, Donna.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116

Okey dokey Smokey, I'm here. You're doing great and Doogle looks fabulous. Still above his PMPS at +2, so that's good and as Marje wrote, a +3 would be great. I'm not familiar with your feeding routine, but do you normally feed at pre-shot and a couple of meals early in the cycle?

I'll be up for another 2 hours at least with the test and feed routine with my guy, so I'll keep checking in.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116

Hey Anne, thanks for being with me on this. I normally feed him when he is hungry but Marjorie told me its not good to feed him +10 and +11 so I dont. I will make sure he has food out afterwards (which is usually just a can of FF). He is about 3/4 of it usually (this time he did because he was hungry). I am going to get a +3 (which is in 30 mins). He had lost so much weight on the Humilin I dont mind him eating alot (he lost almost 2.5 lbs, 1lb in just a month). I just hope he doesnt go to low because I would love to get some sleep before I have to get up at 8am. Hopefully I wont keep you up either. I have gotten pretty familiar with the feed and test routine (lather, rinse and repeat). So will post in 30....see you then :)
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116

Okey dokey, I'll be here. No worries about keeping me up. I'm off work for the summer so it's all good!

Our kitty Zener went from 15lbs to 11lbs in three months on Humulin. He also developed peripheral neuropathy on humulin. We're convinced he would not be with us today if not for this board. We asked our vet for Lantus and she had never used it with a cat before. We no longer use that vet. His weight has now stabilized at around 12 lbs and it's perfect for him, and his neuropathy has resolved.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116

Our vet had used it a few times but most of them didnt want to test. He trust us pretty well and he will at least consider things. My husband was a vet tech for him for 3 years, so we at least have a good relationship with him. I usually have all the time I want to do things since I work from home mainly but I started working for my son's old school as the administrator and teaching computer this coming school year. So we are getting things ready and doing summer school. But I still truly appreciate everything yall are doing for me and everyone else on the board. I was so thrilled to find this place last Sept. Wish I would have found it with our other one we had 7 years ago. he lived a year and half and went into a diabetic coma early one morning. So I am grateful to have found a home here.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120

+2 - +3 is usually the onset of lantus in the cycle, and +6 or so is nadir, but ECID (every cat is different) so it's hard to know until you have a lot more data on Lantus. It is possible he could surf here, also possible he could drop more and also possible he could start up with a bounce. Do you normally feed at +1, 2 and/or 3? You could feed a bit of LC now to see if that will keep him surfing and get a bit of sleep.To be safe, you may want to set an alarm for mid-cycle and get a test to make sure he is safe. Another option is to test again in an hour to see if he is on the way up. What do you think?
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120

I just fed him a little more FF since he was still a little hungry (and the other cats are eating their friskies). I am going to have my husband check again in an hour and if its greem to wake me. Its hard to tell what he will do since this is only his 8th shot total of Lantus. So I will get some sleep and you should too. If he gets to bad, i will be back hoping someone is here. Plus I have my stuff ready just in case he gets to low (hopefully that wont happen). Thank Anne for staying up with me. Night Night
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120

A little food just may get the Doog on his surfboard, and you are so right - it is hard to know what will happen so early in switching to Lantus. He will be safe with numbers above 50, but if below you can do the feeding of LC and testing every 30 minutes as Marje wrote earlier. I'll be up another hour to get a mid-cycle check on my guy, so I will keep an eye on your condo in an hour if your DH will post his numbers. Hope you get a sound sleep with no need for waking up!
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120

Hope all is going well and you are getting some rest. I am off to bed now. The east coasters will most likely be around soon. Ni ni I-)
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+10

Ok got some sleep and my husband stayed up to check him (he is so worried he is going to hypo). His numbers were:
+4 117 +6 111 +8 96 +9 92 +10 97. I am staying around till the AMPS because he is so scared of these numbers (no matter how hard I try to explain to him that they are good numbers). He just afraid he is going to hypo while he gets some sleep. I wish I could stay home to watch him but I think he will be fine. So advice please?
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+10

Morning!

Great job last night! Lovely numbers. Looks like, for now, Doogle wants to nadir late.

So today you can make u p your 30 mins by shooting 15 mins early each cycle....a.m. and p.m....or you can shoot at the same time you did last night... 10:30 I believe...and then shoot at your normal time (10:00) tonight.

I'll be here this morning so just check him about 15 mins before shot time and post ok? You can put it on this condo as +12 and if it's high enough to shoot, then you can do so and start a new condo with it as your AMPS.

All I need to know is what time you plan to shoot this morning....10:15 or 10:30?

Ps...tell DH not to worry. He will get used to seeing numbers much lower than this as Doogle improves. He's at really safe numbers right now.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+10

We will shot at 10:30. I thought the numbers were great but convincing someone else not to worry about it is not easy. He didnt sleep at all, tested him every two hours and he just now laid down till we check at +12 and shot. Doogle has been nadiring late the past couple of days it seems. I wish I would have started him on 1u instead of 2u. Would have been easier I think on the state of mind to go up in dose and not down. I will post the new number in 45 mins. Thanks Marjorie! Hope you got a good nights sleep!!!
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+10

Well..he's been used to high numbers for a long time and lantus acts so differently. I think 1u would have been way too little although we could have been really aggressive with the increases. But why have him at higher numbers any longer and right now, this dose is perfect.

If he will, have him look at other SS to see numbers the cats get. He can look at my Gracies....she likes low numbers. Also look at Rustys and he can look at Bucas...he's on an OTJ trial so he can see how a kitty looks coming down the scale.

Ok...I'll be bsck at 10:15 your time. ~O) ~O) ~O)

eta: the other thing for DH to consider is that you are in control. You are testing..that is huge! You have the tools to bring up any low numbers (food, karo), and you have us. It's always a good idea to have the hypo toolkit put together...you don't want to be out in the middle of the night looking for HC food with gravy. But as long as you are doing what you're doing with testing and posting...you can steer low numbers.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+10

Great job, Donna and DH!!! Doogle is doing so well, these are great numbers, in a nice range and flat. The hypo potential is scary, I agree, but that's why you test. As long as you are testing, he will be fine. Karo syrup will bring him up fast if he ever gets below 50. Also, as you gather more data, you will see what he tends to do and will feel more comfortable, or maybe less anxious. :lol: :lol: The main thing is these are very healthy numbers for your sweet kitty. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+12

Sorry waking up my husband was a challenge. He hadnt slept all night and had only about 4 hours yesterday
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+12

It's ok but did you retest when you got that number?

Is it possible to stall again? We might have to skip this one.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+12

Is it possible for you or DH to stall? If you can't stall, it may be necessary to skip the shot.
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+12

I dont think stalling will work today...I have to leave and my husband isnt confortable doing it so low and going to sleep. I think we may skip the AM
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+12

I've got to get to work...Sienne is jumping in to help you decide. Good luck!
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+12

I think skipping is what we will do. He is adamant about not shooting so low and not being able to test him. Hopefull this will not hurt him. Should I go ahead and feed him at least?
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+12

If you're skipping, then you do want to feed your cat (otherwise, Doogle will probably start chewing on DH's ankle).
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+12

Going to go feed him now....I gotta go to work. I will try and keep you posted if the hubby can test (if he can wake up at least). Thanks yall....update later
 
Re: 6/26 Doogle PMPS 99 +1 144 +2 116 +3 120+4 117+6 111+12

Playing it safe is a good call. Doogle and you were great last night. Since you were planning on changing you shot time this is the perfect opportunity. Since you skipped this morning, you can move the shot to whenever you want it tonight. No more nudging it up. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top