chriscleo
Member Since 2009
hi. cleo is currently on 1.75u BID lantus. she has chronic pancreatitis, lymphoma, and is on 2.5mg BID prednisolone as part of her lymphoma treatment.
i've been wondering if anyone here is battling any of these or has experience with both lantus and levemir and can tell me whether they think levemir might be a better insulin to keep cleo's diabetes in check. she's been regulated, but i may be increasing her steroid dose and as it is i've had to raise her lantus dose by 1u BID to deal with the 2.5mg prednisolone she gets now. i home test her, but her urine consistently shows sugar in it (even when her BG numbers were in the 100s at urinalysis time). i have to concentrate on battling her lymphoma, so i have to find the best way of keeping her diabetes out of the way.
anyone who has used lantus and lev both, which insulin do you think has the greatest effect on BGs? if anyone else is dealing with steroids and has used lantus, lev, or both, which do you think handled the steroid better? over time i came to believe that lev gave a flatter curve, tho i don't know if that's true as i haven't paid attention in a while.
any thoughts based on anything i've said? thanks!
i've been wondering if anyone here is battling any of these or has experience with both lantus and levemir and can tell me whether they think levemir might be a better insulin to keep cleo's diabetes in check. she's been regulated, but i may be increasing her steroid dose and as it is i've had to raise her lantus dose by 1u BID to deal with the 2.5mg prednisolone she gets now. i home test her, but her urine consistently shows sugar in it (even when her BG numbers were in the 100s at urinalysis time). i have to concentrate on battling her lymphoma, so i have to find the best way of keeping her diabetes out of the way.
anyone who has used lantus and lev both, which insulin do you think has the greatest effect on BGs? if anyone else is dealing with steroids and has used lantus, lev, or both, which do you think handled the steroid better? over time i came to believe that lev gave a flatter curve, tho i don't know if that's true as i haven't paid attention in a while.
any thoughts based on anything i've said? thanks!