6/26 Cleo--pancreatitis,lymphoma,steroid--insulin question

Status
Not open for further replies.

chriscleo

Member Since 2009
hi. cleo is currently on 1.75u BID lantus. she has chronic pancreatitis, lymphoma, and is on 2.5mg BID prednisolone as part of her lymphoma treatment.

i've been wondering if anyone here is battling any of these or has experience with both lantus and levemir and can tell me whether they think levemir might be a better insulin to keep cleo's diabetes in check. she's been regulated, but i may be increasing her steroid dose and as it is i've had to raise her lantus dose by 1u BID to deal with the 2.5mg prednisolone she gets now. i home test her, but her urine consistently shows sugar in it (even when her BG numbers were in the 100s at urinalysis time). i have to concentrate on battling her lymphoma, so i have to find the best way of keeping her diabetes out of the way.

anyone who has used lantus and lev both, which insulin do you think has the greatest effect on BGs? if anyone else is dealing with steroids and has used lantus, lev, or both, which do you think handled the steroid better? over time i came to believe that lev gave a flatter curve, tho i don't know if that's true as i haven't paid attention in a while.

any thoughts based on anything i've said? thanks! :)
 
Hi Chris,
I'm sorry to hear Cleo's going through so much. Bless you for caring so well for her. Gandalf is also 17 and had bouts with pancreatitis last year and earlier this year, has arthritis and no longer grooms himself so I just had him shaved because his hair mats so badly. He is a Maine Coon type cat too. I hope you're able to maintain Cleo's appearance for her because it's heartbreaking to see them lose their dignity. Her picture is beautiful!

I'm not sure who here has had experience with steroids, Pamela & Tigger perhaps and Sheila maybe. I have not, other than the darn Depo Medrol which is what helped Gandalf become diabetic.

As for Levemir I doubt it would be any less effected by the steroid than Lantus. Whether its ability to hold BGs more stable would be effected, I can't say either. Not much help, I'm sorry, so it comes down to - is switching worth the trouble for you? Meaning, you'd have to arrive at the best dose, figure out it's idiosyncrasies with the steroids, etc etc. It sounds like you're already on your way with Lantus and trying to make it work the best you can for her. It's also a matter of treating the diabetes around the lymphoma. Yes you want to keep her as level as possible, but the lymphoma treatment has to come first, so perhaps you sacrifice some regulation. You're already making dose adjustments accordingly and although she's dumping sugar, if her BGs are not on much of a rollercoaster, then you are successfully managing her diabetes for quality of life because she will feel better with less BG movement.

I know that is one of your questions about Levemir, would it keep her BGs more stable, but without the steroid experience, I don't have a definite answer on that question. I also have not used Lantus to compare either. So I'm looking at the bigger picture. I wish I had more for you, sorry.
 
Chris, I am sorry to hear that Cleo has lymphoma. I am sending prayers and good wishes her way.

I do not have experience with using levemir and steroids at the same time, so I can't help you there. Beau has a history with p-titis and was on steroids for it (probably contributed to diabetes, we were expecting it), but I stopped steroids long before he was diagnosed with FD.

I agree with Vicky that continuing with lantus, the insulin that you know and know how she will react to it, may be best - unless someone tells you that lev will be much better.

I'm sorry I can't offer any really useful information.

(((hugs)))
 
I am sorry you all are dealing with this, though it sounds like you are doing a superior job helping as best you can.

I've no experience with what you are asking, but there is a gal near me that may have....not sure. Her FDMB name is Cheryl & Clousea ( I may have spelled that wrong.)

You might PM her this link and see if she has anything to add...I know her clousea was on several meds for several dx, but ca't be sure what insulin she ended up with, so please give her a try and see if she can help.

Good luck and adding prayers and healing vibes. (((hugs)))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top