6/26 Cinco AMPS 240 +2 203 +4 100 +5 109 PMPS 169 +3 112 +5 74 +6 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
6/25 Recap:
.75 units
AMPS: 203
AM+4: 113
AM+6: 89
AM+7: 99

.5 units (to drain depot)
PMPS: 116 (fur shot? Guess that'll do it!)
PM+3: 120
PM+5: 135

Yesterday at Tricia's House of Chaos

Surprised to see a condo from me so early? Me, too. I tested Harvey this morning and he was up to 360 - without food!! :eek: I got a response to the e-mail I sent his IM last night, and she felt he should be seen, either by her or the regular vet, ASAP, so I called UCD and was able to get him in to see her at 11:30. The student has examined him and is off conferring with the doctor. Harvey is feeling better this morning and ate breakfast, but that BG gave me cold chills, so here we are. Don't know if we'll make it to the racetrack today or not. :)

At least I was home to see Cinco hit 100 on his reduced dose, in spite of a possible fur shot :facepalm: last night. DH will test him around +5 or so.

Minka is doing well today (anti-jinx). She CPC'd breakfast and had a big snack during fluids. I thanked her for not adding to my stress. That meter is already pegged.:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:

I would appreciate all vines and prayers you can spare. I don't know how we'll manage Harvey if he has FD. Trying to get a reading from him is a nightmare. But if it's not FD, his kidneys are worse, so I don't know what to wish for. A miracle, maybe?

I'll check back in when I know more.

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans. :bighug: Thoughts and prayers are still with Carla. Extra prayers and vine to Amy's DF, Marje's DM, Chris' DM, Molly's DM and Elise's DM.
 
Thanks, Elise.

Just talked to the IM and she's running a complete blood panel, urinalysis, testing for ketones, etc., etc. She's holding off on an ultrasound until she gets the results of these tests.
 
(((Tricia))))

I'm glad Cinco is doing fine and you figured out it wasn't him that puked yesterday but OMG on Harvey. Those numbers are :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:. Here....I think you need some more :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

If he is diabetic, you can do this. You are our superwoman. Look how wonderful all your cats are doing to all have so much going on.

Many many many tons of prayers for you all.
 
Tons and tons and tons of anti-FD prayers for Harvey!!! As Marje said, you are amazing. But we'll keep those prayers coming anyway. Yay for Minka, and not too bad for Cinco, either. I hope you can get to the track...you deserve it!
 
OMG. Not Harvey, please not Harvey! :nailbiting: Tons of good vetty vines going your way. :bighug: The 550 was probably on an AlphaTrak which reads higher than the human meter. Still yikes!!

Not completely surprising on Cinco's numbers today. One time I gave Neko a reduced dose for 3 cycles before a day I couldn't monitor and she surfed 80's most of the third cycle. :rolleyes: Be good Cinco. At least let daddybean get to the track. Yuck on the heat too.
 
Thanks for stopping by, Marje, Amy and Wendy, and thank you for the kind words and support. It means the world. I'm working on only 3.5 hours sleep, so I hope I can hold it together when I talk to the vet again. Harvey decided he felt well enough to eat right about the time I was headed to bed, so I was up an extra hour feeding three furry sharks baby food (because I can't give it to him and not to the girls, too!:rolleyes: ). Then I couldn't fall asleep for worrying about Harvey.

DH tested Cinco a while ago and he was at 109, so if he got his toes wet, we didn't catch it. That's okay. I'm good with low, low blues!

I'm still waiting for the b/w and urinalysis results. They said it would be about an hour, so sometime in the next 30 minutes, hopefully. Harvey is being so good, just laying in his carriage and watching all the people and pets (mostly dogs) go by. Luckily I had the lb in the car and he peed before we came in. Apparently he had enough left over for them to test, though!

DH won't go to the track without me. He's not too upset about missing today - it's supposed to be the hottest day of the weekend. Plus they are only practicing today, so we aren't missing anything super important, and we can watch it on TV later. He's been getting in some work (big shock) and a little fun - he's going over to Sears with his stash of gift cards to hit the hardware department! He's like a kid in a candy store there, so he's happy.

And the waiting, and stressing, continues.....:nailbiting:
 
Tricia :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Cuz Michael here:cat: Special Meows & Purrs for Harvey. Cinco, surf safe for your Momma.
 
Thanks for visiting us, Ella, Steve, Liz and Paula, and for your good wishes.

Cinco was a good boy while I was gone - surfed low blue, no new fur tufts and no peeing outside the box. (anti-jinx)

Well, I don't really have any solid answers. The big news is that there are NO ketones and no glucose in his urine! :woot: The actual number that they got for Harvey's BG was 533, but Dr. B is not convinced he is diabetic. She said he was VERY agitated during the blood draw, so the true number is probably actually lower than that. She also feels that his BGs may be elevated due to a combination of reasons that may or may not include FD. His kidney values are higher - Creatinine at 2.8, BUN at 51, but she's not ready to say the problem is worsening kidney disease. She sent some urine for a culture to see if he has a UTI, which could have played a role. She also found him to be slightly dehydrated. She feels that the main culprit is probably the Pred, so wants to decrease his dose. In order to do that, she says we need to get him on a more GI friendly diet. I'm to try like heck to get him to eat ONLY the Hill's z/d (dry and/or canned) this weekend, then do a curve on Monday and send her the results. I'm to also watch for how he's feeling - tummy upset, uncomfortable, etc. If he's doing well on the diet change, then she will have me reduce the Pred and we will continue to monitor his BGs to see if they come down. I'm also to check for ketones as much as I can - any sign of them and he's off to the hospital. If he seems to feel unwell again over the weekend, I'm to give him fluids (oh, joy!).

That's it in a nutshell. I don't know if switching his diet will work - there are other options we can try if he absolutely won't eat the z/d (he likes the dry, so she says stick with that if he won't eat the moist. Carb count is not as important right now). I know we all have little faith in prescription diets, but if this works to get his Pred dose reduced and thereby brings his BGs down, I can explore other GI-friendly diet options. This is just the easiest one to try right now as I have it on hand and I know he likes the dry.

Thank you all for your support. Please keep the prayers and vines coming. I will post more later. DH waited for me to get home to go to Sears, as he wants a new toaster and I want input on which one. He's standing at the door, ready to go.

BTW, Minka had a large snack when I got home. :) BBL.
 
I hope the tests reveal something treatable going on with Harvey and it's not FD. Good luck with the food change this weekend. Yay for Minka eating.
 
((((Tricia)))) I've been reading your adventures, and been keeping you in my thoughts. Many vines have been sent your way, even if you didn't know:p. I'm hoping the diet will help Harvey. I think you need some more of these too :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:. I'll keep all the kitties and you (and DH) in my prayers. Hugs and anti-stress vines, and any other type of vines you need are being sent!! You are a superwoman:smuggrin:

(PS, good boy, Cinco, nice blue! and good girl, Minka, to eat your fuds:))
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Harvey it is already chaotic enough at your place! I'm so glad everyone else is behaving while this is going on - keep up the good work guys. Everything crossed that the change in diet does it for him :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Tricia, I sure hope the diet change allows the pred to be tapered. I know of other kitties that had high BG on it and had to go off it. Sending more vines and lots of these m:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: and I agree whoever it was that said you are superwoman.
 
(((Tricia))), I'm adding to the hug pile. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope Harvey will do well with the food, and that you will have a good night's sleep tonight. Sending many vines your way!
 
FWIW....and this may not be helpful...My Dad seems to have "chemo-induced diabetes." He had never had a BG problem until this year, after 11 rounds of chemo. When he had his 3 month chemo break thanks to the pneumonia, he was off his diabetes meds (primarily metformin, with some Lantus tossed in right after he got out of the hospital from the pneumonia.) Once he restarted chemo, he did have to go back on the metformin to control the BGs. Watching the diet does help a bit. Unfortunately, though, it's that trade-off...chemo and diabetes meds, or no chemo and the unspeakable. One thing to remember is that the high BGs can be controlled....I know Harvey is a difficult patient, but sometimes it is that balancing act...

Sending prayers that the diet change allows you to wean Harvey off the pred. Would something like one of the LC dry foods (young again or evo) fit the bill for Harvey? Just tossing some ideas out there....

I'm glad Minka had a great snack, and I hope you found an awesome toaster!!
 
image02020202020.jpg


sending a pile of hugs.....
what a day you have had.....hoping for the best and easiest to deal with....
 
Oh my goodness (((((Tricia)))) :bighug::bighug::bighug: Truckloads of prayers and vines that Harvey will respond to the diet change and be able to be weaned off of the pred. It is so true, you have handled everything else that has been thrown your way, above and beyond I would say. So I just know that whatever happens, you will stay in the moment and not worry about a future that is yet unknown, because that is how strong and resiliant you are!!! Continuing vines for Minka and Sasha and love and scritches for all of your babies!
 
Thank you for visiting us, Carla, Rachel, Serryn, Elise Josie, Lori, Amy, Rhiannon, Ruth and Suki.

Cinco seems to be rocking his reduced dose. I'm not sure he understands that he's supposed to be surfing safely so we can leave him all day tomorrow and Sunday without concern. :rolleyes:

I was beginning to think Harvey was my kryptonite (and really, Marje, Amy and Elise, I am NOT superwoman. Right now I feel like a whipped puppy). I served him z/d moist, and he didn't want anything to do with it. He's begged and searched for something else to no avail (this is killing me). Since he does like the dry, I got the bright idea to crush some and sprinkle it on the moist. No sale. I added a handful of whole pieces. I'm not sure when, but he's eaten about half of it. I think hunger won out. This is going to be a long weekend! He keeps looking at me like What did I do wrong, Mama? Why are you trying to starve me? Argh! :(

Minka ate all her dinner. And seconds and thirds. I called a halt then, afraid of a scarf and barf. Trying not to get too excited. Might be a different story tomorrow. I'll give her a snack soon.

Sasha is feeling very neglected. She is an expert at causing massive guilt in a bean. I try to give her lots of attention, but I only have so much time.

We did not get a toaster. The one we decided on (DH researched online) was not available in the stores, so I'll be ordering it tonight. I did, however, find a new can opener - the kind that takes the whole top off without leaving any sharp edges. I've been looking for one for ages. So it wasn't a totally wasted trip.

@rhiannon and shadow, who doesn't love a kitten pile???? Thanks!! I feel better.

@Amy&TrixieCat, it was helpful. The IM didn't mention the possibility of his chemo being involved, but it has crossed my mind. At this point I think we're doing process of elimination.

We'll get to the racetrack tomorrow, unless someone pulls a fast one on me (Cinco, you behave!). I will drown Cinco's food in the autofeeder in Forti Flora, to keep Harvey from eating it. Paws crossed that works. If not, he'll spend Sunday in isolation.

Still got meds to distribute and fluids to administer. Haven't given up hope of Cinco's visiting the lagoon....
 
Thanks, Bron. I can't argue with you. Unfortunately, problems aren't handed out based on need. :rolleyes:

Obviously, Cinco did not get the memo about the reduced dose preventing him from going too deep. Not that 70 is too deep, but I really didn't expect him to go below 100 on this dose. Shows what I know. :D Thing is, I really need to get to bed - have to get up in 5.5 hours and only got 3.5 hours of sleep last night. But he's dropping, so I have to test him again..... sigh.

Harvey finally let hunger get the better of him and ate most of his food. Bean - 1, Cat - 0. Tune in for the rematch tomorrow.

Minka had another nice snack with her fluids. :)

I'm going to play some mindless games and sip my adult beverage while waiting for the next test. Then, hopefully, it's off to bed. Won't be posting until tomorrow evening, hopefully!
 
I hope you are at the track having fun ...you deserve it especially after the last few days with Harvey. I'm glad he ate last night.

If you have any occasion to take him back to the vet, this is where a fructosamine would be handy. Makes not like our FDs that we are testing every day multiple times and if he's hard to home test, a fruc test could tell you what his avg BG has been and if he's been high recently. Keep in mind that it takes a bit of time to spill sugar into the urine so if he spiked up at the vet yesterday due to stress, I wouldn't expect his urine to have immediately shown sugar. But I'm sending tons of vines that it was a blip, he can come down off the pred, and his BGs will stay purrrrfect.
 
I'm gone for a couple of days and Harvey throws you such a stinkin' curve. Darn! Bushels, truckloads, heck freight-train cars of vines off on special delivery to you and your fur family.

Everyone, listen up. The bean is running on fumes, ok? Do not, repeat, do not drain the tank anymore. She could use a pit stop for a little breather and refill.

Tricia....just hugs. And light. And then some more hugs.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top