Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
Member Since 2011
6/25 Recap:
.75 units
AMPS: 203
AM+4: 113
AM+6: 89
AM+7: 99
.5 units (to drain depot)
PMPS: 116 (fur shot? Guess that'll do it!)
PM+3: 120
PM+5: 135
Yesterday at Tricia's House of Chaos
Surprised to see a condo from me so early? Me, too. I tested Harvey this morning and he was up to 360 - without food!!
I got a response to the e-mail I sent his IM last night, and she felt he should be seen, either by her or the regular vet, ASAP, so I called UCD and was able to get him in to see her at 11:30. The student has examined him and is off conferring with the doctor. Harvey is feeling better this morning and ate breakfast, but that BG gave me cold chills, so here we are. Don't know if we'll make it to the racetrack today or not. 
At least I was home to see Cinco hit 100 on his reduced dose, in spite of a possible fur shot
last night. DH will test him around +5 or so.
Minka is doing well today (anti-jinx). She CPC'd breakfast and had a big snack during fluids. I thanked her for not adding to my stress. That meter is already pegged.


I would appreciate all vines and prayers you can spare. I don't know how we'll manage Harvey if he has FD. Trying to get a reading from him is a nightmare. But if it's not FD, his kidneys are worse, so I don't know what to wish for. A miracle, maybe?
I'll check back in when I know more.
Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans.
Thoughts and prayers are still with Carla. Extra prayers and vine to Amy's DF, Marje's DM, Chris' DM, Molly's DM and Elise's DM.
.75 units
AMPS: 203
AM+4: 113
AM+6: 89
AM+7: 99
.5 units (to drain depot)
PMPS: 116 (fur shot? Guess that'll do it!)
PM+3: 120
PM+5: 135
Yesterday at Tricia's House of Chaos
Surprised to see a condo from me so early? Me, too. I tested Harvey this morning and he was up to 360 - without food!!
At least I was home to see Cinco hit 100 on his reduced dose, in spite of a possible fur shot
last night. DH will test him around +5 or so. Minka is doing well today (anti-jinx). She CPC'd breakfast and had a big snack during fluids. I thanked her for not adding to my stress. That meter is already pegged.



I would appreciate all vines and prayers you can spare. I don't know how we'll manage Harvey if he has FD. Trying to get a reading from him is a nightmare. But if it's not FD, his kidneys are worse, so I don't know what to wish for. A miracle, maybe?
I'll check back in when I know more.
Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans.
Thoughts and prayers are still with Carla. Extra prayers and vine to Amy's DF, Marje's DM, Chris' DM, Molly's DM and Elise's DM.

Special Meows & Purrs for Harvey. Cinco, surf safe for your Momma.
The actual number that they got for Harvey's BG was 533, but Dr. B is not convinced he is diabetic. She said he was VERY agitated during the blood draw, so the true number is probably actually lower than that. She also feels that his BGs may be elevated due to a combination of reasons that may or may not include FD. His kidney values are higher - Creatinine at 2.8, BUN at 51, but she's not ready to say the problem is worsening kidney disease. She sent some urine for a culture to see if he has a UTI, which could have played a role. She also found him to be slightly dehydrated. She feels that the main culprit is probably the Pred, so wants to decrease his dose. In order to do that, she says we need to get him on a more GI friendly diet. I'm to try like heck to get him to eat ONLY the Hill's z/d (dry and/or canned) this weekend, then do a curve on Monday and send her the results. I'm to also watch for how he's feeling - tummy upset, uncomfortable, etc. If he's doing well on the diet change, then she will have me reduce the Pred and we will continue to monitor his BGs to see if they come down. I'm also to check for ketones as much as I can - any sign of them and he's off to the hospital. If he seems to feel unwell again over the weekend, I'm to give him fluids (oh, joy!). 