6/26 Chuck 411 PMPS; 146 +3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
And he's up again. Finished out last night with a 279 +9, so I was halfway expecting a big preshot number. Is it because I'm changing doses based on his preshot numbers?? Or is it time for a vet visit?
 
Re: 6/26 Chuck 428 AMPS

With PZ changing doses isn't the problem. If you will be around to test the cycle you could increase the dose, you have room to go lower at nadir but it might also make the bounces a little bigger but maybe that will force him to get used to the lower numbers faster. I don't know.

Checking for Ketones while they are unregulated is the most important thing you can do.
 
Hi, Sue! Yes, I'm trying to settle him a bit by leaving out frozen cubes in the morning, about 1/4 can at lunch and leave a cube, 1/2 can at supper, another 1/4 can about 1-2 hours later. He gets 1/2 can and a test around PM+9 or 10, simply because the 2 youngest want to eat at that time (don't ask why they want to eat at 2 in the morning!). Then, at 5 a.m., his normal AM shot time, I test, give his shot, and another 1/2 can.

Overall, he's getting about 2 1/2 cans a day, sometimes more, seldom less. He's not food agressive at all, so whenever Dallas (civie) decides he's done with his food (empty plate or not) and heads for Chuck's, Chuck just leaves. If I catch that, I'll take Chuck's food and Chuck into the bedroom so he can eat in peace. He generally eats everything on his plate if he's left alone. All four cats have the same LC FF flavor at the same time on the same plates, but for some reason, it's always musical plates at meal time. Guess the food on the other plate looks better than the food on the plate in front of you...
 
About your question about changing the dose on preshot vs nadir. With ProZinc, you consider both - nadir and preshot. If he has a -50 nadir, you reduce the dose, regardless of the preshot (which often would be a bounce) If he is in the 300s at preshot and the 150+ at nadir, definitely a dose increase is in order. When he is in double digits at nadir and the 300s at preshot, we tend to think bounce and hold the dose.

I think you are doing the best you can, considering how much he bounces from the nadir. One of the most frustrating things about this sugar dance is that some cats bounce, for a long time. Sometimes for a year or more. There is no way to make it go away or keep it from happening. The encouraging thing I see with Chuck is that he is bouncing in safe numbers, not from 40s to 400s like he was doing with Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top