6/26 Boo+5 44,+5.5 85,+6 96,+8 125, +11 392 Dosing advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmcd65

Member Since 2011
Good Morning All!

Everything seems ok here in Boo-ville. She's being stubborn about eating this morning and her numbers are high after the reduced dose last night, but we're all still here!

Happy Sunday to all!!

Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361

Good morning! Fingers and paws crossed that Miss Boo will decide to participate in the wet dining experience this morning! You're doing a great job with the transition... hang in there!!

Hope you have a lovely day!!
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361

Good Morning Carla!

I am happy to read you are trying to transition to wet food. Really, if you can do that Boo will be much better off.

None of my kitties were crazy about Wellness when we tried it. Honestly I had foster cats on hand at the time and even they snubbed their noses at it! :lol: Our store was debating on whether to carry it or not and the boss sent me home with 'samples' to try. Imagine my surprise in reporting that 9 cats turned their tails down ohmygod_smile. Guess they were too spoiled at the time. :razz:


So you may need to try several brands and flavors and don't get discouraged!
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361

Hi Boo! Please eat some wet. It's so much better for you!

Junior has been on wet for the last few months but this week he started getting finicky again. Here's a May post with some tips and tricks on enticing cats to eat. Junior didn't care for parmesan cheese but he loves oregano. Now he's eating more. Weird, I know.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361, +2 362

Good Morning, Christy, Blue and MG! She's grumpy this morning... maybe a reaction to her high numbers yesterday. She ate a little dry at +2. I took the dry up and left the wet down. I'm hoping she will get hungry enough to eat some. Giving the FF Salmon a try this morning. It's so crazy that she ate that Wellness CORE salmon like she was on CRACK yesterday. Lapped it UP! Now she growls at it. :-x

Gonna finally get out and spend some time with my dad today for his birthday, so Boo best cooperate with numbers!

Happy Sunday, everyone!
xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361, +2 362

Hi Carla,
Enjoy your day with your dad and wish him a happy birthday for us. Good luck with the wet food transition. Beth's ("Blue") cats didn't like Wellness turkey, but Rusty loves it; he eats it almost exclusively. He adores Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets classic, but only gets a small portion of it as a treat (it tends to raise his blood glucose even though it is low in carbs: every cat is different--ECID). I hope you will find a food that Boo will like! I understand that she has been eating Purina D/M dry food. Have you considered grinding some of that in a coffee grinder or spice mill and sprinkling a little on her wet foods?

Have a fine day,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361, +2 362

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Have you considered grinding some of that in a coffee grinder or spice mill and sprinkling a little on her wet foods?

Have a fine day,
Ella & Rusty

Genius. Getting out my old grinder now!

P.S. She really did a snifffffff at my open bottle of Italian Seasoning. Hmmmmm..... I feel like a kitty chef!

Thanks everyone!
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361, +2 362

Hang in there, it so makes a difference when the kitty eats wet. I can certainly think of easier things to accomplish than getting a cat to change their mind @-)
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361, +2 362

You are speaking truth, Bev!!!

She has been whining for food for the last hour. I've tried several forms of wet combination and she nibbled at 1 of them for a second and then growled. I just put some straight canned tuna on a plate and she ate some of that. At least it helps get her used to eating a wet texture. I am at least as stubborn as she is.... may the best woman win.
:twisted:

Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361, +2 362

One crazy thing I did a few years ago while trying to convince one of my civvies that wet really is better is that I literally scooped individual kibbles into the wet, and served them on a plate like little hors d'oeurves. Yes, I believe this was the exact moment that I was certified as a crazy cat lady. Unfortunately, it didn't change Noah's mind about wet food, but maybe something like that will work for Boo?

Another thing I tried was hiding wet food under the kibbles; over time I changed the proportions, so there was more wet than kibbles. This one worked for awhile, but one day a light bulb went off and Noah realized that that mushy stuff wasn't crunching quite the right way...

No luck over here, but perhaps Boo may play along! Good luck!
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361, +2 362

Good morning Carla and Boo,
You both are doing really well, remember baby steps .... how is Boo feeling? I have Payne and nine civvies, and when I changed over to wet it was quite an experience! ohmygod_smile I had one of my little girls who would stand over where I used to keep the bowl of dry, for hours!! there was no bowl except in her head! it took a few months before she quit doing that .... but now at feeding time (at the zoo) EVERYONE lines up!

Have a great day with your Dad! everything will fall into place, I promise!

Nancy and Payne
(who will eat ANYTHING!! thank God!!)
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361, +2 362

Thank you guys. Boo continues to refuse the wet food today. I wonder if she was more apt to eat it yesterday because her numbers were better? She's been high today because of my underdose last night and maybe she just doesn't feel good. I'm about to have to give her some dry because she hasn't eaten for probably 4 hours. I knew in the back of my mind it couldn't be as easy as yesterday seemed!!!!

Good news is, i left the house today and she lived! YAY! So did I! YAY!! :razz:

Will test again in a bit....
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361, +2 362, +7 318

YYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! One last ditch effort before I put down the dry!!! She went to where her bowl has been forever and looked at me. I put down a plate of the following; 1/2 small can of FF Classic Ocean Whitefifsh and Tuna Feast with real tuna juice mixed in and a little dry kibble/treat dust on top. She ate every bit of it. Little turd has been holding out on me!!!!! tee hee!!! I suppose hunger is the best motivator afterall.

YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Carla

ETA: 90 minutes after last wet food, she is asking for it again. :lol:
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361, +2 362, +7 318 Ate Wet!

Hey Carla,

Yay Boo, see we told you wet was yummy noms, now just keep eating that and you will feel so much better. Musette highly endorses the canned wet nom-noms here. Just not to sure about this crazy lady she just met yesterday sticking her every couple of hours...lol.

Those numbers should start coming down once she gets switched out to her new diet. But much better than the nose dive on tuesday, huh?

Anyhow, just thought I would pop in and wave hi, your doing great with Miss Boo.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361, +2 362, +7 318 Ate Wet!

So great to hear that Boo ate wet again....and see...her numbers are ok!!!

Have a great day, Carla.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361, +2 362, +7 318, +11 250

Thanks Mel! We'll keep at it!

Marjorie (or anyone monitoring), her numbers are going DOWN as I head into her PMPS. Should that worry me? I'm assuming I should shoot the regular 1 unit, but I'm just trying to prepare myself for anything strange that might happen (and probably will!) since she has been sliding basically since +2.

Opinions most welcome!!

Thanks
Carla

ETA: I am going to shoot at +12 (in 15 minutes) and then go out to dinner. I will not be able to get a +1, but definitely a +2. And I don't think I'll have any trouble getting her to eat after her shot. She's asking for food. :smile:
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361,+2 362,+7 318,+11 250 eyes?

looks good! No problem shooting this, as long as you think she'll eat. It looks like she is just clearing out the high numbers that were left over from the skipped shot (refilling the shed).

Fishy food is what finally, finally convinced my Mickey to switch to wet food. For him, the magic food was Wellness Turkey & Salmon. Now he doesn't like it, but he eats Fancy Feast.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361,+2 362,+7 318,+11 250 eyes?

I think this is the first time i've visited your condo...but you sure have me laughing!

happy bday to your dad..and Boo...EAT YOUR FUDS!

celi & binks
 
Re: 6/26 Boo AMPS 361,+2 362,+7 318,+11 250 eyes?

Thanks Libby! That's exactly what I wanted to know!!

Nice to meetcha Celi!!

Running out the door..... and Boo just put the HURT on some wet food!

YAY!
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo PMPS 327, +2 240

The wet food is a HIT (at least today). :-D I think it helps a LOT when she is in comfy numbers. When she is too high, she doesn't seem interested in trying anything. But for today, SUCCESSSSS! And the other two cats feel like they have hit the JACKPOT. Wet food used to be used for treats with them. Now they feel like ROCKSTARS!

xoxoxoxo
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo PMPS 327, +2 240, +3 167 eyes?

Ok.... Is she dropping too fast? I can't get her interested in dry food, which is very strange, but she has eaten wet food several times during +13, +14 time frame.

Thanks!!
CArla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo PMPS 327, +2 240, +3 167 eyes?

Step away from the dry!

Give Boo some canned food and let's see if that will get her slowing down.

When you see the drop at +2, it tells you it could be a busy cycle. Ordinarily, your +2 should be about the same as your pre-shot number.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo PMPS 327, +2 240, +3 167, +3.5 123

Thanks, Sienne. She actually wouldn't eat the dry! She is eating canned now (FF Classic) with some tuna juice on it. She also ate some at +1 and +3.

I hate these fast drops. Thanks for chiming in!

Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo PMPS 327, +2 240, +3 167, +3.5 123

Carla,

If it helps to calm your nerves some go look at Musette's spreadsheet or condo for today. We've been doing the steep drop tango today too...lol Just stay on top of Boo's numbers and feed her through the drops and you both will be fine. I'm actually jealous of her numbers right now :lol: Now that she's found out that canned is yummy let's keep it that way. :-D


Mel, Maxwell, Musette, and The Fur Gang.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo PMPS 327, +2 240, +3 167, +3.5 123

Thanks Mel.... I suppose I should test ever half hour???

Hope your little nugget gets leveled out soon!!
xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo PMPS 327, +2 240, +3 167, +4 71 Help?!

Guess who's back??? Me :lol: :lol:

She's at a very safe number but that is a quick drop. Normally we would not give any HC yet but I think you might feel better if you got her slowed down. What is the highest %carb food you have there?

eta: I gotcha....you can take the 911 off when you have a second ;-)
 
Re: 6/26 Boo PMPS 327, +2 240, +3 167, +4 71 Help?!

Thanks Marj. She is down to 69 and I can't get her to eat anything. She is just not interested.

The highest carb wet I have would be FF Elegant Medley Wild Salmon, but she has never eaten it.

I can't even get her to eat her treats.

Please tell me what number I need to start administering Karo?

thsnk
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo PMPS 327, +2 240, +3 167, +4 71 Help?!

Carla: are you at +4.5? It helps me to know where you are when you test so I can tell if her drop is slowing down. If she's slowing down on her own and she won't eat, can you just rub a little gravy on her gums? Sort of unorthodox but it's a little soon to use the karo. Don't be scared...she'll be fine and if she drops into the low 50s, you can rub a little karo if it helps you feel better. But let's try gravy first.

eta: just saw it's +4.25 so her drop has really slowed down because there is no difference between 71 and 69. Can you get her to eat any canned food because it might get her to surf. Don't give karo yet...she's PLENTY safe.

It also takes about 20-30 mins to see the results of food/gravy so if you recheck at +4.5, she may not be showing it yet. However, it will tell you if she has at least decided to stop....if it makes you feel better to test at +4.5.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo PMPS327,+2 240,+3 167,+4 71,+4.25 69

Just got her to eat a little more of her wet food with treat dust on top. I also put a bit of Whiskas tuna sauce (from the pouch) on top.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo PMPS327,+2 240,+3 167,+4 71,+4.25 69

OK..I have to go feed Gracie her +1. BRB....please post the next number when you test but it needs to be at least 20 mins after you feed her. So if you just fed her, wait 20.

We call this wash, rinse, repeat. So what that means is TEST, FEED, and do it again until it's not necessary to do it. Quite frankly, she is looking really good if she can hold in the 60s!!

Hang in there...I won't be long.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +3 167,+4 71,+4.25 69,+4.5 52!!

She dropped down to 52 at +4.5 and growled a lot. I put some Karo on her. Not sure if I can get her to eat more.....

nailbite_smile
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +3 167,+4 71,+4.25 69,+4.5 52!!

Ok..I'm back. Can you give her some HC gravy now please? If you can get her to eat a tsp, that's also good but you don't want her to get full.

eta: we cross posted. If you can't get her to eat, it's ok to rub some karo on her gums or maybe she'll lick it off your fingers? Keep in mind that it will wear off quickly so food is best.

Do you have any Temptations treats? I know some of the folks use those to bump them up.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +3 167,+4 71,+4.25 69,+4.5 52!!

Carla: don't be nervous. You are in control. You can do this. Testing, food, and if you have to...karo... are your friends. She looks like a kitty that is going to give you some low numbers so you gotta breathe and know that you are empowered to handle them. Plus..we're all here!! :-D I guarantee there are others watching. So....you're doing fine!!!
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +3 167,+4 71,+4.25 69,+4.5 52!!

Ok...rub more karo on her gums. Can you tell me how much food/karo you've given her please?

Be sure you give her a liberal amount of karo on the gums.

eta: and test again in 15-20 mins.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +3 167,+4 71,+4.25 69,+4.5 52, +5 44!!

I've given her 4 or 5 finger tips. Not sure how much of it got in there. She will not eat anything.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +4 71,+4.25 69,+4.5 52, +5 44,+5.24 64

AWESOME!!! Great job. Ok....you must stay on top of this. You can give her a break and recheck in 30 mins. Best thing is if she will eat ...even HC gravy. Is that possible? She needs something to hold her numbers up.

You are doing fantastic. I'm so proud of you!! Any questions? If not, I'll see you in 30 but I have my laptop right next to me to monitor you.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +4 71,+4.25 69,+4.5 52, +5 44,+5.25 64

Carla: she earned a reduction tonight so tomorrow morning, you want to decrease her by .25u bid. K? If you are shooting 1u now, then tomorrow you will shoot .75u bid.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +4 71,+4.25 69,+4.5 52, +5 44,+5.25 64

She is not interested at all in food. I just got her to eat some treats. Bout to test again.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +4 71,+4.25 69,+4.5 52, +5 44,+5.25 64

OK. I'm here. Just had to test/feed Grace. Just post when you have the number. Thanks! Doing great!
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +4 71,+4.25 69,+4.5 52, +5 44,+5.25 64

She is up to 85 now and is eating wet food in her bowl.

I do have a question. 2 actually.

What is a shootable number in the morning? Yes, I will gladly do the reduction... but what is my magic number that I should not shoot if it's below?

Secondly, what would have happened to Boo had I been at work tonight? Or if I had fallen asleep after I tested her at at +3? She dropped from 167 to 44 in 2 hours.

Thank you for your calm nature. I was actually much calmer this time... But 3 near hypos in a week?!! What's going on with her?!

Breathing easier now
xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +4.25 69,+4.5 52, +5 44,+5.25 64, +5.5 85

NICE!! You still need to keep testing until you get a couple more rising numbers. I'd probably do one more in 30 and if she's up, check in an hour.

Tomorrow: what are you comfortable shooting and are you leaving tomorrow for work? What time? Will you be able to get any tests in before you leave?

If you hadn't been there tonight, well....it's hard to say. She might have brought herself up and then bounced hard tomorrow.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +4.25 69,+4.5 52, +5 44,+5.25 64, +5.5 85

She has bounced every other day. What am I going to do with her?!

TOMORROW: I will need to shoot her at 6:00 a.m. and walk out the door at 8:00 a.m. If I stall, I still need to leave at 8. I will be back at noon to test, then not again until 5:30 p.m.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo +4.25 69,+4.5 52, +5 44,+5.25 64, +5.5 85

This happens when a kitty switches from dry to wet food. The dose may need more adjusting downward even from your new dose tomorrow. As far as the bouncing goes, totally normal :-D :-D When her liver gets used to normal numbers, she'll eventually stop bouncing.

Here's what I would do tomorrow: are you up to post a +11? That would be the best thing to do because the really experienced folks regarding dosing are on the east coast. If you post your +11, they can help you with your situation. If she's bouncing really high, you can probably shoot the new dose without a problem, get a +2 before you leave; if she's coming down again, you can feed her HC before you go. If she's low, they will discuss the options with you.

How does that sound?

You did really great tonight. I'm a west coaster so I'll be up at least 1-1/2 more hours so go ahead and post her next numbers so I'll know she's coming up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top