Linda and Bear Man
Member Since 2009
Last condo two weeks ago: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17043&p=168733#p168733
Link to test results: http://docs.google.com/fileview?id=0Bwg ... y=CL_nzPgC
Bear has not been feeling well over the past two weeks. I feel like he is slowly slipping away from me. He has had BG's in the 300's, which is unheard of for him. He is getting weaker and having more trouble getting around. He can't climb into his sleeping basket any more, so I have put flat beds on the floor for him. He prefers to spend most of his time lying on the bathroom floor by his water dish, so I also put a little padded bed there for him to lie on. On Thursday I became concerned after Bear was vomiting for several days in a row, which is unusual for him. I had just had b/w done three weeks ago. On physical examination, the vet noted tachycardia, with his heart racing at 240 BPM. The results came back with his PLI slightly elevated, renal values somewhat stable, anemia stable, and his T4 extremely elevated. We are adjusting his Tapazole upwards by 25%, and rechecking in two weeks. While it is possible that the hyperthyroidism is making his renal values appear better than they "really" are, I was grateful that his RBC and hematocrit had not declined. We are retesting his CBC frequently, and when his PCV/hematocrit drop to .19 or lower, we will start Darbepoeitin shots. I have such a bad feeling about it. It could make him more comfortable, or it could kill him. The vet suggests that we draw a "finish line" for ourselves if he has an antibody reaction. Rather than try to keep him alive on transfusions, we would take it as an indication from him that he is too tired to fight any more. That's the plan. Maybe it will help him feel more comfortable, but I do have to accept that this sort of drug is one that is used in the last weeks or months of life. But we aren't there today, and I am glad of that. It makes me sad that these Old Timer condos are chronicling his decline, and sometimes I am too sad to open a condo or visit much.
Teddy takes good care of Bear:
p.s. Can someone tell me if my SS is visible?
Link to test results: http://docs.google.com/fileview?id=0Bwg ... y=CL_nzPgC
Bear has not been feeling well over the past two weeks. I feel like he is slowly slipping away from me. He has had BG's in the 300's, which is unheard of for him. He is getting weaker and having more trouble getting around. He can't climb into his sleeping basket any more, so I have put flat beds on the floor for him. He prefers to spend most of his time lying on the bathroom floor by his water dish, so I also put a little padded bed there for him to lie on. On Thursday I became concerned after Bear was vomiting for several days in a row, which is unusual for him. I had just had b/w done three weeks ago. On physical examination, the vet noted tachycardia, with his heart racing at 240 BPM. The results came back with his PLI slightly elevated, renal values somewhat stable, anemia stable, and his T4 extremely elevated. We are adjusting his Tapazole upwards by 25%, and rechecking in two weeks. While it is possible that the hyperthyroidism is making his renal values appear better than they "really" are, I was grateful that his RBC and hematocrit had not declined. We are retesting his CBC frequently, and when his PCV/hematocrit drop to .19 or lower, we will start Darbepoeitin shots. I have such a bad feeling about it. It could make him more comfortable, or it could kill him. The vet suggests that we draw a "finish line" for ourselves if he has an antibody reaction. Rather than try to keep him alive on transfusions, we would take it as an indication from him that he is too tired to fight any more. That's the plan. Maybe it will help him feel more comfortable, but I do have to accept that this sort of drug is one that is used in the last weeks or months of life. But we aren't there today, and I am glad of that. It makes me sad that these Old Timer condos are chronicling his decline, and sometimes I am too sad to open a condo or visit much.
Teddy takes good care of Bear:
p.s. Can someone tell me if my SS is visible?