6/26 Bear Man Old Timer Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Bear Man

Member Since 2009
Last condo two weeks ago: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17043&p=168733#p168733

Link to test results: http://docs.google.com/fileview?id=0Bwg ... y=CL_nzPgC

Bear has not been feeling well over the past two weeks. I feel like he is slowly slipping away from me. He has had BG's in the 300's, which is unheard of for him. He is getting weaker and having more trouble getting around. He can't climb into his sleeping basket any more, so I have put flat beds on the floor for him. He prefers to spend most of his time lying on the bathroom floor by his water dish, so I also put a little padded bed there for him to lie on. On Thursday I became concerned after Bear was vomiting for several days in a row, which is unusual for him. I had just had b/w done three weeks ago. On physical examination, the vet noted tachycardia, with his heart racing at 240 BPM. The results came back with his PLI slightly elevated, renal values somewhat stable, anemia stable, and his T4 extremely elevated. We are adjusting his Tapazole upwards by 25%, and rechecking in two weeks. While it is possible that the hyperthyroidism is making his renal values appear better than they "really" are, I was grateful that his RBC and hematocrit had not declined. We are retesting his CBC frequently, and when his PCV/hematocrit drop to .19 or lower, we will start Darbepoeitin shots. I have such a bad feeling about it. It could make him more comfortable, or it could kill him. The vet suggests that we draw a "finish line" for ourselves if he has an antibody reaction. Rather than try to keep him alive on transfusions, we would take it as an indication from him that he is too tired to fight any more. That's the plan. Maybe it will help him feel more comfortable, but I do have to accept that this sort of drug is one that is used in the last weeks or months of life. But we aren't there today, and I am glad of that. It makes me sad that these Old Timer condos are chronicling his decline, and sometimes I am too sad to open a condo or visit much.

Teddy takes good care of Bear:

34323_1515299440914_1187302405_1482.jpg


p.s. Can someone tell me if my SS is visible?
 
((Linda))

Your condos more than chronicle what a wonderful life you've given Bear and just how much you love him. You are an incredible example of someone who is devoted to her kitties and how they are devoted to you and to each other.
 
((Linda))

My heart goes out to you. It's so hard to see them start to wind down... But you must try to enjoy the time you have left- none of us ever know how much time we have with them... Life is so fragile - I'm reminded of this daily lately.

In the meantime, know that you have given Bear a great life - look at all you've done for him, he was sooo lucky to find you (and you him). He knows that you are going to continue to take good care of him and that should be a comfort to the both of you...

Thank you for sharing that picture...
 
Dare (((((Linda))))) First off: yes the link is visible and it works just fine.... :razz:
Second....I love that picture of your two boys...Teddy really does take good care of his brother....so sweet.
And thirdly Linda....we are all interested in reading your posts...we love you guys and are thinking of you all the time.
Life is precious but the time is fleeting....we never have enough time with our loved ones. It is sad but a big part of Life...
The love we share and show to each other is what matters in the end, isn't it?
We all understand that sometimes you don't feel up to opening a condo...writing things down is a difficult thing to do....
But your visits to all our condos is a welcomed joy and I look forward to reading all your posts to us all.

Our prayers are with Bear Man ...and you and Teddy too....this is a difficult time for you and you are showing Bear Man all the love in your heart. Trying to keep him comfortable at this time is so important. I wish that things could be different for you guys...
Bear Man's seat at the bar is all ready for him at the full moon party tonight....when he is here partying with all his friends, he is rejuvenated and vibrant. If that is any consolation to you...he is young in spirit and shares his wealth of information and guidance with all the younger ones with an unselfish exuberance. He is wonderful!! You and Teddy and Bear Man are an inspiration to us...we love you and send a million prayers and HUGS to you all..... :YMHUG:
 
(((Linda))) (((Bearman)))

Pat said it so well.
I have always loved reading your posts no matter what the situation is and I have learned quite a bit when you share those not so nice posts.
I know it is hard to keep posting when you are so down but you always belong here. :YMHUG:
 
Dear Linda, Yes, Pat has said it all, and so beautifully. Make your guy as comfortable as you can and spend as much time with him as you can. Your love for each other will shine through every day that you have together. Teddy's help shows how close your little family is. Hugs to you all,

Ella & Stu
 
Linda -

I was able to see Bear's spreadsheet.

I am so grateful that you do chronicle Bear's journey. Words can't express how much it means to me to be a part of his journey and to "be there" for you. You're an amazing mama bean.

Teddy's a good brother. :smile:
 
Linda,we are always happy when You post!
So sorry about Bear's declined health! Really don't know what to say because it's hard to find the words and I'm so sad!
(((((((hugs)))))
 
(((Linda-Bearman-Teddy))) Teddy has had such an incredible life. You always know what he needs. Pat said all that could be said. Prayers and good wishes your way. You are so strong. Bless you.
 
(((((((((Linda))))))))) I do not see it as a chronicle of Bear's decline, I see it as a chronicle of the love and care you give him. I know for myself and I'm sure many others, your wealth of knowledge has been and is more than helpful, but more importantly.......we're here for you and Bear Man. I know how beyond sad this is and we're here to support you and help you through.
Kiss his furry feeties for me. ((((((((Linda & Bear)))))))))
 
(((((Linda))))) You're such a wonderful kitty mommy! I'm so sorry to hear about Bear Man not being able to do the things he used to. I LOVE that pic of him and Teddy Man! ((((((Bear)))))) we love you and send a snowstorm of healing, comforting snowflakes your way. You, Bear, Teddy, Emily and Pinkie are all in our thoughts (not just today)
oxoxox
 
((Linda)) I'm so sorry Bear isn't doing very well. I know how hard it is when all the options run out, been there... I hope Bear still has some good days left.


Hugs,

Sandy & Dottie
(New friends soon - Jeter and Tilly)
 
(((((Linda, Bear Man and Teddy))))) I'm so sorry to hear Bear Man hasn't been feeling well. You do such an amazing job managing his issues. He knows how much you love him. I just wanted to let you know that we'll be thinking of you all and will keep you all in our prayers.
 
(((Linda and Bear Man and Teddy)))

Everyone has spoken so poignantly of your posts about Bear Man, and I second what has been said. I always watch for your posts every week, wanting to know how he (and you and Teddy) are doing. Though I know it is painful for you to see him get weaker, know that we are all here for you, 'holding your hand (and paws)' as you continue your journey with your dearest Bear Man. He is truly such a special creature, and your are an equally spectacular mama bean to him...
 
Judith and Thomas said:
(((Linda and Bear Man and Teddy)))

Everyone has spoken so poignantly of your posts about Bear Man, and I second what has been said. I always watch for your posts very week, wanting to know how he (and you and Teddy) are doing. Though I know it is painful for you to see him get weaker, know that we are all here for you, 'holding your hand (and paws)' as you continue your journey with your dearest Bear Man. He is truly such a special creature, and your are an equally spectacular mama bean to him...

Judith just wrote exactly what I wanted to say. I love Bear, and I want to know how he is doing. We're all on this journey with you.
 
((((Linda & Bear Man)))) Linda, I know it is very hard for you to look at Bear and at times see that your time with him is limited and my heart just breaks for you. You are the best mom the Bear and he loves you for all that you are doing for him. I always love to hear your stories about Bear and Teddy and how Teddy takes such good care of his brother. He must have learned from you! Please continue to post every and keep us up to date on how he is doing.

Spot is looking forward to seeing Bear and Teddy at the party tonight! Spot will make sure that Bear doesn't party to much!
 
Everyone has already said it, but we love you and Bear man. We cherish each post, even if it might make us a little sad. But mostly!!! we're glad that you and he still have some time together, and that you share him with us.

Your journey together is a beautiful thing... and I admire you for being strong for him and being such a terrific mommybean.

Cosmo sends love and headbutts. I'm sending love and scritches to Bear, and hugs to you.
 
(((Bear))) (((Linda))) Hoping the increased Tapazole will help. His higher BG and heart rate may be due to the unregulated hyper-t (recall Jojo's Big Paw analogy), and should hopefully improve on the right dose of Tapazole, and with that, his overall sense of wellbeing. Glad to see the anemia's stable, that's good news. Re: darbepoietin, most peeps on the CRF group seem to have had good experience with it, and while I don't think any formal studies have been published on the differences between that and epogen in felines, there's some chatter that there's less chance of an antibody response from darbepoetin. Interestingly, antibody formation from epogen reported by the group seems to be less than that commonly reported in studies too. The few things I've read that could trip ppl and their cats up are dosing and frequency, and "over"-correcting HCT higher into the normal range - although that target HCT seems to vary depending on who you consult.
 
Oh Linda please let us hold you and Bear Man. Please continue to let us accompany you on your journey where ever it takes you. You and Bear and Teddy mean so much to us. We want to be there for you. It;s Ok to be sad and still share your sadness with us. We want you too. You are a very important part of our family.

Kiss your baby for me.

Tori says "Hang in there BIg Guy. I'll see you at the party tonight. We can cuddle in a corner together. OK?"
 
Hey Linda - HUGS! Your post today took me back to many years ago, to a kitty I had that went through so many issues. I felt at that time that all I was doing was chronicling his demise. it was such a a sad and difficult time. But ya know - we were a team, and we made it work for him together. Looking back now I can see it differently. As sick as he was, and as tired and worn down, he was happy and content - those days spent together made all the difference for him. They are now good memories. I know in the long run it will be for you too.

Mannie asked to say that he hopes Bear Man can come to the party tonight - he would like to hang out with his look-a-like twin for awhile.

Take care!
 
((((((Linda))))) and Bear Man many hugs and support to you now at a time when you need it most and I so enjoyed the pic of the two of them together and I cherish your condos it makes me feel like I am part of your extended family which to me is what Lantus Land is all about the caring and support we all give one another each day is to me hard to put into words really since its such a bonding experience with people that even though we have not met I feel like we all know one another and each others cats and Beans and its such a network of caring and Love so once again (((((HUGS)))))) :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
((((Linda)))) my heart aches as I read your update.
You know we love Bear Man and everything you do for him to make him comfortable.
Sending healing vines and special prayers for ((((Bear)))

(((hugs)))
 
(((Linda & Bear))) I can relate to your posts so very well - Brownie will be 19 in a few days and he has really started to decline in the past few weeks. It is absolutely HORRIBLE watching them deteriorate and wondering if you're doing the right things, if you're keeping them comfortable enough, if you're treating them aggresively enough or too aggresively. I guess that they'll let us know... It's all worth it, of course, but that fact doesn't make it any easier. You're doing such a beautiful job with Bear - the photo of Bear and Teddy is so touching - he is cradled in love and I'm sure he can feel that love every moment of the day. Hugs to you all...
 
awwwwwwwwwwwwwww, I just LOVE that picture...LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE

I know when you see them day in/day out, you often see them as sick. But to me, they look like 2 old pals enjoying some restful time together. They look very content and comfortable.

(((((((((((((((((linda)))))))))))))))))))
(((((((((((((((bearman))))))))))))))))
((((((((((((((teddy)))))))))))))))))))
 
((((Linda)))) ((((Bear Man))))

What a sweet and peaceful pic..

It is so very hard to think of them as not being cuddled up right next to us.. always..

My thoughts and prayers are with you..
 
lol, was going to post but libby's 1st sentence took the words right outta my mouth (well, my typing fingers, anyway).

we love bear and miss him when we don't hear about him. good or bad, we want to know how he's doing because he is part of the family.

sorta know what you're going thru. i'm feeling a little defeated about cleo. it's hard to keep your head up high, sometimes, when you're worried about your little guy. but what else can we do but soldier on and give them a quality life while it's possible and save them from pain when it has to be done. hugs to you, linda. NOBODY could ask for a better kitty mom.
 
I know it is hard to write about what is going on. What a wonderful picture.
Thinking of the two of you and sending comforting hugs-
 
My heart always goes out to you when I see Bear updates, I hold my breathe and always look for something positive in the sadness, and there IS always something positive. Your boys are so, so lucky. I know how hard this is to go through, but you're doing a super-human job. Posting his updates may seem like they're making them more real, but this community loves you and Bear so know that you're not alone, there are lots of people holding your paws and praying for daily miracles.
 
Hi Linda,
I'm pretty new here and haven't had a lot of interaction (due to time constraints) with many members in this group. But I came across your condo and just wanted to offer up my heartfelt thoughts to you and Bear Man. I know what it is like to watch them decline and my heart goes out to you. Your boys are so handsome. One thing I learned with my other 2 furkids who only crossed over within the last several months is to savor the time left with them and don't waste a minute worrying over what is coming down the road because in all your worrying, you'll waste precious moments that could be spent snuggling and loving on each other. I wish you and Bear Man many more quality weeks and months to come.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top